We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Me” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Kibbutz Ein Gedi

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ein Gedi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kibbutz Ein Gedi
3.5 of 5 Kibbutz   |   P.O. Box 32169, Ein Gedi 61320, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
Tel Aviv District, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Me”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Very expensive and the price doesn't justify it as the rooms are not clean and the stuff are not nice. And the service is bad. The food was good on the first day but after that you can feel its recycle food :-(
The view is amazing and the air is good. The spa is nice yet very expensive!!!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    63
    40
    16
    9
See reviews for
67
89
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

There are a lot of mixed reviews so here is a detailed rundown of our experience.

We took the advice of this forum and booked an expensive room (called "Deluxe Room - Mountain View" on their website). Can't speak directly to the "Superior Room Arugot" class of rooms, which was one step down. We visited in low season so the rates are probably higher at other times.

This was by far the most expensive room we booked during our two week trip to Israel and Jordan. It was a nice room--spacious, good design, nice bath and shower, decent bed--but not luxurious. Outside was a little patio table and chairs amidst the cacti and succulent landscaping. There was a gorgeous canyon/mountain view but you have to leave the room to see it if you are on the bottom floor (and, since there is a walking path there, most people downstairs would probably keep the curtains closed anyway). TIP: Try requesting an upper level room (505-508; 515-520). Another block of upstairs rooms that appear to have good views are 370, 372, 374, 376, 378, 380, but I don't know what class they are. A group of ibex (a wild goat with large curving horns) appears to spend a lot of time on the hillside here.

Anyway, what really made this hotel worth the expense were the extra perks--though I can't confirm if these are available for all rooms in all seasons:
1. There is a nice spa onsite (entry was free) that has an outdoor pool with a nice view, an indoor pool that mimics the salinity and buoyancy of the Dead Sea, a Turkish bath, and a dry sauna.
2. We were given free day passes to the Ein Gedi Sea of Spa (just a few kilometers south of the hotel) that has a variety of treatment options (including mud pots, sulfur showers, etc.) and access to a nice private beach on the Dead Sea. Just have to ask for the passes.
3. The botanic garden throughout the property looks very nice, with baobabs and many rare plants, but we didn't have time to take full advantage of this.
4. There is discounted admission to the Ein Gedi Nature Reserve up the road, but we ran out of time to do it.
5. A volleyball court and what looked like a mini-golf course are onsite

Fortunately, these perks are still available after you check out. So you can go do Masada at sunrise, come back for breakfast, check out, and then relax however you choose. TIP: Plan to arrive early and leave late to maximize your experience.

As far as food goes, there is a huge breakfast buffet included in the room rate as with most hotels in Israel. The breakfast here was excellent , one of the best we had on our trip. We did not try the main dining room for dinner but the bar/café was expensive and mediocre.

Regarding service (which seems to have been an issue for some guests), the staff was helpful with our questions and no more or less brusque than our general experience on the trip.

One small caveat: A number of civilian and military aircraft flew over though I don't know how unique that was to our stay. There was some noise from this but nothing too disturbing .

Overall, we had a great stay that was well worth the expense.

Room Tip: Shell out for an expensive room with a mountain view. Try requesting an upper level room (505-508; 5...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Everything but the location at the bottom level. We paid like a 4star hotel (over $ 200 for B&B accommodation for 1 night) to get services of a low 2 star hotel: Forniture is old, the room is not clean while the bathroom is dirty and the staff is far from friendly. We wanted to have dinner at the bar terrace: we ended up trying to find a waiter ourselves as nobody came in a timely fashion way and eventually had to move inside bothered by the many cats that have access to the terrace.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

I go regularly to the Dead Sea and usually stay at one of the Ein Boqeq hotels which I have become quite disenchanted with. This time we decided to stay at the Kibbutz Ein Gedi, despite the fact you need to drive a few kilometers to get to the Dead Sea itself. The location is absolutely beautiful, with a view of the sea to one side and the mountain to the other side. There are different categories of rooms, either quite basic or much more spacious and modern with great balconies facing the mountain. There is a sizable outdoor swimming pool (unheated - closed in winter) and a brand new Spa with a smaller swimming pool as well as a saltwater pool (heated), sauna and hammam. The grounds are beautiful with an abundance of trees and plants, including a baobab! People at reception were friendly, the food (halfboard is recommended since there are not too many places around to have dinner) was quite nice. All is all we had a great time and the beauty of the place and colors in winter was very soothing.

Room Tip: Superior rooms with a view / terrace or balcony on the mountain are wonderful if you can pay the ext...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, IL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We arrived at 4:45 on a Saturday, and were told that check in is at 6pm on Shabbat. We had no idea from our reservation, and the woman told us she would have a room by 5:30 pm. We finally got a room at 7:30 pm. Meanwhile, they had given others rooms while we had dinner in their patio restaurant, even though they told us frequently nothing was available. While we were waiting in the lobby, my reading book was lifted.
The rooms are adequate, but nothing special. The patio restaurant was a good alternative to the expensive dining room, and had good food. The place was very crowded and noisy with so many people. It really is like a budget motel in the States, but with nice grounds at the edge of the Dead Sea.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

The rooms are very modern and clean, if small. Bathrooms are very nice and modern. The grounds are absolutely stunning, bursting with flowers, trees and birds. The views cannot be beat. A downside is the abundance of wild cats. A very nice outdoor cafe/bar to relax in later in the day, and a couple of parks/squares where you can sit or doze. A room gets you access to the pool but also access to the Ein Gedi Spa a 5 minute drive away. There you have free use of their pool, mud bath and shuttle to the shore of the dead sea. Aside from the bar, there is a dining room where the food is plentiful and pretty good. But it is very expensive.

All in all, its worth it for the grounds, the modern clean rooms and access to the spal.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

We camped here a few weeks ago and it is beautiful. The views are amazing across to jordan and of the red sea. The staff are very friendly and welcoming. Closs by is the canyon you can walk up. It has beautiful springs and in the near 40 degree heat makes for a refreshing morning.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kibbutz Ein Gedi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kibbutz Ein Gedi

Address: P.O. Box 32169, Ein Gedi 61320, Israel
Location: Israel > Dead Sea Region > Ein Gedi
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty lodging in Ein Gedi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kibbutz Ein Gedi 3.5*
Also Known As:
Kibbutz Ein Gedi Hotel Ein Gedi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kibbutz Ein Gedi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kibbutz Ein Gedi to your Saves list