We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in Paradise!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Waterfront Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Waterfront Hotel to your Saves list
The Waterfront Hotel
Gili Air, Lombok, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 285 Lombok B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Luxury in Paradise!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

What a wonderful place the Waterfront is. I was a little disappoined to learn when I arrived that the rooms were not on the waterfront, however when you see how high the sea levels get I understood why! None of the little hotels are on the sea front. However I think you literally walk 20 steps out of your room to get to the front!

The food at the Waterfront is great. I am a typical Brit and I love my breakfast, they do the best scrambled eggs on toast and have what I call proper bacon! The food is really reasonable and we ate there every time as you get a small reduction for being a guest.

The chairs are lovely as well right on the front, we literally did not move for a full day!

The rooms are fab, spotlessly clean and you have a fridge, TV and a wonderful large Open Bathroom. Something to be said for washing your hair in warm water under the stars! They have fresh towels and the bed lined is lovely and clean. I would recommend this hotel and its fabulous staff to anyone traveling to the island, we stayed at the Aston Bali in Benoa and wished we had not bothered and just stayed at Gili Air at the Waterfront for our remaining week of holiday!

The island is beautiful and we loved to walk around it, takes a couple of hours at slow pace.

Loads to see and do, being next to Manta Dive you have all the options of diving etc, my husband spent the day with the sharks and loved every minute.

A fantastic place and one I will definitely return to only for a longer period of time. I will go back to the Waterfront too. No cars on the island, no scooters, just little ponies and their traps.

I cannot recommend this place more.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    13
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leuven, Belgium
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We are really satisfied with this hotel. Their service, amenities, room, etc at least deserve a 4 stars. The constant hot water for shower are amazing, we don't expect that in the somewhat remote island like Gili Air. The satellite TV is also superb, even better than the one we've had in the 5 stars hotel in Bali.
The staffs were friendly and helpful. In short, we will be coming back for more, hopefully next summer, and next time we will be staying longer!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp Province, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed three nights. Modern room with lcd tv And Nice outdoor rainshower with fresh hot water, so no sea salt! Rooms were daily cleaned. There is a slight smell of menure, however, that particular smell is the island's smell im afraid. Food. Was delicious , enjoyed our seafront breakfast . Staff very helpful, though language skills need some improvement for some people of the staff . Overall a very Nice. Modern And warm hotel for a reasonable price .

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyogle, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

A very relaxing stay at The Waterfront for our first time to Gili Air. Firstly don't expect waterfront views from your rooms, but it is only a very short walk from the rooms to the restaurant that has the most amazing views of Lombok island. The rooms are new, so very clean and nicely decorated, with the beautiful outdoor bathroom. It has a nice pool that hardly anyone seemed to go in, which also was clean and well maintained. The breakfast was great in the cafe with the amazing views, with lots of variety and friendly staff. Also the snorkeling out the front was good too. I also would recommend to hire a bike for your stay to see all of the island, especially the centre of the island to see local village life., and a must is to do a snorkeling tour in the glass bottom boats ( average AUS$10) to see turtles and wonderful tropical fish.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We were 2 families traveling together to lovely laid back Gili Air and had a wonderful stay at the Waterfront Hotel. Initially we hoped to stay in the family rooms at Manta Dive next door but as I took too long to book, the rooms were no longer available. Having said that, we were not disappointed with the villas at the Waterfront and were quite pleased that this is where we ended up.

Waterfront and Manta have the same management. Waterfront being the newer property that has been added on over the past several months. They share the same staff and restaurant. Each has their own small pool but you can use either. The benefit of the Waterfront pool is that is only for swimming rather than diving intros. The pool and villas are tucked behind the restaurant down a pretty pathway.

The villas are not all that big but we were able to fit four of us (2 small children) comfortably with an extra mattress on the floor. Perfect size for a couple! The bathroom is big and spacious and has a gorgeous outdoor shower with fresh water. Outside of the villa is a shady terrace with a cushioned day bed. There is ample privacy from the other villas as there is a wall and a curtain on either end of terrace. There is also plenty of space out front to store snorkeling gear, beach toys and a drying rack is provided for wet swimmers.

The Waterfront Villas have a traditional feel to them with modern amenities such as ac, hot fresh water, gorgeous outdoor shower, small fridge, safe box, lcd tv and dvd player. The towels and linens were of good quality and beach/pool towels are also provided.

The restaurant is quite good and we happy with all of the meals we ate there. Breakfast which is included in your daily rate consisted of plenty to choose from...omelette, yogurt, muesli, fresh fruit, baguettes, croissants etc. We chose to pay extra for our coffee and enjoyed lattes which were excellent.

The staff were all lovely and polite - and quite helpful with the children. There was some waiting around for requests or things to get done but we were on holiday so we were not bothered. The more we interacted with the staff the more happy they seemed and suddenly everything was done with a smile!

We snorkeled out front daily and hired a glass bottom boat for a day (arranged through the hotel) which was great! Next time we come back we will go for a intro dive course! The buzz and excitement coming from that crowd was amazing and the instructors all seemed very easy going and engaged.

Our only downer of the trip is that 2 of the 4 children got ear infections. I mention this not as a particular risk for the hotel pool because it also could have come from the sea water. At the same time it is important to be aware that this can happen. I have sent a note to the front desk to suggest that they check on the regularity and intensity of chlorine and pH testing of the pool just in case. But it is a good reminder to rinse out and dry out the ears after swimming to remove the moist environment that allows bacteria and germs to grow.

In a nutshell, we loved our time on Gili Air and the Waterfront Hotel was the perfect choice for our accommodation. We hope to get back some day!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

We were originally booked in manta dive but got a free upgrade to the waterfront. Beautiful rooms with a comfy bed and lovely bathroom, front patio with a comfy lounge. Nice and quiet yet only a few steps to the ocean and also has a lovely pool. Staff are lovely and very helpful

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed at as called The Waterfront Hotel, which is managed by the same stuff.

If you do not expect to see a sea in front of your door (The Waterfront, after all), you will be fine. Except of misleading name, this hotel consists of quite good 4 villas with aircon, LED TV, safe, and fresh water in shower, which is a kind of luxury there on islands. Yes, shower does not have a roof, but it is still part of your villa (you do not need to go outside) and have walls, so it is even bonus feature. Electricity is not stable, and several times per day we experienced power outage. Usually, it returns back in 2-10 minutes.

The second disappointment for us was Wi-Fi which just does not work in room. We had to go at least 20m to reception to get a chance of weak signal.

The breakfast was below average, comparing with Kuta/Sanur. Maybe, it is common issue for the island, maybe it is just this hotel, I do not know.

Stuff was friendly and helpful, and you get 10% discount on villa's price if you dive (or learn to dive) with Manta Dive.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront Hotel

Address: Gili Air, Lombok, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 285 B&Bs / Inns in Lombok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Waterfront Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.