We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Rooms, Disgusting Breakfast, Too Far from Carlsbad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Pecos Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Pecos Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN Pecos Inn
2209 West Main Street, Artesia, NM 88210   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn a $50 Gift Card
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Artesia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Clean Rooms, Disgusting Breakfast, Too Far from Carlsbad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

It's hard to find good, reasonably priced hotel in this part of New Mexico. The room was clean, but the sound insulation is not very great. If you sensitive to sounds when you sleep, you may want to look elsewhere. Also, if you are only going to Carlsbad, this is way too far. Complementary breakfast is served by a Chinese restaurant that is a part of the hotel and the breakfast tasted as Chinese food.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy J, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Pecos Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Please accept my apology for your problems with noise and dissatisfaction with our breakfast. I will see what we can do to improve on this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    21
    14
    2
    3
See reviews for
19
18
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We are in the Best Western Pecos Inn. It's clean and attractive. Looks to be recently refurbished. The bed is comfortable and the chairs are as well. We have a refrigerators and microwave. What more could you ask? .... Except maybe a more reasonable price for a motel in East Podunk.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy J, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Pecos Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
We appreciate your feed back. Thank you for taking your time to share your thoughts with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

By far, the best BEST WESTERN my wife and I have EVER encountered. The attention to detail is very noticeable, and the staff is very friendly and helpful. Be sure to try the Chinese restaurant on premises. Carlsbad Caverns is nearby, so stay here for a fair price for excellent service. Forget those high-priced hotels in Carlsbad. We will be back!!!!! EXCELLENT.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy J, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Pecos Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share about your stay with us. We appreciate your time and effort and will look forward to seeing you next time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We chose this hotel in Artesia because the hotels in Carlsbad were so expensive and the reviews were not so good unless we paid over 200$... We got very good value at this hotel in Artesia. The hotel is quite spacious and very beautiful. The price was 130$ with the taxes included which is a very good deal for the area (taxes are high in New Mexico).

Very nice big room with sofa, microwave and fridge. But the fridge was switched ''off'' and we were surprised when we noticed our food got warm. Fortunately, it was not too late, the food was still good when when switched it on.

It was very clean except fot the 2 chips that were forgotten under a bed. Very good wifi and nice Native American decorations on the walls. There was a computer for the guests in the lobby and it was very nice. We would have liked so much to use the pool, the hot tub and the exercise room but after walking for almost 4 hours in Carlsbad Caverns and Living Desert Zoo and Gardens in Carlsbad, we were so tired. Maybe next time...

I would have liked to have a beer at the lodge but it was closed as it was a Saturday night. The breakfast was included in the price (except for the gratuities). My husband had cereals and I had toasts, 2 eggs, hash brown and sausages. It was very good.

We were very happy that there was a laundry room but a bit disappointed that it was not free for the guests as it is the case in many Comfort Inns.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy J, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Pecos Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
We are glad you chose to stay with us, we realize there are lots of choices here and in our surrounding area so once again thank you for choosing us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Once we checked in the service was GREAT! Call the hotel directly in Artesia to reserve rooms because my family reunion reservations through the Best Western 800 number were not accepted. I was told they never received them from Best Western and that they don't normally reserve much through the 800 number which I found strange. Fortunately we were able to get rooms but not the exact ones and numbers I had reserved through the 800 number with a confirmation number even. Great breakfast comes with the rooms in a wonderful restaurant area. Very large lobby lounge for gathering and visiting. Nice outdoor area with grill. Large indoor swimming area and a work out room. Lounge (bar) closes way too early.

Room Tip: Call hotel directly in Artesia to reserve the rooms you want because my reservations with a group co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy J, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Pecos Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your insight. We will look forward to seeing you at your next family reunion, please keep us in mind.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Took the family out for a weekend trip seeing White Sands and Carlsbad Caverns over the weekend from Albuquerque. First this was a mistake, the caves deserve more time but that is besides the point.

For a weekend trip Artesia was a good in between point for us to rest. Hotels are limited, but we found this Best Western online. The Hotel is dated, but clean and quiet. Kids liked the pool which was well kept with extra towels. Did not spend much time in the room as it was just an overnight. Breakfast was lacking in speed of service, but very good considering there was only one person seating, serving, cooking and cleaning.

Note for those with allergies. They do have a hotel cat guarding the entrance and from what I could tell spends most of its time there. Cat did not mind kids. If you have really bad allergies this might be an issue. For us it was not.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy J, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Pecos Inn, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad your children enjoyed our pool. I apologize for the problems with breakfast and even though our restaurant is leased I will talk to them about your concerns. We know you have many choices when picking lodging and we thank you again for choosing us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Pecos Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Pecos Inn

Also Known As:
Best Western Pecos Hotel Artesia
Artesia Best Western
Best Western Artesia
Address: 2209 West Main Street, Artesia, NM 88210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Artesia
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Artesia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Best Western, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Pecos Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Pecos Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.