We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Desert oasis” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ein Gedi Resort Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ein Gedi Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ein Gedi Resort Hotel
Kibbutz Ein Gedi, Ein Gedi 86980, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Ein Gedi
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Desert oasis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I absolutely loved my stay here. I only had one night on a short trip, but would love to go back and stay for several. I was impressed to find this beautiful property with botanical gardens in the middle of the desert. The rooms were standard but very large and clean. The property itself is magnificent. Large pool, 360 degree views of the Dead Sea and surrounding mountains. Mountain goats roaming the property. Dinner was pricey, but worth it. The buffet style food was gourmet, vast, healthy and just so delicious. Breakfast was included and just as grand, with a yogurt bar that featured tons of toppings! The perfect spot to relax and enjoy the Dead Sea region.

Room Tip: Ask for a room along the perimeter so you can see the Dead Sea from your patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    58
    36
    19
    9
See reviews for
51
59
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Very nice location: a wonderful garden in the middle of the desert.

We also enjoyed the Hotel Spa: fantastic, with dead sea pool, sweet water pool, amazing for sunset.

Food was excellent (dinner and breakfast), even if the dinner price (fixed, 130SHK) is a bit high - but there you don't have too many alterntives).

Nice bar staff (we've been offered our beers due to their delays in food delivery)

Obviously, no cold water from the tap (well, it's in the desert!)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Aurora, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

We loved our stay at the ein gedi resort. My husband and I were on our honeymoon and chose to stay there based on their proximity to the Dead Sea and Masada. It was a great choice! Not only was it a beautiful property but the staff was helpful. The room was a bit plain, but very comfortable. The only thing I would comment on is that there are no real restaurants near there so you are dependent on their dining facilities which were a little expensive. We took advantage of their kibbutz grocery store and had little picnic dinners. Their breakfast was part of our package and was excellent. We also took advantage of their on site spa and had a couples massage after we climbed Masada. It was phenomenal! The spa facilities are open to guests for free, you can also get a day pass for the sea spa down the road. We did both and had plenty of time. Great experience overall!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

After mile upon mile of desert, Ein Gedi stands out as what a tropical oasis should look like. Staying in an actual botanical garden overlooking the Dead Sea is something special. Nice chalet like rooms, lovely food in the bar and large pool made it somewhere you can chill out in the desert. Slightly marred by a surly guy on reception but otherwise paradise.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We booked for one night and ended up staying for two. The location is the best in the Dead Sea area for visiting Masada and the David Springs as well as the Dead Sea itself. It is expensive but worth it. We booked for a standard room but were upgraded because they had run out of standard accommodation. This meant we had access to the Spa which is well worth the extra money, if you have to pay. You have the most exquisite view of the Jordanian desert hills from the sun loungers. Even better, they have a small pool full of Dead Sea water, which is actually pretty horrible - severely salty and greasy, so you can practise getting in, floating and getting out before you go down to the shore. Or skip the shore altogether.

The hotel restaurant was excellent, especially for me as a vegetarian.

The star attraction though is the botanical gardens. Make sure you take a guided tour. The kibbutz itself is in the gardens, which grew up around the buildings. This is separate from the hotel. Amazing plants and trees.

The only downside is their attitude to cats. They are left to roam and beg for food. I asked the guide why they don't get them neutered and then look after them properly. She had no answer. Please raise it if you visit. Surely, they will listen if enough people speak up.

Otherwise, it is a paradise.

Room Tip: Upgrade from standard to use the spa. Go half board for relatively cheap meal at the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We spent 3 nights in a mini-suit on a half board basis - perfect four a family of four. The room was modern and comfortable and close to the pool - the kids loved it. The breakfast and dinner buffets were great - plenty of choice - and the kids loved getting the buggy up to the dinning room. The pool is large and the shallow end had plenty of shade to keep the children out of the direct sun. The gardens were wonderful and gave the hotel a real oasis feel.

The spa down by the Dead Sea was fun - floating in the sea was the strangest feeling - although the sand flies were vicious when we finally got out!

We walked up the easy route to the Ein Gedi spring and sat in the fresh water pools - amazingly beautiful.

We had a great time - it is worth paying up for the better rooms & half board - and we would definitely visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Most people seem to just do a day trip to the Dead Sea from Jerusalem or stay in the luxury resorts a few KM down the road, but the Ein Gedi Hostel was well worth the stay. The rooms were very clean and comfortable, there was three of us and had a 5 bed dorm to ourselves. Our room had a balcony looking out onto the Dead Sea and the beach was only a 15 minute walk. The Nature reserve is right next door and well worth a visit. There are no restaurants near by and no kitchen facilities in the hostel to cook your own food which we found a little frustrating. The staff were very friendly and were very informative.

There is not a lot of character about the place, it is not the sort of hostel you will easily get talking to other back packers.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ein Gedi Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ein Gedi Resort Hotel

Address: Kibbutz Ein Gedi, Ein Gedi 86980, Israel
Location: Israel > Dead Sea Region > Ein Gedi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Ein Gedi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Ein Gedi Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ein Gedi Hotel Dead Sea Region
Hotel Ein Gedi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ein Gedi Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.