We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special, nice location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sharon Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sharon Hotel to your Saves list
Sharon Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Ramot Yam St. Herzlia on Sea, Herzlia 46748, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Herzlia
Milan / Athens
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nothing special, nice location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

This hotel is located on the beach of Herzaliya, a luxurious neighborhood in the north of Tel Aviv. While the location is really advised, the hotel is quite old, as most of the hotels in the city. There is a new part which is renovated. To benefit of the renovated rooms, you though have to ask for a Superior room, which is quite expensive. Rooms at the second floor are quite small while rooms at the ground floor tend to be better. Ask for rooms with sea views, and if they tell you that all rooms have it, then ask for the one with the view ON the sea and not be having to go out of the balcony and look right to see the sea... The gym is new and nice. Breakfast is nothing special and would need improvement. Beds in the room are quite short, so if you are tall you might need to sleep diagonally!!

Room Tip: Take a superior room with sea view at the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    77
    39
    25
    27
See reviews for
77
49
18
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

This review is long overdue. We stayed at Hotel Sharon last April. I was hesitant to make reservations and told the receptionist the reason is because I had read some bad reviews. She assured me that the hotel has good customer service and that there were renovated rooms and guaranteed that we would have one. In return I told her that I would write a good review. We stayed 3 days which included Shabbat. Everything was lovely - our room, the beautiful ocean view, a great spa and workout room and our Shabbat meal which had a variety so large it could satisfy the tastes of all diners. We can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Renovated room with an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jerusalem,Israel
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Alot of reviews of this place were negative. However we returned in June 2012 with several young families. To be honest, it's not the chicest place in town (there are fancier hotels up the block) but its good enough for young families and I met several people who told me they go there a few times a year with young married couples and grandchildren and so forth.. So if you need a bunch of rooms, a synagogue, Sabbath elevator and aren't too fussy, the Sharon will do just fine. The "garden rooms" are great for small kids and the DR meals have copious amounts of food. Cholent is served at the pool on Shabbat (for a fee) and food is also available at the bar. But I saw very few amenities for the disabled. They might find this place, with its long staircase to the pool area, somewhat daunting. (Frankly, maybe there is a way down by elevator but nothing was visible to me).

Room Tip: Rooms should face the sea. Garden rooms (grass outside) are great for kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas, SP
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

I lived in Israel 25 years ago. Now I returned for a conference and stayed at the Sharon. 25 years ago staying there was absolutely chic.
Unfortunately the glamour is gone.
The room I stayed badly needs to be renovated, wardrobe sliding doors derail, most of the furniture show signs of the time. The apartment was spartan in relation to its hefty price.
I arrived very early, by 6:30AM after an overnight flight. The girl at the reception told me they could put me in a room immediately, but I would have to change rooms later. She mumbled something about full price or half price in hebrew. I did not quite understand and switched to English to make sure: she did not know whether I would be charged for half a day or a full day for this room. Considering the US$290 price I asked if this was a regular procedure of the hotel. She said yes it iwas and I declined and went to lay down on the swimming pool until they called me up by 9:30AM to tell me my room was ready. A friend who arrived at the same time to the nearby Okeanus Hotel was given a room with no extra charges.
In short, I would not recommend the Sharon to anyone. The only positive point is the location by the sea.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincoln
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Room excellent, Food good. outside area good. close too the beach, 2-3 mins walking distance. " good bars on beach, both good beer and both good food. only downside with hotel is the pool is seawater.... staff friendly and pleasant....

Room Tip: business rooms plenty of space.... free wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is by the sea shore, with a Antarctic view of the sea and surroundings. Rooms a very beautiful and modern. Unfortunately the windows are not noise proof, so you can hear the sea during the night. The breakfast isn't too exciting, with a limited selection of foods and vegetables. I don't thik this hotel is worth the money.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pole
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

I recently stayed at the Sharon Hotel for a 4 night business trip. After looking through the Tripadvisor reviews, I had pretty low expectations, but I felt the hotel was much better than these reviews indicate. If you are looking for a fancy spa hotel, this isn't it. But for the cost, it provides a good value relative to other hotels in the area.
* Positives:
- Staff tried hard to be friendly and provide good service, especially relative to other Israeli businesses.
- Helpful staff
- Nice fitness center.
- Reasonably large breakfast selection
- Clean
- Bigger than average room.
- Good value vs other hotels in area.
* Negatives:
- Outdated/old decor (70's)
- Fitness center didn't open until 7am, and generally they waited for me to show up before opening it.

I will be staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sharon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sharon Hotel

Address: 4 Ramot Yam St. Herzlia on Sea, Herzlia 46748, Israel
Location: Israel > Tel Aviv District > Herzlia
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Herzlia
#3 Spa Hotel in Herzlia
#5 Luxury Hotel in Herzlia
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Herzlia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sharon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sharon Hotel ideally located on the northern beach of Herzlia Pituch, on a cliff overlooking the beautiful Mediterranean Sea. The Herzlia Marina is within walking distance of the hotel. The marina of Herzlia comprises a large up-market shopping mall, indoor and outdoor resturants and cafes. Direct access to the beach with restaurnats, bars and a sailing club.30 Minutes drive from Ben Gourion International airport and 15 minutes drive to Tel Aviv. 174 Spacious and well appointed rooms Superior Rooms - spacious and comfortable rooms, some are with balcony. Bella Vista Rooms - spacious rooms, also suitable for families, LCD flat screen TV, beautiful sea view.Deluxe Garden Rooms - renovated spacious and modern rooms, opening onto the hotel garden, spectacular view of the Mediterranean Sea. In all rooms LCD flat screen TV and a working deskFamily Suites - spacious rooms for families: living room and bedroom, LCD flat screen TV, spectacular view of the Mediterranean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Sharon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sharon Hotel Herzlia
Sharon Hotel Israel/Herzlia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sharon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.