We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kalamata

Kalamata
10 Kedumim Square, Jaffa, Tel Aviv, Israel
+972-3-6819998
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 50 Restaurants in Jaffa
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful located restaurant overlooking jafa harbour and the mediterenian tasty greek style dishes have bern there twice and enjoyed ourselves very much

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    42
    9
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herzlia, Israel
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“No recomended”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Friday 8:00 and everything I ask in the menu is NOT available. We ""ran out of it" she is telling me with sloppy service. The food is less than mediocre. The prices are not. So you pay high prices for something that does not worth it. The sitting is not comfortable. No air-condition - my god - we live in the MIDDLE EAST!! 34 degrees and everyone was seating like dogs. The noise is horrible. Loud music. For sure never going back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredrikstad, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Happiest Food Coma”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We literally stumbled into this place for a cold drink on a hot midday spent being tourists in beautiful Jaffa. Cold drink turned into cold drink and a couple of small dishes because the other guests' food looked very appetizing and we lack self control; one of the dishes being what might have been the best sashimi I have ever tasted. We decided to come back for dinner and we are so glad that we did. The place is first of all stunningly situated, the food is reasonably priced in general and extremely reasonably priced for the quality of the dishes and it's prime location (mind, we're from Norway, so everything seems reasonably priced to us). I already recommended the sashimi - otherwise I enjoyed the seafood salad and the ceviche. Despite my vehement protests about not being a dessert person I was presented with the kanafeh for dessert. My general dislike for desserts was put aside and we wound up devouring all of it, making me feel a little silly for having tried to make claims about "not being a dessert person".
We left extremely happy and in a state best described as a food coma.

The staff were wonderful (and aesthetically pleasing, no sexism intended) and gave the entire place a very friendly atmosphere. We also probably left the restaurant with a mild crush on our waiter, who was just a sweetheart.

When we visit Tel Aviv again, we're definitely reserving one of our evenings for this place!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beverly hills,CA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“What a waste!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Kalamata is located in a prime location, in Kedumim square with an breathtaking view on the ocean.
The decoration is very Mediterranean and a reminder of a Greek Taverna.
From there, it all goes downhill.
The service is indifferent, the waitress never smiles and the attitude was unbelievable.
We were with guests from abroad and we asked for a small modification on the menu.
The chef was adamant s : no chance possible whatsoever.
This lack of flexibility was matched with sour face and attitude that completely spoiled the whole experience.
My friends and I will never go back in spite of the great potential the place offers. Unless they change the management and the whole team.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omer, Israel
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“not recommended”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Most of the food was very tasty, the seafood salad, the first courses, the bread (Q:is your bread homemade? A:it has olives), but rather "isra-bluff", i.e., too little fish/seafood, most of each dish was vegetables/pasta. Fish ceviche looked and tasted like chimichuri, albeit tasty chimichuri. Small portions. The seafood papardelle that we all four tasted was bitter/sour, the little seafood just lay there, no connection. The chocolate cake was excellent. Three firsts, 4 seconds, 1 beer, 0.5L wine, 1 cake, 2 coffees: ILS 570. There are far better restaurants in Tel Aviv.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kalamata also viewed

 
Jaffa, Tel Aviv
Jaffa, Tel Aviv
 

Been to Kalamata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kalamata, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.