We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Highlight of Caesarea” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Helena

Helena
Old port of Caesarea, Caesarea, Israel
+972 (0)46101018
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 19 Restaurants in Caesarea
Price range: $30 - $80
Cuisines: Diner, Israeli, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
USA
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“The Highlight of Caesarea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Great food and great flavors. You cannot ask for a better location or fish food restaurant in Israel. The prices are not low, but they are fair. I highly recommend the shrimps and scallops in ouzo.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    42
    10
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“delicious, beautiful view, kind staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We celebrated our wedding at Helena's. The staff was friendly and efficient, the food exquisite, and the view astounding. If we were to get married again (to each other, of course), we would probably choose the same restaurant over again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great restaurant, precisely balanced dishes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We've just returned to Helena for the 2nd time, and once again enjoyed a wonderful meal.
All the dishes were just great, perfectly seasoned and very well presented.
Service was great.
Prices are around the average for good restaurants in Israel. Not cheap, but well worth it :)

One of the better seafood restaurants I've encountered in Israel.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant with astonish view of the old port”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

This is a very unique restaurant combining high quality food with astonish view of the old port and the sea. The prices are quite high, but the experience is nice.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great restaurant in spite of the location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Even though the restaurant is not located in Tel Aviv, it is considered to be one of the best restaurants out of town, and its worth to come there especially.
The janner of Helena is a sea food and fishes.
The restaurant is specialized dealing with local and fresh raw material, and cook the food lightly
And elegantly. The food is very tasty, and based on the
Mediterranean diet. The service is always professional and pleasant.
Helena became a restaurant we visit in at least one a month, and in every occasion we celebrate.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Helena also viewed

Caesarea, Haifa District
Caesarea, Haifa District
 
Caesarea, Haifa District
Caesarea, Haifa District
 

Been to Helena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Helena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.