We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Restaurant, better bar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sabroso Restaurant and Bar

Sabroso Restaurant and Bar
470 State Highway 150, Arroyo Seco, NM 87514
575 776 3333
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Sabroso Restaurant and Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $16 - $34
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 4.7 mi N of US 64
Taos, New Mexico
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant, better bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Sitting in front of the roaring fireplace, sipping wine, and having conversation with friends is perfect with this restaurant. The food is pretty good as well. I recommend sitting in the wonderful bar area with its painted walls and good service. You won't be disappointed. You can order from the regular menu or stick with the excellent bar food served.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    33
    10
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

We were referred by some friends we decided to try it tonight and it was wonderful. We got some mussels to start they were tasty and flavorful great job they were emaculate, veggie salad was great only little thing my husbands steak was tasty but overcooked but overall the meal was fantastic

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranchos de Taos, New Mexico, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice bar dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Have eaten in dining rooms, but I actually prefer the informality of eating in the bar from the bar menu.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taos, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dreadful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Ate in the bar. Moules Mariniere was simply a large plate of bland shells. There were a lot of mussels but they were so tiny that there was hardly any flesh in them. Both the burgers my party ordered had any unpleasant gamey taste.

The atmosphere was pleasant, but not enough to make up for the food.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaosFoodie, Owner at Sabroso Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
We're so sorry to hear of your bad experience. The hamburger and the mussels are two of our best selling items and complaints such as this are very rare. I hope that you shared your concerns with my staff that evening so that they could take corrective measures and compensate you for your inconvenience. We hope that you'll give us another chance!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Went for a last minute bite at from the bar menu. Fire crackled, and the atmosphere was cozy. Had the hamburger and onion soup. I was a little shocked at paying $12 a glass for wine!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaosFoodie, Owner at Sabroso Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thanks for the kind comments.Your $12 wine was the most expensive white on our by-the-glass list. We also offer 3 whites and 5 reds for under ten dollars. Our philosophy is to keep the wine price down but when we have an opportunity to offer a really great wine such as the Chardonnay we do so even if it means a slightly higher price.

We have to see you in the restaurant again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sabroso Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 
Arroyo Seco, Taos County
 

Been to Sabroso Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sabroso Restaurant and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.