We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“consistently good.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Fonda

La Fonda
210 W Main St., Artesia, NM 88210
505 746-9411
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 30 Restaurants in Artesia
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Artesia NM
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“consistently good.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

You can always depend on great service and good food. Family atmosphere. Long time established with a good reputation.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    22
    20
    10
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Mexico
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Local favorite!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We live here and I'd say we eat at La Fonda on the average of once every two weeks. It has good food and good service. It is often crowded, which indicates it popularity. My favorite is the green chile enchiladas with white sauce. Their guacamole is the best anywhere. Nice atmosphere and reasonalble prices.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farrell, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“waitress all over my husband”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

The food was not that great and the waitress kim kept hugging and kissing my husband. Dont know what kind of waitress she is but I didnt like it will not go back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
323 reviews 323 reviews
236 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Sunday Brunch Buffet is pretty darned good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We didn't even know that this place had a Sunday buffet. We just wandered in to eat Mexican food. It had been quite some time since we'd been here, so we decided to try them again. We were seated within two minutes after entering. The waitress was friendly and efficient. She's the one who told us about the buffet after recommending some menu items. The buffet was mostly fresh and hot food where it needed to be. The only thing we found not to temperature were the tamales, although they were ok. Fresh chile rellenos is what I thought was the highlight of the buffet. They were fluffy, perfectly spiced and cooked just right. The red meat enchiladas were good, with almost too much meat. The green chile chicken enchiladas were fresh and tasty. Raspberry cobbler was mis-labeled as cherry cobbler. An ample salad bar, several fresh fruits, a desert bar, Italian Wedding soup and menudo rounded out the buffet. All-in-all a pretty good deal for what you pay for. I will be returning soon!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“a Spicy Delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Picked this restaurant by chance. The chicken fajita salad was the best I ever had- in a huge bowl and loaded with real juicy chicken breast, peppers, onion, olives, pinto beans and lots of other goodies. The asada was a bit spicy for my wife, but delicious. The salsa was very spicy and flavorful.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Fonda also viewed

 

Been to La Fonda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Fonda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.