We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty food in a nice atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Fonda

La Fonda
210 W Main St., Artesia, NM 88210
505 746-9411
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 30 Restaurants in Artesia
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Irvine, CA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Tasty food in a nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

The restaurant is very nicely decorated, and we were lucky enough to be here when the Christmas decorations were up, too. Service was reasonably quick and friendly. The food was very good and arrived quickly. Really our only complaint would be that the busboy should not wear a tee shirt with a disturbing political message.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    15
    17
    10
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Siloam Springs, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Not up to snuff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We ate in La Fonda last evening and were greatly disappointing. My first disappointment was that they did not serve beer. A big Mexican restaurant should serve beer in my opinion. My second disappointment was the not clean enough bathroom. If I had not been with a group I would have left at the point. instead I chose to order food that I knew needed to be served hot so I felt safe from contaminants. My husband has had an upset stomach all morning and I fear he may have gotten something not quite fresh.The service was slow and after the check came we were abandoned. The waitress never said we were to pay at the front but when we finally gave up on her coming back for the money we worked our way out and paid at the front desk. Of all the eight meals eaten at our table the only item that got high marks was the fried Sopapillas ordered for desert. La Fonda, You need to try harder.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not what's expected from authentic New Mexican food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

La Fonda's atmosphere is inviting and clean for the most part (aside from the bathroom, which is not super clean and was outta soap on my visit). After being seated we waited almost 10 minutes for someone to come wait on us. She was friendly, but did not come with the chips and salsa we had seen on every other table. We ordered our drinks and food together. My husband went with the stuffed sopapilla and I decided to sample a little bit of everything with a combo plate that consisted of a taco, enchilada, and relleno. I should have stuck with the taco plate. My taco was good. The red chile on the enchilada was worst red chile I had ever had and the relleno was stuffed with cheese whiz and smothered in velveta style cheese. Living in New Mexico my whole life, this is not what we have come to expect from Mexican food. This time we were just passing through Artesia, but if we ever find ourselves here again, La Fonda will not even be an option. I'd opt for a chimichanga from Allsups first.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
“Family Mexican Restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I have to confess I am off of most Mexican food anymore. Had the cheese enchilatas. OK. Prices are very reasonable and service is excellent. No beer or wine.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton, Colorado
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“good food & service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

The food here is good but not outstanding. The service was good also. There are few Mexican Restaurants that I would consider above average so this one is about average. Any thing is better than Taco Bell

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Fonda also viewed

 

Been to La Fonda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Fonda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.