We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taco Salad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Fonda

La Fonda
210 W Main St., Artesia, NM 88210
505 746-9411
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 33 Restaurants in Artesia
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Colorado Springs, CO
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Taco Salad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Try the Chicken Taco Salad. The restaurant is homey and the service friendly. Not a bad option for dinner in town.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    23
    23
    11
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“ew”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

ummm. so we asked our front desk clerk at the hotel where we should eat that was "good". she gave us a recommendation for la fonda. we should have clarified that "good" and "edible" should have the same meaning, but she confused it by thinking i asked "what is open?" it was literally the only restaurant open in the area.

the old lady serving us recommended the sopasillos, which was delivered to the table at just a hot pile of mush. it was awful. i can honestly say this is by far the worst failed attempt at "mexican" i have ever tasted. it was literally a pita, filled with hot meat (i couldn't even tell what kind of meat it was), melted, american cheese and a "dollop" of sour cream. the rice was cold. the refried beans looked like mud. MUD!

And to top it all off, the meal ended up costing $14! What a shame.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Bend, Ontario
Level Contributor
143 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
“good meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

the restaurant was clean, with a good menu, & was convenient to our hotel ( the Heritage Inn across the street)

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artesia, New Mexico
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Mexican”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

With all the Mexican food classics and a big lunch buffet this place will never let you down. The people are always freindly and the portions are huge for how much you pay.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, CA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tasty food in a nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

The restaurant is very nicely decorated, and we were lucky enough to be here when the Christmas decorations were up, too. Service was reasonably quick and friendly. The food was very good and arrived quickly. Really our only complaint would be that the busboy should not wear a tee shirt with a disturbing political message.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Fonda also viewed

 

Been to La Fonda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Fonda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.