We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taco Salad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Fonda

La Fonda
210 W Main St., Artesia, NM 88210
505 746-9411
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 30 Restaurants in Artesia
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Colorado Springs, CO
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Taco Salad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Try the Chicken Taco Salad. The restaurant is homey and the service friendly. Not a bad option for dinner in town.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    20
    20
    10
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“ew”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

ummm. so we asked our front desk clerk at the hotel where we should eat that was "good". she gave us a recommendation for la fonda. we should have clarified that "good" and "edible" should have the same meaning, but she confused it by thinking i asked "what is open?" it was literally the only restaurant open in the area.

the old lady serving us recommended the sopasillos, which was delivered to the table at just a hot pile of mush. it was awful. i can honestly say this is by far the worst failed attempt at "mexican" i have ever tasted. it was literally a pita, filled with hot meat (i couldn't even tell what kind of meat it was), melted, american cheese and a "dollop" of sour cream. the rice was cold. the refried beans looked like mud. MUD!

And to top it all off, the meal ended up costing $14! What a shame.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Bend, Ontario
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
270 helpful votes 270 helpful votes
“good meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

the restaurant was clean, with a good menu, & was convenient to our hotel ( the Heritage Inn across the street)

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artesia, New Mexico
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Mexican”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

With all the Mexican food classics and a big lunch buffet this place will never let you down. The people are always freindly and the portions are huge for how much you pay.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, CA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Tasty food in a nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

The restaurant is very nicely decorated, and we were lucky enough to be here when the Christmas decorations were up, too. Service was reasonably quick and friendly. The food was very good and arrived quickly. Really our only complaint would be that the busboy should not wear a tee shirt with a disturbing political message.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Fonda also viewed

 

Been to La Fonda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Fonda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.