We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice place and food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Puaa

Puaa
8 Rabbi Yohanan St., Jaffa, Tel Aviv 68138, Israel
036823821
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 56 Restaurants in Jaffa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Israeli
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Rishon Lezion, Israel
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A very nice place and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

The restaraunt is in the renewed Old Jaffa area of the flea market. The decor is simple, but comfortable, they even have large couches.
Water was served in the beginning and sangria tasting was offered.
The menu is diverse.
The food was tasty and not too sophisticated, which fits the atmosphere of the place.
Service was good.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    68
    22
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Not too bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

Lunch in this establishment was a reasonable experience. Chicken livers and deep fried cauliflower were both very tasty.

Job lots of mixed crockery added to the slightly quirky nature of the place.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“nice place to enjoy Jaffa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

a nice place to enjoy Jaffa night vibe.
nice selection of vegetarian dishes, very tasty, with very good deserts :)

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Yerushalayim, Israel
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Fleamarket atmosphere restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

The best part at this cafe/restaurant is its decoration, made out of all kinds of fleamarket old furniture peaces, which gives the place a special atmosphere, right in the middle of Jaffa fleamarket. No table is the same as its neighboor. The same applies to the dishes. This, combined with a waiter in good mood, and good food at reasonable prices gives the place its charm. Go early for lunch, otherwise you'll have to wait in line.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Poor service, average food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We have been here several times. It has gone from great to poor in three years. Had booked a table for 9 at 08 pm, when we came the table was not even set, we sat down at 0815 pm, no excuses, not even a glass of water while waiting. We ordered all their starters and five main dishes. Kids had toasts. The main dishes came before the starters, and when we pointed that out, we ended up in an argument with one of the waiters. Our blonde female waitress however, smoothed it out but when we got our mains, they were the same as we send out. An aweful experience. Puah needs to shape up otherwise it will be out of market soon. Service sucked (besides our blonde waitress), food served was average at the most, and some of the dishes served luke warm. If the restaurant was not in the Fleamarket it would have been out of business already.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puaa also viewed

 
Jaffa, Tel Aviv
Jaffa, Tel Aviv
 

Been to Puaa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puaa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.