We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a dump” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Leonardo Hotel Negev

Save Saved
You added Leonardo Hotel Negev to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Leonardo Hotel Negev
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Henrietta Sold Street, Beersheba 84894, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Beersheba
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What a dump”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The service was terrible, there was only one staff member in the reception although there were 10 gusts waiting, had to wait for about 10 minutes every time we called reception. the rooms were not clean and the , and the house keeping service gave very bad service, we will never go to a Leonardo hotel again. we staid fro two night and both nights there was a Loud wedding or party, although we were on 7th floor and we were not given a different room.

P. S.one good thing was the breakfast which was great.

Room Tip: don't stay there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    30
    49
    18
    22
See reviews for
21
25
11
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aarhus, Denmark
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

If you have ended up in this confusion of a city which claims to have biblical roots but very little to show now, then this hotel is another manifestation of the same. Boring, dull, but functional, hotel for the purposes of your short sty for whatever reason you are there. Nothing too bad, but nothing much to remember either. A special "Shabath elevator", which knows where to reach without touching any buttons on a shabath!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FattalM, General Manager at Leonardo Hotel Negev, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
First of all, we thank you for choosing to stay at the Leonardo Negev Hotel.
Thank you for taking your valuable time to write your notes.
Your comments are very important to us and we will do our best to learn from them to improve.
We will be more than happy to see you among our guests in the near future.
Sincerely yours
Udi Ashkenazi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montville, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This hotel was a huge disappointment! It is posing as a 4 star hotel. That must be a joke! As for location, you could not tell if the hotel entrance was part of the ajoining mall. The service was poor, and unconcerned. No one was at the front door to help with our luggage. The halls, the carpeting, the furniture throughout the entire hotel was run down and dirty. We scratched all night; was that bed bugs? The food was below standard, buffet style, and the "dining room" resembled a dirty high school cafeteria. The hotel "included a breakfast for Saturday" but at 9:40am, (after religious services), the dining room was either closed or they did not let us in. Instead, there was a standing area in a hall with a broken down hot water urn for guests to make instant coffee. No milk, no food, no attendents. Hence, there was no breakfast. We went down to the desk.
The security guard called the hotel clerk to the front. She told us we would have to pay extra to get something to eat! However, this very same hotel clerk had been in the back having her breakfast! Needless to say, we went without eating.
The hotel was filled with families that celebrate various occasions on the weekend, and it was like a college dorm with noisy people clammering all night.

Room Tip: Don't go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FattalM, General Manager at Leonardo Hotel Negev, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Leonardo Negev Hotel and Thank you for investing your spare time in writing this important comment.
The Hotel management deeply sorry your unpleasant experience in our hotel.
Leonardo Hotel Negev underwent a series of renovations in the past and we intend to ensure the continued renovations in the future, in order to create satisfaction among our guests.
We must point out that within the dates of your staying at the Leonardo Negev hotel, we hosted many families of Saturday grooms. The Jewish tradition emphasizes joy, poetry and love. We apologize for the noise that you experienced.
We were delighted to read that you saw our reception staff team very talented and friendly.
Your Comments were taken to our attention, and we will do our best to learn from them to improve accordingly.
Again, thank you very much.
We will be more than happy to see you among our guests in the near future.
Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Beersheba hotels

Boston
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This hotel is a testament to what a lack of competition results in. It is the only hotel in the area and the lack of effort from its management shows. It is old, run-down, and dirty. The rooms are very noisy due to the construction as well as the loud housekeeping staff yelling to each other. Breakfast was...ok...although the staff didn't serve tea/coffee. The sole bright spot was the front desk service which was cheerful and friendly. Next time, I'll stay in Tel Aviv and drive!
Ronn Kliger

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FattalM, General Manager at Leonardo Hotel Negev, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Leonardo Negev Hotel and Thank you for investing your spare time in writing this important comment.
The Hotel management deeply sorry your unpleasant experience in our hotel.
Leonardo Hotel Negev underwent a series of renovations in the past and we intend to ensure the continued renovations in the future, in order to create satisfaction among our guests.
We were delighted to read that you saw our hotel staff team very talented and friendly.
Your Comments were taken to our attention, and we will do our best to learn from them to improve accordingly.
Again, thank you very much.
We will be more than happy to see you among our guests in the near future.
Sincerely yours,
Alice Hadida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This is one of those hotels that defies explanation. It has some very good points, like a very friendly and competent hotel staff. An excellent breakfast. A good location with nice amenities (e.g. good parking, easy to find, attractive building, good restaurants and shopping nearby).

However, just when you think you have arrived at a 4-star property, you see the underside. The hotel needs a good cleaning and upgrade. The carpets look dirty. The walls need re-painting. There is mold in the shower and most memorable, the hotel fire alarm goes off once every night, just when you are getting into bed.

With some investment in cleaning and upgrading this hotel, this would be a great property. It is not a bad place to stay now, but it could be so much more. I like the people working here, they try very hard to make your stay wonderful, but they need a little help from the owners of this property. I would likely stay here again and hope for improvement.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the fire alarm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FattalM, Guest Relations Manager at Leonardo Hotel Negev, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Leonardo Negev Hotel. Thanks for investing your spare time in writing this important comment.
We were delighted to read that you saw our hotel staff team very talented and friendly, also that you enjoyed our great breakfast
and our good services that Leonardo Negev provides (good parking, attractive and shopping centers nearby).
Leonardo Hotel Negev underwent a series of renovations in the past and we intend to ensure the continued renovations in the future, in order to create satisfaction among our guests.
Your Comments were taken to our attention, and we will do our best to learn from them to improve accordingly.
Again, thank you very much.
We will be more than happy to see you among our guests in the near future.
Sincerely yours,
Inbar Asor-Sabato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Which is part of a group at the beginning of January 2013. Very nice hotel, located attractive. Staff is attentive every request and willing to help with anything. The rooms are arranged, but furniture is outdated and crumbling. Do not care to clean and suck the dirt under the beds!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukwonago, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We had a Shabbat dinner included in our private tour since we ended up in Beersheva for a visit to the desert. WE should of followed the advice of the front desk person and not eaten at the hotel for dinner, but we were so tired. Horrible food. The following day, we had high hopes for the Shabbat meal, and dressed for the dinner we were told was to start at 7 pm. The hotel was then filled with guests we later found out was a private party ofr a Bar/Bat Mitzvah. At 7 pm sharp, we were in the dining hoall, food mostly gone cold, guests singing the blessing after the meal, not even a clean table for us. They eventually set up a table for us, with challah, and then wanted to charge us for the wine. The waiter became quite attentive as we had our lovely 23 year old daughter with us..... Dont stay here if you can help it.They obviously have poorly trained staff, and dont care for private travelers !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Leonardo Hotel Negev? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Hotel Negev

Address: 4 Henrietta Sold Street, Beersheba 84894, Israel
Location: Israel > Southern District > Beersheba
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Beersheba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Leonardo Hotel Negev 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are in the Beersheba area on business, then Leonardo Negev is the perfect way for you to combine business and pleasure in the capital of the Negev. Leonardo Negev is the only hotel located in the heart of Beersheba, and offers all that you need to turn a business trip into a true pleasure. The hotel’s prime location near Ben Gurion University, the government complex, and the mall, and only a short drive from the Omer industrial park, makes staying at LeonardoNegev a relaxing and amiable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Leonardo Hotel Negev reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beersheba Golden Tulip
Golden Tulip Beersheba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leonardo Hotel Negev, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.