We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent resort!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ein Gedi Resort Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ein Gedi Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ein Gedi Resort Hotel
Kibbutz Ein Gedi, Ein Gedi 86980, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ein Gedi
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent resort!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Spent a few nights here during our month long trip in Israel. Accomodation was great. We had an Arugot room looking over the sort of canyon. These are newer rooms and well worth the extra $$. The food up at the dining room was pretty good. Buffet style. Quite expensive though!! A tour of the Botanical Gardens is an absolute must!!. It is amazing what they have achieved at this oasis in the desert.Try the very swishy spa. As nice as anywhere we have been in the world. Ein Gedi also has it's own facilities right at the sea edge 5 minutes down the road which is great. Floating in the Dead Sea is totally bizarre!! Masada, a half hour away, is of course a must. Also the David waterfalls nearby is really worth a visit.

Room Tip: Arugot rooms are best. Try get the upper level which has a much better view over the valley..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    63
    39
    19
    10
See reviews for
58
64
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Two of us shared a standard twin bed room for around $190, which included a really excellent evening meal and breakfast, as well as entrance to the Ein Gedi spa on the shores of the Dead Sea. The room was fine, the beds were comfortable and the bathroom was clean and fresh. The kibbutz gardens are well-kept and it was lovely to wander around after dinner, in the balmy evening air. The new facilities make for a very pleasant stay even in July - there is now a coffee shop serving lights meals in addition to the formal dining room, and also a spa on site. In less intense weather you can hike in Nachal David, but in July we preferred to head down to the sulphur pools, the sea, and the mud. A wonderful getaway from life in the city.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

The Ein Gedi Resort try to be an hotel. The room 213 is the badest room you can imagine in Israel. Dirty, old. Almost all the furnitures are broken. But the top of the top is the bathroom: just like in a bad hostel in a poor country.
Some of the rooms of the resort are modern but don't trust the internet site. If you are unlucky you can receive one of the old room but for the price of a four stars.
The TV didn't work at our arrival (it is a Leyland TV from another century), we dind't get towels...
After more than 20 years in tourism bussiness it's one of my badest experience.

Room Tip: For a cheaper price you can enjoy a good room in Massada or Ein Gedi hostels
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Allround good vacation.

The good: rooms in the new section are excellent, very sapcious and clean with both a big shower area and a bath. View from room is amazing if you like desert scenery.
The spa is very nice and wasn't very crowded, as couples with children rather go to the big outside pool.
Allthough it doesn't have it's own beach, you can get free tickets to the near by complex which has a beach and some hot pools and is located about 10 minutes drive (or by a free shuttle).
Gardens in the compound are very well kept, and add to that "oasis" feel of the place.

The bad: it is very hot outside and when i came back to the room, i had problem getting cold water in the shower. It took about 10 minutes of free running water (a big waste) to get to a temperture that is actually "warmish" rather than cold. So if you like a colder shower you might be a bit upset...
But my main problem was the food. The veriaty is good but the quality isn't . For the price of the evening dinner (130 NIS) you could eat a lot better, sadly not in this area.
Most of the food that was served was dried and felt like re heated leftovers. The rice was hard, and when i told the chef he just took all the rice out and replaced it (they did credit us for 1 meal). The morning after, the fresh oranges were bad and a had a very bad smell. Again i told the chef, who smelled it, said i was right and changed it. This sort of things shouldn't happen on this level of hotels. Unfortunally, there aren't any good food options in this area, so the next evening we went to the "Ein Bokek" area and had some sallads. Other than the hotels's main resteraunt, there is a bar which serves a very limited menu.

Room Tip: Try going for a room in the new section if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neverland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed for 1 night in order to see the Dead Sea and Masada but wish we'd have stayed longer. Ein Gedi Resort is a destination in its own right and it would be well worth spending at least a few days there for the peace, the walks, the gardens, the spa, the 'Dead Sea' pool, and the stunning views of the Arugot Wadi.

We were in a Deluxe Plus room which was new, large, and although simply furnished, had everything that we needed including a large bathroom with separate bath and shower. We were on the first (top) floor with views of the Arugot Wadi from the room, the large, shaded balcony, and the picture window beside the bath!

We were on half-board which meant we ate in the communal dining room for breakfast and dinner (separate tables of different sizes for couples through to large families). The meals were spectacular as they were made from the freshest ingredients, presented well, and with wide choices available on an unlimited basis from an enormous buffet. I see some reviewers complaining that it wasn't cheap but for what you get, it really is good value.

We weren't there long enough to have a treatment at the spa but went there and enjoyed ourselves. Its not a 'beautiful people posing' sort of spa but one for real people to go and relax and have fun. Very friendly atmosphere.

All the staff we encountered at Ein Gedi were terrific and we'd go back again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Deluxe Plus room on first (top) floor, facing Arugot Wadi for new, large room with stunning views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I absolutely loved my stay here. I only had one night on a short trip, but would love to go back and stay for several. I was impressed to find this beautiful property with botanical gardens in the middle of the desert. The rooms were standard but very large and clean. The property itself is magnificent. Large pool, 360 degree views of the Dead Sea and surrounding mountains. Mountain goats roaming the property. Dinner was pricey, but worth it. The buffet style food was gourmet, vast, healthy and just so delicious. Breakfast was included and just as grand, with a yogurt bar that featured tons of toppings! The perfect spot to relax and enjoy the Dead Sea region.

Room Tip: Ask for a room along the perimeter so you can see the Dead Sea from your patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wettingen
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Very nice location: a wonderful garden in the middle of the desert.

We also enjoyed the Hotel Spa: fantastic, with dead sea pool, sweet water pool, amazing for sunset.

Food was excellent (dinner and breakfast), even if the dinner price (fixed, 130SHK) is a bit high - but there you don't have too many alterntives).

Nice bar staff (we've been offered our beers due to their delays in food delivery)

Obviously, no cold water from the tap (well, it's in the desert!)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ein Gedi Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ein Gedi Resort Hotel

Address: Kibbutz Ein Gedi, Ein Gedi 86980, Israel
Location: Israel > Dead Sea Region > Ein Gedi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ein Gedi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Ein Gedi Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ein Gedi Hotel Dead Sea Region
Hotel Ein Gedi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ein Gedi Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;