We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor meat in a meat restaurant” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Whitehall

Whitehall
Mikhrazim 2001, Herzlia, Israel
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 89 Restaurants in Herzlia
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
kiryat Tivon, Israel
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Poor meat in a meat restaurant”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

The starters were OK. For the main coarse I ordered the sirloin. It was made medium-rare, just as I ordered, but the meat quality was poor. Like it was defrosted couple of times before cooked. Was missing all the tastes of a good sirloin. Well, maybe sirloin is too challenging - I asked the waiter to change the dish for a tenderloin. After some discussions, they were willing to replace. The tenderloin was not good as well. Uninspiring, not juicy, missing tastes (even for a tenderloin) - good enough to keep you not hungry, bit nothing more than this.
The restaurant was almost empty in the mid-evening (middle of the week) - not very common in this area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    3
    2
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kfar Saba, HaMerkaz, Israel
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We had a meal for 2.
The first course was average. The chicken wings were cold and tasteless, the carpaccio was also a bit tasteless.
The steak, which was supposed to be a 500 grams Angus prime beef steak, was stiff as a sole, and cold. It was served on a hot pan which was not hot at all.
The knife could barely cut the steak. Around 15% of the steak was not chew-able.
I took steamed green beans as a side dish. The beans was so soft it was obvious it's a frozen beans and not a fresh one.
There are so many fresh fine vegetables in the market, why do you have to use a frozen one?
All in all it was a big disappointment. I would not go back again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holon, Israel
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Food is great, service a bit less.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

My wife and I usually celebrate birthdays and anniversaries in restaurants. This time we decided to try the Whitehall as we love meat very much.
Tell you the truth, my review would have been excellent if not for the service. the food is great! and when I write great, I mean every dish was so tasty, you can eat your fingers off.
One thing about the service - it doesn't really feels a restaurant - there is nothing elegant or personal in the service. its more like a fast food deal, when you expect a little bit more from a place you spend 400 shekels to have a (candle lights) dinner.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“SHOULD BE BETTER”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We came the two of us and was hopng for a very good meal acording to the reviews we hard. but unfurtunatly its was not so, not what we were waiting so .
First of all, ...The rest room was awful... smelly and dirty.
Then,the food came quite cold , when we askd for the disert most of the Icons were finished .
The atmosphere and The waiters were very nice doe, No parking, but with payments.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzliya, Israel
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“High quality meat restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The meat portions are excellent, usually worth the price. If you're a vegetarian this probably isn't the best place for you though.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whitehall also viewed

Herzlia, Tel Aviv District
Herzlia, Tel Aviv District
 
Herzlia, Tel Aviv District
Herzlia, Tel Aviv District
 

Been to Whitehall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whitehall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.