We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unsanitary, disorganized, unattentive, and overpriced, with major noise and maintenance issues (road warrior's report)” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Leonardo Hotel Negev

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Leonardo Hotel Negev to your Saves list
Leonardo Hotel Negev
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Henrietta Sold Street, Beersheba 84894, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Beersheba
Houston, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Unsanitary, disorganized, unattentive, and overpriced, with major noise and maintenance issues (road warrior's report)”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I am a frequent business traveler, having spent >200 nights a year on the road for over 10 years, with experience in a dozen major global chains. 3- and 4-star properties are the norm for my travels.

I have stayed at this property about 20 nights on 5 separate occasions for the past 6 months. All I can say is, don't stay here. And definitely avoid using the facility for meetings.

Your best alternative: Stay at the Crowne Plaza City Center in Tel Aviv, and commute via train (1h 5 min from the station at the Crowne Plaza to Beer Sheva's central station 3 blocks from this hotel - NIS30 each way). Pay about the same, and get a real 4-star experience in Tel Aviv instead of this headache hotel. There are other options on the train line in Tel Aviv, including the Leonardo City Tower, that are also good choices.

The hotel overall has little in it's favor.

When you walk in, you notice the dated-but-definitely-4-star decor, and the lobby area looks relatively clean. However, dig deeper and the lack of maintenance, noise and cleanliness are showstoppers. Most business traveler amenities are there, but of lower-than-expected quality, ridiculously high price, and/or require inconvenience to use. (Laundry? Irons? Internet? Telephone? Business lounge? Warm shower in the morning? They're present in theory; not always in practice, and none are at expected service/price levels.)

The inattentive service is obvious from the start, as the desk clerks serve you when they're ready to -- and lines often accumulate at the front desk as this is a frequent stop for tour buses. Check-in/out takes too long, and their processes don't handle tours well. Service is similar in the restaurant for breakfast -- I often see the restaurant manager prodding the staff to respond faster, but the staff don't seem to "get it".

On 4 stays, the rooms were reasonably cleaned. The tiles in the bathroom need a serious scrubbing to address grout stains (mildew?) in every room, but otherwise the rooms are OK. Expect mattresses on the hard side, similar to 3-star European chain hotels. The cleanliness issues I describe below generally do not apply to the guestrooms.

On one stay, the corner room I was assigned was a dilapidated trap that needed to be gutted. If you feel uncomfortable, ask them to switch.

Whatever you do, don't go digging into corners of the public areas. You don't want to know what you'll find. Trash and piles of dirty dishes are hidden everywhere -- in service areas, stairwells, and ironing rooms (at least that's what they call them -- one hasn't had an iron in it for more than 5 weeks). Stairwells are grungy with a layer of dirt.

But the worst are the public bathrooms on the meeting room/restaurant level. They aren't cleaned nearly often enough, nor well enough, and of the 8 times I've used them on several different stays, they smelled like open pit outhouses about half the time. The bathroom walls are not part of the regular cleaning routine, and the brown smudges and drips linger there for your enjoyment. The entire rest of the facility -- restaurant, hallways, meeting rooms, business lounge and even that "clean" lobby -- has the light grunginess of a staff that tries to clean, but doesn't know how.

Roughly every other night, the hotel hosts a wedding, bar mitzvah, night club, or other major event. When these are hosted around the pool, the back side of the hotel is noisy as if the band were in your room -- even on the top (12th) floor. Always ask for a room on an upper floor on the front side (since lower floors get street noise).

The property originally opened as a Hilton, but it switched to the Leonardo brand many years ago. My hypothesis (and it is only a hypothesis) is that they fired all the maintenance staff then, and never looked back. Doors with missing security devices, door jambs obviously repaired, noisy A/Cs and dorm-size fridges, dripping toilets, and intermittent water have all served to keep me awake at night. Wear-and-tear is evident everywhere, with dings in walls, threads coming out of carpets, bent ceiling tiles, scratched surfaces, and worn-out doors and jambs. In a meeting room today, I even pulled an electrical box out of the wall trying to remove my laptop power.

I take much less issue with what I see in the guest rooms, if you just need a bed to sleep. (But I don't even want to think about what a swab test would turn up...)

In summary, the best alternative in town is sleeping on a park bench at night. At least that makes an overpriced stay at the Leonardo Negev an equally compelling, although not superior, option.

Room Tip: Pick an upper floor on the front side (room 511, 611, ..., 1211 or higher). Party noise on the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    45
    52
    23
    24
See reviews for
25
27
12
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Forfar
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This hotel is badly run - dirty - rooms not clean when we arrived and not cleaned during our 4 day stay - had to complain to get supplies of toilet roll etc. Stayed with a large group. The dining room was grubby - we saw staff wipe used cutlery and reset tables with it, and found used spoons in the supposedly clean spoon trays and cups with liptick and other stains on them. The food left at lunch time was left uncovered and unrefrigerated till dinner time on heated trays! hard floors were sticky and uncleaned - carpeted areas were not hoovered and were dirty. We booked meeting rooms each day - they were never ready - when we did get directed to rooms late the chairs provided were dirty many with bent legs or broken seat supports. the leaders of our group had been put in a superior room on an upper floor which was of a better standard - this did not protect them from the dire state of the publc areas. Over all we found the standard very poor and service haardly existing.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramallah
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I was very dissapointed that on 2 October 2013 the swimming pool was closed. It is not written anywhere that they close the swimming pool begining of October when the temperatures are more than 30 C... ONLY TO SAVE MONEY AS THEY WERE JUST A FEW GUESTS.
In Tel Aviv the swimming pool were open at similar hotels on 6 of October and the temperatures were about 27C
The hotel is old, no entertaiment, no swimming pool, they have a wedding hall so I could not sleep till midnight because the noises. And I was on the 9 floor.
they are the single hotel in Beer sheva .... the breakfast was OK lots of cheese but not hot meat. not worth the money as the rooms are old.

Room Tip: choose Tel Aviv
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austinboy
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I want to start by sharing that based on reading reviews my expectations were not high. So, the hotel exceeded my expectations. It is the only hotel in town, so there aren't many options. But, this is not bad at all. the rooms are spacious and although well used, relatively clean. The tub is narrow, but suitable. The beds are Israeli-European style, i.e. two mattresses make up a king, but still relatively comfortable for a couple. The location is a little deceiving. You feel you are truly far away from eating alternatives, but a ten minutes walk in almost every direction will take you to some outdoor night activity. Here are the few criticisms I have. One they charge for internet, the gym and the business center. The bar is outrageously expensive for a beer. About 30ns., three time what you might expect to pay. so, be prepared to be nickeled and dimed to death.

Room Tip: My guess is every upper level room is a desert view. It s a quiet town, so noise is not an issue. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed with one collegue in the Hotel for 2 nights from 2013.08.13 to 15 for business reasons. Any former posted comments are really true: the hotel and the offered service is definitely the worst I've ever seen on all my worldwide travels - at the end an 'Underground Performance'.
Room intrior is pretty old-fashioned, living room floor had seen much better days, door lock battery was down (We'll fix it the next days, use a normal key...), room and bathroom were clean at arrival but no room service done after the first night - room found as left. Ligths without bulb cover - just an energy saving bulb on the working desk (nice try and atmosphere), wall cabinet was not really cleaned up, toilet flush needs an hour... Additionally I was really ambarressed to give the hotel a $200 deposit for internet access and to get the explanation at the front desk (much later) that the server was already down the whole day. A $200 deposit for a non-available service? Is this the Fattal way of customer satisfaction? Sorry to say - if the Fattal Group wants to make advertising with such a hotel and if the guest have to pay $160 a night: congratulations to the management, you'll loose every customer! Even if there is no real other option in that area I will definitely try out something else or more inconvinient the next time but I will never set a foot again in this hotel.
The one and only positive thing at the end: Thanks so much to Shany from the front desk, she was really hard working to cope the situation and tried to help any guest as possible, even with all the complaints around!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarperia, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Small rooms, no desktop in room, so it's quite complicated for business traveller. No free internet connection in the room, but it is available in the hall. But it is not comfortable for PC users (no power sockets available).
So, maybe it's a family hotel.
The food is good, even if without a big choice.
The hotel personnel is ok, the restaurant one less.
Free parking, even if a little small, using the room card.

Room Tip: The 10th floor (business floor) has much better rooms and a nice view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The hotel is well situated and it was perfect for me and my family. Rooms are comfortable, and the food is very good. It is not my first time in this hotel, but this time it was perfect.
the hotel staff extremely friendly, and i will come again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Leonardo Hotel Negev? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Hotel Negev

Address: 4 Henrietta Sold Street, Beersheba 84894, Israel
Location: Israel > Southern District > Beersheba
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Beersheba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Leonardo Hotel Negev 3.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are in the Beersheba area on business, then Leonardo Negev is the perfect way for you to combine business and pleasure in the capital of the Negev. Leonardo Negev is the only hotel located in the heart of Beersheba, and offers all that you need to turn a business trip into a true pleasure. The hotel’s prime location near Ben Gurion University, the government complex, and the mall, and only a short drive from the Omer industrial park, makes staying at LeonardoNegev a relaxing and amiable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Leonardo Hotel Negev reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beersheba Golden Tulip
Golden Tulip Beersheba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leonardo Hotel Negev, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.