We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice grounds but lots of cats” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kibbutz Ein Gedi

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ein Gedi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kibbutz Ein Gedi
Save
You added Kibbutz Ein Gedi to your Saves list
3.5 of 5 Kibbutz   |   P.O. Box 32169, Ein Gedi 61320, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
Freehold, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice grounds but lots of cats”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights in mid-March in a 'standard' room. The room was adequate and looked like it was built in the 1950's, and needed some updating. The people at the desk were a bit abrupt and probably overworked. We had both breakfast and dinner here which was fine, especially the variety of Israeli salads. Our only criticism is that there was no coffee or tea at dinner.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    66
    42
    17
    10
See reviews for
72
94
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Ein Gedi Kibbutz Hotel is a lovely place to stay and is likely the best option to stay at the Israeli side of the Dead Sea (not the best in my life, only for this area). To get the same impression you should be aware of the number of pitfalls and avoid them.
First, this is a place for car drivers - going to the beach by foot or by shuttle is not convenient.
Second, beware of cheap rooms. Even this advice sounds obvious, it is extremely important there. We had a deluxe room on the second floor with a spectacular mountain view, our own balcony and it was great. Standards room are located in small wagons, looking like a WC (sorry for that). Good rooms are 5xx and 3xx.
Finally, be prepared that both dining options are not too attractive. The restaurant is ok for a breakfast, but is too overcrowded for a relaxing dinner. The alternate option, the bar, has a very limited menu, slow service and is also full of people. As a workaround, you can buy some food and a bottle of a good local wine in the kibbutz shop, and have your own dinner at the balcony.
If you are still reading my review, it is a great time now to disclose why I said it was the best option for the Dead Sea vacation.
First, location. The hotel is a part of the large botanic garden, which means that you will be woken up by singing birds, you can feed the ibex in the evening, sit under the baobab etc. It is very uncommon for this part of Israel.
Second, the audience. The "requirement" to have a car cuts off less advanced travelers, using out-of-the-box tours. I personally like this kind of “experienced travelers”.
Local SPA is good, with two pools: one (indoor) with the Dead Sea water, and second (outdoor) with the fresh water, tea and cakes (everything is free) and a variety of treatments (pretty expensive). The second SPA, at the beach, is also free for hotel guests, and is of a good quality. There is an undocumented privilege of 20% discount for all cosmetics at the beach’s SPA shop for hotel guests – don’t forget to ask.
The parking is free – at the territory of the hotel and near the beach’s SPA.
The rooms (not sure about the standard ones) are spacious and well equipped. There is a lot of high quality toiletries in the room, bathrobes, but surprisingly no slippers. The breakfast was good, but about the same every day.
Finally, the hotel is expensive (we paid $300 per night), but I don’t complain. Usually things are either expensive or bad in Israel (and not only there).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

After a few days in Jerusalem we wanted to let our minds relax a little, so booked the Ein Gedi hotel online, and hopped on a bus to the Dead Sea. The hotel, which is part of a long-established kibbutz is in a stunning location in an oasis against a backdrop of craggy, desert mountains. We took one of the apartment/houses which looked out onto the mountains. A mind-expanding view, and a clean, modern, spacious environment. Some of the smaller houses which are in the gardens have had less good responses from guests, but I think it all depends what you want, and there were some very satisfied visitors who were staying in the more basic houses. Sitting round outside and playing cards on tables. The facilities are shared - a cafe where you can have a glass of wine or light meal in the evening, or the dining room which has more of a kibbutz feel to it, but has a wide range of food and drink. It is worth having a look round the kibbutz and its history, the small zoo, and visiting the spa to float in the mud pool and have a treatment. It is also worth going down to the Dead Sea, sitting on the hard baked salt beach, and coating yourself in restorative mud. For two days this was close to paradise. A wonderful break in a fast-moving holiday in Israel. It isn't dripping with luxury, but it is a peaceful and interesting place. It could only have been made better if more people had had a smile on their face. (-:

Room Tip: Make up your mind about whether to go for one of the more expensive houses for comfort, or one of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

I feel like I've said everything already. The kibbutz is an expansive layout, way up on the hill from the dead sea. We had a regular room which felt a bit like a cutely painted army barrack. No real double bed, just two twins smashed together. The compound has a restaurant which is adequate, and a pool and a spa which I didn't use because it was winter. During the summer this may have a better vibe. The customer service of the hotel was rather apathethic. We asked for help getting our bags down the 20 min long walk to the bottom of the hill to the main road where the bus stop is (because buses southbound to Eilat don't come into the compound) and no one would even try to help us.

The main bonus to this hotel is the free access to the Dead Sea Spa/Beach which was not exactly resort caliber but nice enough. There aren't really many choices to stay around here, although I heard very good things about the Massada Hostel from people there.

If you want a resort on the Dead Sea, go to Evason in Jordan. I'd still pick Ein Gedi over Ein Bokek which tries to be a resort town but the Dead Sea isn't really splash around fun so not sure why you'd want it. I'd just go down to Eilat and splash in the ocean. Otherwise this is just a good respite while visiting Massada and taking a soak in the Dead Sea.

Also if you're allergic to cats (like me), this place is riddled with them.

Room Tip: Upgrade if it's not too expensive to one of the nice rooms by the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Very well located, close access to the dead sea, to both the Ein Gedi spa and the Ein Gedi public beach (we tried both and clearly preferred the public beach to the spa) and the Ein Gedi reserve (definitively worth a visit). However the service and the room were both disappointing and definitively not accordance with the price we paid.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

The kibbutz is located above the dead sea which gives you an excellent view of both the dead sea and the judia desert. The hotel itself got a range of room classes, from simple to deluxe. However the deluxe are not so deluxe... And the simple rooms are really simple for example old CRT televisions plastic spoons that bend when you stir your coffee, small blankets. For prices ranging from $300 per night for the simplest room to $450 for deluxe, I rather sleep in Jerusalem or stay for just one night if I have to.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv District, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Very expensive and the price doesn't justify it as the rooms are not clean and the stuff are not nice. And the service is bad. The food was good on the first day but after that you can feel its recycle food :-(
The view is amazing and the air is good. The spa is nice yet very expensive!!!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kibbutz Ein Gedi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kibbutz Ein Gedi

Address: P.O. Box 32169, Ein Gedi 61320, Israel
Location: Israel > Dead Sea Region > Ein Gedi
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Ein Gedi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kibbutz Ein Gedi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Also Known As:
Kibbutz Ein Gedi Hotel Ein Gedi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kibbutz Ein Gedi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.