We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not miss this experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Secret Island Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lombok
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Secret Island Resort
Save
You added Secret Island Resort to your Saves list
Gili Gede, Lombok, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #126 of 297 Lombok B&B and Inns
Ubud, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Do not miss this experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

If you are looking for a get away that is unique with plenty to do or simply a place to kick back and relax - this place is worth investigating. Peter, the owner, was accommodating, a great conversationalist and an excellent host. The hillside bungalow is chock full of character, has fabulous views and splendid sunsets right from the bungalow's deck. Sit back relax and enjoy or spend your day combing the island or snorkeling. Peter took us out snorkeling on his boat - the swells were high that day and the snorkeling was not so good but we combed beaches for shells and spent a bit of time in the water. Peter dropped us off at another part of the island so we could walk through the village, talk to people at another resort and caught a local boat back to Secret Island.

In the dining area Pete has a wide selection of music and video's - something for everyone's taste. Rustic and wonderful, I would recommend this resort to just about anyone. This resort is not for those who have physical disabilities with restricted ability to walk or climb stairs.

As it came time to leave, Peter went above and beyond and drove us to Kuta, shared lunch with us at a divine organic restaurant near Kuta, Lombok. He ever so patiently spent quite a bit of time on our long and winding journey to find our next resort. Part of the problem was each hotel/resort we looked at simply could not compare to the warm hospitality, charm and character, I experienced at Secret Island Resort. Thanks Peter...I will be back! Betty L.

Room Tip: Perched on the hillside is a bungalow that made me feel like I was Robinson Cursoe! It's a hef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    18
    11
    13
    13
See reviews for
4
36
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

I went on a surfing expedition with my 2 sons. The resorts had to boats that took my sons out to the best surfing ever had in the whole lives. And they live on Maui. I went snorkeling everyday in the most beautiful waters I've ever been in. The owner and his wife are very gracious and the food is fantastic!7

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpasar, Indonesia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

I woke up my first morning on the island to sit on the end of the Jetty right outside my room... when I looked down I found Nemo!! There was an abundance of tropical fish swimming under the lovely, rustic wooden jetty room. The water was clear and inviting. The morning brought fishermen in traditional boats attending to their morning work. Wandered up to the dining area to eat wonderful scrambled eggs, bread, fruit and a bucket of indonesian sweet black coffee.

It was a great way to start a chilled out day after what had been a long long trip the day before due to indonesian unpredictable (or maybe that is predicable) delays in travel. The boat to lombok had been delayed both on departure and arrival. Lucky we'd had packed a picnic of ayam bakar and french sticks and had great company to keep us entertained.

The morning I spent relaxing, swimming and catching up with my daughter whilst my husband and two sons went snorkelling. My husband has been a tour guide in indonesia and said it was some of the best snorkelling in indonesia!! My 5 year old son had is first snorkelling adventure and was amazed! My 15 year old son has been snorkelling in far north western Australia, which has some of the most untouched amazing snorkelling in the world, enjoyed himself too!

We were a large group and it was great to play snooker, darts but the highlight for me were the informal Jam Sessions that happened over the day and evening which included the owner Peter playing in flute.

Whilst the menu was limited I had some great meals... the red fish curry was amazing. One of our group had special diet needs and the staff were helpful and tried to accommodate this (although their limited english was a problem at time)

This was a lovely place to spend time with friends.

Room Tip: The wonderful rustic Jetty Room!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpasar, Bali, Indonesia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

secret island resort is a wonderful place to stay. it is located on the beautiful island of Gili Gede of the coast Lombok with good views of Lombok and nearby islands. the budget rooms are not the greatest you will ever see but will provide a decent nights sleep with cold showers using bore water which due to the location is slightly salty.

one of the best things about staying at the Secret Island Resort is the snorkeling it is some of the best that i have ever seen and i have done some of the best snorkeling you can find in western Australia.

with a room comes a complementary breakfast of some of the best scrambled eggs i have eaten. also they have a selection of Indonesian dishes and a few Weston dishes.

overall it is a nice place to stay with a friendly american host

Room Tip: if you can get the one at the end of the jetty go for it other than that take a look around and see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

we stayed at this resort after being recommended by family friends who knew the owner, though we had no idea what to expect.. after a ridiculous 12 hours of travel to get to the island (including a delayed on both ends tanker ferry that took over 5 hours, followed by an hour or more car trip and another rickety fishing boat escort to the island itself) whereby the owner did not tell us it was possible to fly to lombok for only around 250, 000 rph, we were nothing but dismayed at how far we'd traveled for something so shabby. we were given a room in the deluxe villa (approx 40 dollars a room per night) which has two bedrooms, a living area and balcony overlooking the ocean. the room is meant to have hot running water and be the second best on the island. the hot water was a cold dribble from the tap, and was salty (though you are warned about this), the main living area had animal droppings all over it. the rooms smelt musty, moldy and were unclean.

we checked out the budget rooms (around 20 dollars a night) that were closer to the main eating area and they were on much the same level so we decided to take one of these so save ourselves the long and rather dangerous walk to the latter.
the budget rooms are some of the worst ive seen in my life. unclean, and seemingly have been so for a very long time (there was extremely old rubbish in our bin from previous guests), our room was built on a slant which gave a very disorientating feeling. the bathroom has a pathetic cold salty water shower and toilet that flushes by pouring water into it (our friends wouldn't flush) and smell like sewage every time you use water or the toilet which filters into the room and is unpleasant. the bed was hard and you could feel the springs. the pillows seemed to be made of sand or something similar-heavy and falling apart. there was a ceiling fan that wasn't near the bed to keep cool under but it didn't have much affect, was extremely loud and cut off when the power went off from 5am till 530pm every day. when it rained the room and bathroom leaked.

the dining area was nice enough, set out like what you'd imagine the mess hall to be like on a school camp. there was pool table, chess and darts to keep you entertained, but were all horribly outdated and in need of replacing.there is a very limited drinks and food menu, and a tv in the corner with a pile of pirated dvds to watch. i would have slept in this room as it seemed cleanest had i not been asked to leave by 12am so the staff could sleep.
the kitchen was unclean and messy every time i had an opportunity to look in- other then the American owner the staff have not been taught English and were unable to understand my orders or converse which made hospitality extremely difficult. i saw this as a main flaw to his staff- had they been taught English they would be able to communicate with guests and i believe this would create a more welcoming feeling. the food was average to bad, not fresh, with no knowledge of western cooking, and the Indonesian food mostly coming from frozen meals or packets (ie. the nasi goreng) and was very overpriced for what it was. i have never been sick in Bali and am not particularly cautious but this food made me extremely ill for my journey back to mainland Bali.

waking up with no power and no ability to cool down we spent the day swimming. there was hardly any beach with the tide high, and the swimming area unguarded i felt a bit unsafe to swim there. thought the water was beautiful and mostly clear. a few friends went snorkeling in the morning and said aside from the stingers (they leave marks guys) it was quite beautiful but not the best they'd seen, especially for the price. we walked to what we were told was a shop that sold goods to have some variety from the restaurant and it was a simple local store selling Indonesian goods for the local village. we were the only ones of this island that were western and were unable to get off the island without notice or funding. the surrounding villages and local community was Muslim and walking around in a short dress i felt uncomfortable and disrespectful, though i was not warned of this. i am someone very respectful of different cultures as i have Javanese relatives.

the owner of this hotel is mostly polite and friendly, but we is in it for the money and overcharged us for a few meals and accommodation, and tried to discourage us to take the domestic airlines back to denpasar (which was cheaper then the speedboats or ferry and faster) and suggesting morning boat rides and snorkeling which i found to be very annoying as we were simply trying to find the best way to get off the island as i was sick.

all in all i think this place has lost its spark and is not worth the travel distance. there is nothing around the area on the mainland to do, nor is there much to do on the island that cant be done elsewhere more comfortably and at a more competitive price. the rooms are run down and uncomfortable by most standards and even as a budget home stay are pushing their luck.

despite having a few good memories with my friends here (who made this experience bearable) i would definitely give this place a miss.and i am NOT exceptionally fussing, exaggerating or one to complain about the Indonesian standards.

Room Tip: the only room better then any other is the deluxe bungalow on the hillside it isnt worth the effort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titin J, Owner at Secret Island Resort, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
Hello, I believe the man who wrote this review is a Musician that I jammed with. He is a good player, but I guess not a happy camper, at least not this trip. We must say we are sorry that we can not control the speed of the Indonesian Ferry system. They are to often late, but for $4 a person fee, it is hard to complain. If you can afford it, Airplanes are faster, but often late to.
We are told by your friends that you ate some rice (Nasi Bunkus) from the local vendors on the Ferry. It is easy to get Bali Belly from this kind of cheap food. We want to make it clear that it is Very Unlikely that you got sick from our food. Several other of your friends ate the same Nasi goreng and spaghetti that you did and had no problems. Sally even paid the Chief a compliment about how good the spaghetti was.
For your information we wash and scrub our dishes very well and then rinse them in 'Bottled Water', then put them inside a closed cabinet until used again.
The villa bedroom that you turned down in favor of the slightly cheaper budget room was in fact $31, not $40. We apologize about the Cecko poop in living room. We have to clean this area every day. Or start killing Ceckos. We prefer to just shu them away as best as we can.
We have a shortage of fresh water on the island as the well water gets mixed with some sea water. The Villa room does have hot fresh rain water. But you sometimes do have to wait for us to turn it on. We try to be eco minded and flush toilets with brakish salty water. We have also build much of our Hotel with recycled Teak and Iron wood and run the genset for electricity about 12 hours at night. We do believe that Global warming is very real and hope to be part of the solution.
If you or any of your friends come back to visit us in the future: We promise to give them one FREE NIGHT on your behalf. Then hopefully when they see you again, they might buy you a beer and play a tune or two with you. Several of you folks are quite talented. If you can "Don't sweat the small stuff, Life is to short!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

Secret Island resort is set on Gili Gede, facing Lombok in the deep south west.
Via friends of Peter, the owner I stayed 2 nights in the wooden bungalow, perched on a hill top.
Its quite a hike up the staircases to reach it but the view makes it all worth!
The bungalow is not the newest but has a charm i really liked.
A big bed with mosquito net, bathroom is fine with a hot shower. The water is, as it is on all islands there braqish, so salt water mixed with fresh water. However, they provide you with a big jerry can with fresh water so you can rinse yourself with fresh water too.
I had a lovely welcome by the owner and its staff. The first night I saw one of the most stunning sunsets I ever experciened from my balcony. It looks out on a big bay and Lombok and its stunning.
Breakfast was simple but nice and comes included.
The menu is simple but the cook makes a nice mie goreng, and the fish and chips were tasty too.
Did the snorkel tour wich was nice, although the reef and fish were clearly affected. still, the scenery of the different gilis are beautiful!
Secret Island resort is a relaxing place to stay for a couple a nights, you can talk lovely walks over the island where everything is still quite rural and undiscovered, a far cry from the busy Kuta in Bali!
If you expect a deluxe resort, dont come here, if you are looking for a homey, quiet, beautiful and relaxing stay I certainly would recommend this place.

Room Tip: Take the bungalow or villa on the hilltop, worth the effort to get there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

We booked here for 5 days and 3 days fishing off Banko Banko in March 2011. On paper and on its website, the place looks like a real paradise, safe, run by an American and with a big game fishing boat.

Unfortunately it fooled us.....

Reality is somewhat different: You will be asked to pay up front (there is a good reason for this). The eating room is dirty, the kitchen is dirty, the 'big game fishing boat' is unsafe and an accident waiting to happen. The 'ferry' which picks you up from Lombok is not seaworthy and in fact is a pretty good indication of what is coming next.

We stayed on the 'idyllic' hut at the end of the jetty. Basic it is, no problem with that. However, it is not idyllic. There is endless music blaring over til the early hours from the village opposite it across the water. The 'security' (a bit of barbed wire) for the 'resort' ends at the start of the jetty so you are on your own. All night small craft come very close to the hut to have a nose about.

The owner likes to come and have a nose about as well.....

The effluent pipe for the raw sewage from the 'resort' exits at the start of the jetty, so the 'reef' it hangs over is not really somewhere you would want to paddle let alone snorkel or swim. The smell rises as the tide falls.

We went 'big game fishing' with the owner. The boat is unsafe. The engines are started by a screw driver. The engines smoke so much if you sit in the cockpit you will be smothered by it.The bilge pump is a concoction of old plastic plumbing parts forming a manual pump which does not work. The boat does leak so it really does need a proper bilge pump. The life jackets are so old, decrepit and sun damaged I doubt they would stand being dunked in water. There are no navigation aids whatsoever on board. Bear in mind you will be fishing in deep potentially rough water off dangerous rock formations and there isn't so much as a depth sounder and no charts. We nearly hit a submerged rock pinnacle which the owner only saw at the last moment, he didn't save our lines though, they were ripped off. The only 'safety' device the owner has on board is a mobile phone. Bear in mind in this part of the world if you get in trouble you are on your own. There is no excuse for the cavalier attitude this American owner exhibits.

I rented numerous small traditional fishing craft in and around Trawangan after Tuna before our visit to Secret island Resort and these boats run by local people were safe, clean, well maintained and water tight. The Boat owner wouldn't dream of going somewhere the boat wasn't suited to. They were completely at odds to the state of the craft Secret Island was using.

This American owner is a disgrace to the Indonesian people and his own country.

After one disturbed night in the jetty hut, finding the owner quietly snooping around the shower at the back when we woke up followed by the fishing trip (which I called off after the near miss on the rocks) we decided to call it a day. Needless to say the owner refused to return any money. we didn't argue, by this time we just wanted to get clear of the place.

We stayed at a hotel slightly north of Gili Gede and found that they were the recipients of numerous refugees from Secret Island Resort.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titin J, Owner at Secret Island Resort, responded to this review, March 2, 2012
We are sorry that the English man passenger did not enjoy sport fishing with us even though we caught a 8 pound Tuna. We were off shore Lombok trolling when we passed nearby a exposed rock. We have fished around this rock many times. We have very good local knowledge of the area. Our passenger did not notice or see the rock when we approached it. When he did see it, he was startled and became afraid. He simply PANICKED and then canceled his pre-booked and paid for charters for no good reason other than he had a panick attack and then began to lie about us. Our sport fishing boat is safe and licensed for up to 10 passengers. It's life jackets are nearly new. I have a 100 ton American Coast Guard Captain's license and of course do not like to be slandered by inexperienced passengers. Life is good and fishing makes it better. Thank you for listening to the Captains view.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Secret Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Island Resort

Address: Gili Gede, Lombok, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 297 B&Bs / Inns in Lombok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secret Island Resort is a Eco friendly small resort with a very good small beach in front. We are slowly rising up to a 3 star quality hotel in a 5 star location. There are now 7 units with solar hot water and now there are 2 'Bungalows over the reef' available. These are stable units attached to a dock within easy walking distance to the Restaurant and lounge. These two bungalows over the water are the only ones in either Lombok or Bali. The snorkeling is great nearby and the fishing is still good to. SIR operates a 9 meter sport fishing boat called 'Scorpio' that is very good for touring the 12 South west gilis and snorkeling to. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secret Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.