We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Jekyll and Hyde of Hotels” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Leonardo Hotel Negev

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Leonardo Hotel Negev to your Saves list
Leonardo Hotel Negev
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Henrietta Sold Street, Beersheba 84894, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Beersheba
Bel Air, Maryland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“A Jekyll and Hyde of Hotels”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This is one of those hotels that defies explanation. It has some very good points, like a very friendly and competent hotel staff. An excellent breakfast. A good location with nice amenities (e.g. good parking, easy to find, attractive building, good restaurants and shopping nearby).

However, just when you think you have arrived at a 4-star property, you see the underside. The hotel needs a good cleaning and upgrade. The carpets look dirty. The walls need re-painting. There is mold in the shower and most memorable, the hotel fire alarm goes off once every night, just when you are getting into bed.

With some investment in cleaning and upgrading this hotel, this would be a great property. It is not a bad place to stay now, but it could be so much more. I like the people working here, they try very hard to make your stay wonderful, but they need a little help from the owners of this property. I would likely stay here again and hope for improvement.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the fire alarm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FattalM, Guest Relations Manager at Leonardo Hotel Negev, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Leonardo Negev Hotel. Thanks for investing your spare time in writing this important comment.
We were delighted to read that you saw our hotel staff team very talented and friendly, also that you enjoyed our great breakfast
and our good services that Leonardo Negev provides (good parking, attractive and shopping centers nearby).
Leonardo Hotel Negev underwent a series of renovations in the past and we intend to ensure the continued renovations in the future, in order to create satisfaction among our guests.
Your Comments were taken to our attention, and we will do our best to learn from them to improve accordingly.
Again, thank you very much.
We will be more than happy to see you among our guests in the near future.
Sincerely yours,
Inbar Asor-Sabato
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    45
    52
    23
    25
See reviews for
25
28
12
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Which is part of a group at the beginning of January 2013. Very nice hotel, located attractive. Staff is attentive every request and willing to help with anything. The rooms are arranged, but furniture is outdated and crumbling. Do not care to clean and suck the dirt under the beds!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We had a Shabbat dinner included in our private tour since we ended up in Beersheva for a visit to the desert. WE should of followed the advice of the front desk person and not eaten at the hotel for dinner, but we were so tired. Horrible food. The following day, we had high hopes for the Shabbat meal, and dressed for the dinner we were told was to start at 7 pm. The hotel was then filled with guests we later found out was a private party ofr a Bar/Bat Mitzvah. At 7 pm sharp, we were in the dining hoall, food mostly gone cold, guests singing the blessing after the meal, not even a clean table for us. They eventually set up a table for us, with challah, and then wanted to charge us for the wine. The waiter became quite attentive as we had our lovely 23 year old daughter with us..... Dont stay here if you can help it.They obviously have poorly trained staff, and dont care for private travelers !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My American travel group stayed at the Leonardo Hotel on the evening of 11/8/12. The good expectations we had were shattered. Here's just a few of the issues: 1)There was no kosher certificate for the hotel. The excuse was that they were waiting for the new one to come. But when we asked to see the expired one, the hotel couldn't produce it. 2)The room for my male travel colleague and I was to have 2 beds. The room had 1 bed, and the front desk said they had no other rooms. Eventually, a very low trundle bed was found. It's a good thing I was exhausted and managed to sleep, but it wasn't what I paid for. 3)As stated in other reviews, cleanliness seemed to be a foreign concept. Several large pieces of trash were in back and under the bureau. 4)The promised free wi-fi in the lobby didn't work, and I had to snag a sketchy connection from a university building across the street. Paid wi-fi in the room was listed at an expensive rate, making the hotel look like a nickel-and-dime operation (I'm writing now from a hotel in Jerusalem with free, decent room wi-fi). One positive: a nice view from the room. However, my recommendation to tourists: stay away.

Room Tip: At this point I wouldn't recommend the hotel at all. The hotel has responded elsewhere on this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night at the end of a tour. The room was old and dirty. The staff was skeletal . . . after waiting an hour for our bags, we went down to the lobby where the luggage cart was standing n the exact same spot as when we arrived, so we took our luggage off and carried it up ourselves. The breakfast was OK but you had to wait in a long line for plain filter coffee, which was ridiculous.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Top Contributor
303 reviews 303 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

This is the sole hotel option in the city, old, dirty , without maintannance and expensive, no enough water in the duche, but you dont have choice. Reasonable breakfast, at least a good expresso coffee.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FattalM, Guest Relations Manager at Leonardo Hotel Negev, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Mr.
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Leonardo Negev hotel.
I'm sorry you found our hotel insufficient to your need.
The hotel is undergoing a massive change in looks and concept and hopefully you will give us the chance to show you we can give the service you expect.

Best regards,
Elinor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

This is a strange one, I am told it is the only hotel in town, which I do not believe but anyway...

Pro's: Good breakfast, Room OK, comfy bed.
Cons: The general condition of the communial areas is poor. Rather run down in places. It's in Beer sheba in the middle of the desert and within range of terroist rockets... but I guess they can't help that. There are signs to the safe zones in the hotel which is reassuring, well sort of.

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FattalM, Guest Relations Manager at Leonardo Hotel Negev, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Leonrdo Negev, the only hotel at the capital of the Negev.
I was happy to read you found our breakfast, rooms and beds for your liking.
As you saw on your visit, the hotel is undergoing remodeling and I can reassure you that our public areas look modern and fresh.
On our agenda is to renovate the rooms, and we already started with upgrading our 8th floor into the business standard.
The Israeli Negev is a fast growing tourism site and I would love to give you information on the where and what to do in the area.

With hope to see you again soon and
Best regards,
Elinor Nagar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Leonardo Hotel Negev? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Hotel Negev

Address: 4 Henrietta Sold Street, Beersheba 84894, Israel
Location: Israel > Southern District > Beersheba
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Beersheba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Leonardo Hotel Negev 3.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are in the Beersheba area on business, then Leonardo Negev is the perfect way for you to combine business and pleasure in the capital of the Negev. Leonardo Negev is the only hotel located in the heart of Beersheba, and offers all that you need to turn a business trip into a true pleasure. The hotel’s prime location near Ben Gurion University, the government complex, and the mall, and only a short drive from the Omer industrial park, makes staying at LeonardoNegev a relaxing and amiable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Leonardo Hotel Negev reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beersheba Golden Tulip
Golden Tulip Beersheba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leonardo Hotel Negev, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.