We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great site” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Masada National Park

Masada National Park
Masada, Ein Gedi, Israel
08-6584207
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$92*
and up
Private Tour: Masada and Dead Sea Day Trip from...
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Ein Gedi
Activities: Walking, Hiking
Attraction details
Macae, RJ
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“great site”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

This place is incredible! Over two thousand years old and yet so modern! It must have been truly amazing to walk around the desert and suddenly see such an oasis! King Herod did love great things, just like him.
It is a must see place for whoever wants to understand the grandeur of King Herod and understand a bit more about the importance of the site back in those days.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,456 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,200
    217
    33
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“We wish it matched the pictures!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

It was less than we hoped for but still worth the trip. Part of our experience was skewed as we made the trip in July when its HOT! But hey make the best of it we did. We took the cable car which was quick and painless and in the heat, well worth it. I recommend doing it both ways unless you are going when its not as hot as it was for us (95F to 100F). I would have liked to hike the foot path and for those of average to good health it is a nice hike if the temp is a bit lower. The history of King Herod and his palace fortress is amazing and I recommend reading about this before your trip. The site itself lacks the wow factor of other historical sites but it is older than dirt so what did we expect! Well worth the trip and the box is now checked!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“An unforgettable experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

We were impressed by the excellent facilities of the Visitors' Center (from the Ein Gedi side), with the indoor parking, the very reasonably priced buffet restaurant, the museum and, of course, the site itself. Documentation is sufficient for a self-guided tour and I find the availability of fresh-water fountains on the plateau very thoughtful.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Iowa
Level Contributor
70 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Loved it! A must see.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I probably went on the hottest day of the year and still loved it. Make sure you take water along. I'm glad we rode the cable car even though I am a hiker. In the heat it's just not worth it.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Masada”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Amazing. Pretty tough hike up to the fortress, but the view at the top is worth it. Views of the Dead Sea and of the desert are incredible. It's beautiful!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Masada National Park also viewed

Dead Sea Region, Israel
 
Ein Gedi, Dead Sea Region
 

Been to Masada National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Masada National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.