We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Isolated but very nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rinjani Beach Eco Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Rinjani Beach Eco Resort to your Saves list
Rinjani Beach Eco Resort
Karang Atas - Sokong - Tanjung, Lombok, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 100 Hotels in Lombok
Singapore
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Isolated but very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012 via mobile

We were there in low season and had the place to ourselves for 3 nights. There is nothing else around, so if you're looking for something other than walks on the beach or lying in beach chairs, you might want to look somewhere else.

It's in a very local area and there is even the call to prayer that happens 5 times a day. We were in the Backpacker Bungalow and it was comfortable enough, remembering that these are furthest from the beach and can hear the 5AM mosque the best.

The food is good, the staff is helpful, transport is expensive. Nice place to stay overall.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    25
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
37
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Rinjani Beach Eco Resort is right on the beach, and we were lucky enough to have the cottage closest to the water for the four nights we were there. The cottage and grounds are not as big as I imagined from the photos on the website, but it's big enough - especially since for most of the time, we were the only guests. There is a nice rustic charm to the bamboo buildings and furniture.

I was worried beforehand about the lack of a/c, but I shouldn't have been. Nice, clean ocean breezes keep things comfortable, and there's a large fan in the room if you need it. It's a quiet place, with just the gentle sound of the waves and the occasional call to prayer in the distance.

Drinking water is not provided, but easy to buy and not expensive. There are no toiletries provided either, so you have to bring your own soap and shampoo. There is only one bath towel supplied for each guest (no hand or beach towels). A beach towel would have been handy, considering the proximity of swimming in the pool or ocean. It also takes time for towels to dry in this humid climate.

Speaking of the pool, it was very convenient to have a clean and refreshing pool a few steps away. There is snorkeling equipment available for rent and Guy the owner was kind enough to give us a quick lesson. They've built a artificial reef to give the coral a chance to come back, and it attracts some sea life which you can view.

The restaurant on-site was handy and had a varied selection. A good breakfast was included.The Indonesian version of Mexican food may bear only passing resemblance to Mexican food found in the USA or Mexico, but it still tasted fine. I think a new cuisine has been invented! Don't be in a hurry for your dinner though, because it takes some time between ordering and serving.

The floor in the bathroom is black stone, and because it's an outdoor wet floor design, it can be a little slippery on the steps. The bed itself was comfortable, with a mosquito net (although we didn't find mosquitoes to be an issue).

This area has a genuine, non-touristy feel which we liked, with none of the noise and beach hawkers, etc usually found in other beach resorts. We really enjoyed being included in some of the activities in the nearby village. We had some experiences of real-life Indonesia that you just can't get when you stay in a big hotel in a tourist enclave. Transportation to and from other parts of Lombok is easy to arrange.

The owners, Marja-Leena and Guy (et la belle petite "lutin", Kim) are amongst the nicest people you'll ever meet in your travels. They are not professional hotel people, and that is actually a good thing; you'll feel like you are staying with friends or family. They will have lots of good advice and tips to share with you. Even though they are friendly and relaxed, they know how to give their guests just the right amount of space. For the price, Rinjani Beach is a good value too.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpasar, Bali, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

Bali with Kids is a family guidebook and we came to review this resort for supplement on Lombok. We very much enjoyed our stay at Rinjani Beach Eco Resort and we highly recommend it for families traveling with children, The place is peaceful and very spacious for kids to runa round and have fun. The managers Guy and his wife are friendly and welcoming to families. The bungalows are beautiful, all made out of bamboo and natural materials. The bungalow facing the beach is fantastic! There are cool activities and games for kids and Guy is always ready to spend time with children and, if you ask, he can even teach them to juggle. Diving with kids is going to be on offer soon. The staff is extremely friendly too. Kids will love the homemade pizzas. We'll be back because we loved the relaxing experience!

Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

Very relaxed atmosphere in beautiful surroundings, I highly recommend Rinjani Beach as a laid-back holiday destination . The place was exactly what we were looking for: comfortable bungalows on a quiet beach without any hawkers. The bungalows are brand new and very comfortable, and the staff very friendly.
We enjoyed the location very much: right on the beach, close to the mountains, surrounded by rice paddies, several waterfalls near by, 10 min away from the Bangsal - transfer point to the Gilis-, far enough from Senggigi to enjoy the quiet surroundings but close enough to be able to reach it within a 30 min ride.
Thanks a lot to Guy, his family and staff for the warm welcome and useful advice.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

Nice bungalows quiet and relaxing place. Perfect for trips to the Waterfalls or to clib rinjani. Just ask Guy :-)
We liked the food and had the possibility to cook with wayan. Great!

We just heard about this Hotel by coinsistent. Thanks Eka for the Tip!

Hotel organizes transfer to airport or Harbour. And pick up worked well too.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rinjani Beach Eco Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rinjani Beach Eco Resort

Address: Karang Atas - Sokong - Tanjung, Lombok, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 100 Hotels in Lombok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lombok Adventures LOOKING FOR A DIFFERENT HOLIDAY DESTINATION THAT IS BOTH AUTHENTIC AND EXOTIC ?Nortwest of LOMBOK, otherwise know as "the wilf", there is the hidden gem of Inonesia, THE RINJANI BEACH ECO RESORT, which is covered with green coconut palms and faces the Gili islands.This is located near TANJUNG, 45 minutes from the Mataram airport.Possibility of transport from/ to the airport.Its charming bungalows and spacious villas made from real bamboo combine traditional construction: bamboo stilts, alang alang roof(woven coconut leaves) which makes for a very comfortable design.The restaurant, also constructed in bamboo,welcomes you on oceanfront.The resort has an exceptional location:You can see sunrise over the rice fields and the Rinjani volcano, the sunset reflecting off the indian ocean that covers Bali and the nearby Gili Islands.The location of our resort allows us to accccommodate the wishes of each of our guests:- Divers or snorkelers.- Sports enthusiasts trekking and hiking or swimming in the waterfalls will give you a nice change of scenery.- Golfers , you can play 18 holes, at our neighboring course located only 3 km away.- Inquisitive travelers, you can go on bicycle trips, or take a "cidomo"ride to the colorful Tanjung market or sasak or even tothe aptly named MONKEY FOREST.- Backpackers, a relaxing step.- Those who wish to relax, while curled up on your deck chair you will have a tough decision to make :will you go swimming in the sea in front of you, take a dip in our basalt stone swimming pool or take a romantic walk on the beach while watching the sun go down.- Parents, swimming in the sea (the water temperature being 28°C(82 F)minimum), swimming in the pool, cycling, volleyball etc...Should satisfy your teenagers.- Tourists concerned for the environment, we have designed this village so that is blends harmoniously with the landscape of the coconut trees and rice fields that surround it .We participate in a program that resettles turttles and coral in the marine environment front the resort.Fresh water is pumped directly from our wells, sewage treatment is done on site and our waste is subject to thorough sorting and recycling.Our bungalows are built only from local and appoved wood and bamboo.Discover our Indonesian village, a haven of peace where you can tread down the volcanic sand, alone (or almost)on endless miles of beach.The hospitality and friendliness of our team will make your stay with us unforgettable!We speak Indonesian/English/French ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Rinjani Beach Eco Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rinjani Beach Eco Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.