We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it's my favorite mistake” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kalimera

Kalimera
Jaffa Port | Depot 1, Jaffa, Tel Aviv, Israel
+972 3-682-3232
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 49 Restaurants in Jaffa
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: Greek, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Kalimera is a restaurant situated in one of the most beautiful locations in the world - Jaffa harbor - one of the most ancient in the universe. From one side of the restaurant there is a view of the Old City of Jaffa, and spread out on the other side is the Mediterranean. "Kalimera uses table ware from Vietnam, colors from Greece, the products are from the Far and Near East, and the cuisine is Israeli, talented and full of passion.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“it's my favorite mistake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

it happened to me that two times i came to this restaurant by a mistake... at the first time i thought it's another place, and the second time is a long story.... but within both of those times i could feel a quality of cooking that trulely respects the sea-food! yes, you eat outside, the sun is shining abuve you, but someone there knows how the job should be done...

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    13
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Refreshingly delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Great fresh dishes, not cliches. Every dish we picked was distinct, made with obvious pride, uncluttered and full of presence. Having picked the place practically randomly, we were impressed. Atmosphere is informal but not careless, and the service was great. Even the music was just the right thing for the place. The Kalimera calamari must be one of the best calamari creations anywhere. Squid, seviche, clams and Ben the lamb were very good. Deserts were not up to the same level except for the chocolate macaroon one.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
“amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

we've been back to kalimera again and again. we've been with friends and had a great time, and also found the place child friendly with childrens meals. Also our restless kids had great space to run around outside on the port promanade . The food is absolutely delicious, original mix of asian and mediteranian , and keeps us coming back for more. Last i was there had wonderful very fresh fish. Also reccomend the callamari pasta 'Dana". Actualy i recommend to taste as many dishes as possible , by sharing, it's realy fun withe friends that way. The location at the Jaffa port is a big plus in ambience and lovely for walking around before or after the restaurant. friendly staff.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

If you want enjoy delicious sea food in a non-ordinary loft-style restaurant and be served by stylish and very attentive staff, Kalimera is the best place! Beside this, there is a special sensual-delicacy note which persist in the "air" of Kalimera.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
israel
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful seafood restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Everything is high class, not a regular seafood restaurant, with boring dishes.The place is lovely.
I highly recommend it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kalimera also viewed

 
Jaffa, Tel Aviv
Jaffa, Tel Aviv
 

Been to Kalimera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kalimera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.