We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tapeo, Herzlia, too noisy” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Tapeo Restaurant and Tapas Bar

Tapeo Restaurant and Tapas Bar
Shenkar 9, Herzlia, Israel
09-9546699
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 95 Restaurants in Herzlia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: Tapas
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Tapeo, Herzlia, too noisy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

This is restaurant where we have had many enjoyable meals over the years. We always found it pleasant, friendly, affordable and the food very good. Now, however, it is no longer possible to sit there and have a coherent conversation. The music is insufferable wherever one sits. A request to turn down the volume a little results in a refusal, for this is "their concept." We did not stay, for the damage to our ears would have been irreversible.

When I am at it, let me mention that the manner in which I was addressed when making my reservation over the phone was curt and uncivil, more like an army recruitment centre than anything else. This never was the case in the past. We may try again in a couple of months, but meanwhile this is not a place to go to.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    30
    7
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Our favorite restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

I don't know why I was waiting so long to write a review on this restaurant.
My wife and I go there at least twice a month, food is simply superb, their margaritas are second to none and service is impeccable.
The only sad part is that they have changed the Paella (pa-ye-a) recipe and to be honest, it's not as good as the previous one...
Bottom line:
If you had only one night in Israel and you had to choose a place - this should be the one.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“So much fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

I am not too keen on the tacky Juan Miro decor but sitting at the bar in this tapas place makes me forget it. The food is great. It's not too different from other good tapas bars in Israel but if you make sure to ask to sit in Yaniv's section you're in for a treat. Great food recommendations and a constant flown of weird and wonderful alcohol shots will make you appreciate your decision to step in.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel and the US
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Wonderfull selection of Tapas and Wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Reasonably priced, liked the Tapas here more than in recent visits to Spain, Must have the cauliflower.
There bread is terribly addictive.
Reasonably priced too.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“One of my favorites”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I have been coming to Tapeo for over 12 years, the place maintains its standard. Great Tapas dishes and a huge selection of good alcohol. I prefer the Bar but sitting at a table is as good.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tapeo Restaurant and Tapas Bar also viewed

Herzlia, Tel Aviv District
Herzlia, Tel Aviv District
 
Herzlia, Tel Aviv District
Herzlia, Tel Aviv District
 

Been to Tapeo Restaurant and Tapas Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tapeo Restaurant and Tapas Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.