We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family vacation spot” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ohalo Manor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ohalo Manor to your Saves list
Ohalo Manor
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Kibbutz Kinneret, 15118, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
Haifa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Family vacation spot”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We brought our grown up kids with one 1.5 year old grandson during Sukkot to Ohalo. There was a big succa & my husband had no problem finding a minyan. The food was fine though the service in the succa left a lot to be desired.
The rooms were large & clean. The air conditioners could not be adjusted & were very noisy. So we couldn't leave them on at night & we couldn't leave the windows open at night because the window screens were ripped.
The cleaning staff doesn't knock before they come in.
The grounds are lovely & the view is breathtaking.
The location is great because we could go into Tiberias, down to Beit She'an or up to the Golan very quickly.
I think that we got what we paid for -- and I checked out a lot of places. If we wanted to spend time in the area again, we might go back there. I'm not sure.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    10
    12
    6
    3
See reviews for
10
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

A great location ( directly on the lake ).
It is highly recommanded to have a car.
Appr. 10 minutes by car to Tiberias
Easy excess to all interesting sites in that earea
We felt at home.Very friendly people
The food was also good

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

We stayed as part of a tour group. The food is OK, Getting anything in the buffet that was not self-serve could take some time (such as a beer or glass of wine). Sometimes long enough to finish your meal. The rooms were spartan (which one would expect in a Kibbutz) and dirty (and buggy). Try as we might, it was not really possible to take a shower w/o flooding the bathroom (many in our group complained of faulty plumbing: drains that leaked onto the floor, so it may not have been from shower spray). The beds were very narrow and not very comfortable. Many of the things promised were not actually available. The wireless is not really usable in the rooms, and is so slow even in the lobby to be worthless. The "beach access" is really dirty marsh access a half mile away. And we had e-mailed before leaving with our specific dates of stay asking for laundry service and told it was available, however when we arrived were told was no longer available. There is a lot of potential here based on the location and structures - wonderful views are available, but none of it is realized.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Hotel is very run down from the outside, but the rooms seem to be well maintained. We were upgraded to a "garden room" which was extremely basic but clean and spacious. The views of the Kinneret are gorgeous, and the hotel has nice landscaping. We got half board, the food was truly excellent- worthy of a very high quality hotel- tons of variety, great food. We went to see the pool (across the street) and it seemed to be closed/under construction.
Service was okay, nothing amazing. Overall this is a great hotel for people not looking for a super luxurious vacation, but a relaxing break.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

This is a great location for a hotel, just on the banks of the Sea of Galilee, fantastic to watch the sun set over the Golan Heights and the sea. Close by are a few places to eat, Alanhar or the fish restaurant next door to it, both are located about 200 yards down towards the kibutz Kinerrett entrance and the baptism site. Alanhar sits on the banks of the River Jordan and is as peaceful a place to have a meal as you could find. You can also eat in the hotel restaurant and the meals are good value and good quality.

The hotel itself is simple and clean, nothing fancy. It has a shower that works well and the beds are comfortable, the rooms are cleaned daily and the hotel facilities are all fine. Wi-Fi is a bit weak as you move away from the reception.

You would need a car to stay here as it is about 10 minutes drive from Tiberias, though parking in Tiberias is a nightmare, some parking behind the sea front that you pay for.

All in all a reasonable hotel by Israeli standards, I would stay there again and plan to return in December with my family. The hotel can get a little noisy on Friday nights as this is the time when most Israelis come for the weekend. They are not the quietest people in the world.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Sea in block 1. These have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Nice clean rooms, friendly and helpful staff, well stocked buffets. Going half board is a must as there are no restaurants nearby.

We couldn't find more than a half mile picturesque walk before we returned to the busy main road again. But I'm sure you could with a little effort.

The nearest place to bathe in the sea of galillee is a little rubbish-strewn but walk past that and it's amazing-secluded and calm and so clear. We thought we were the only people in it at that time!

The views from the terrace are beautiful.

Good all round. Easy to find by public transport-get off at "kibbutz kinneret" and it's across the road. Good food. Good service.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

Ohalo Manor is a solid three-star hotel right on the banks of the Kinneret (Sea of Gallilee), just north of Kibbutz Degania. It is owned by Kibbutz Kinneret but not on the same property or same side of the highway as the kibbutz so is self-contained. We (family of 4) paid $170 for half-board on Shabbat, and then paid NIS 50 (adult)/NIS 40 (child) for lunch. For Israel, this was very reasonable.

The Shabbat lunch was quite good--very fresh tasting, not dried out at all, so the kitchen appears to be under very good management. The rooms were very clean, the foam mattresses were comfortable, and we didn't have to share a bed with the children, which was nice. The hotel playground was decent. The views were spectacular. What makes this 3 star and not 4 is the lack of fancy finishings in the hotel--basic but nice.

The hotel is uphill from the Kinneret and takes under 5 mintues to get to the water. You can take a short hike in either direction along the water--south to the boatyard and Kibbutz Degania, north to a cemetary (that's as far as we went) and onwards towards Tiberias. The management said the municipalities were in the process of building a boardwalk around the lake, but this has not been finished yet.

The hotel is easy to find--located right off the highway. A hidden gem is that directly north of the perimeter fence of the hotel are Canaanite ruins dating 4,500 years old. We came upon them while wandering around and were very impressed. I would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ohalo Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ohalo Manor

Address: Kibbutz Kinneret, 15118, Israel
Location: Israel > Northern District > Jordan Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Jordan Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ohalo Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Ohalo Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ohalo Manor Israel/Jordan Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ohalo Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.