We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mixed bag” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Secret Island Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lombok
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Secret Island Resort
Save
You added Secret Island Resort to your Saves list
Gili Gede, Lombok, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #110 of 285 Lombok B&B and Inns
Jakarta
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A mixed bag”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011 via mobile

We went to this 'resort' after reading the mixed reviews. We left early. We stayed at the 'villa' on the hill - very basic and not very clean. The food was average. Peter was very hospitable although it felt like we were coming into his lounge room at the eating area - more of a homestay than a resort. The snorkeling was good although reef bleaching is widespread. If ur planning to spend days fishing and snorkeling then this is probably a good budget option. Peters gear and boats are in good order unlike the venue.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titin J, Owner at Secret Island Resort, responded to this review, March 2, 2012
Just want to say that we are working hard to upgrade Secret Island Resort. The folks who wrote this 'Mixed bag' review probably stayed in our budget rooms. Please understand that these bath rooms have dark beige colored tile that might look dirty, but in fact are often cleaned with clorex bleach. These budget rooms for around $20. We also have better rooms with hot water, etc. Anyway we are glad to make your experience as good as we can. Thank you for listening.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    17
    10
    12
    12
See reviews for
4
35
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baghdad, Iraq
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

Wow, this one was one out of the bag, left our finding accommodation to last minute after leaving another resort on Gili early as it was awful! Being an Australian I know my snorkeling but this place was off the charts, Peter the owner claims the fish are so happy if you listen hard enough they talk to you.

Food was always good and Peters daughter is a great massager and singer too! Day trips too desert point surfing spot was easily arranged as the resort has a couple of speed boats. we did two days fishing charter and I caught my first tuna (20kgs!!!).

One of Indonesias best break dancing crews 'aerial crew' were staying there so my partner was a little star struck. Anyway in short it was a great stay I highly reccomend it, I'll be back!

Room Tip: Do the snorkeling!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sengigi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

We just stayed two nights at Secret Island Resort on Gili Gede and we had a fantastic time. The resort is on a Bounty Island in the south of Lombok, a beautiful, quiet and rather undiscovered place. We did a nice walk around the island and the very friendly local people helped us to find our way. Walking over the beaches, watching the local fishermen in their little sailing boats and the local children playing on the beaches. The next day Peter took us with his little speed boat on an amazing snorkling trip, among the best snorkling we have ever done! Peter and his familie are extremely friendly and hospitable.

OK, this is not the place to go if you want aircon, hot bath tubes and hamburgers for dinner... But if you are looking for an affordable place to stay, an extremely relaxed atmosphere, clean rooms, great Indonesian food, away from the crowds, good snorkeling and a warm welcome, go to Secrect Island Resort!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

We spent a couple of nights here back in April during our two week visit to Bali and Lombok. We heard about the place through the Lombok Guide as we were looking for a quiet, affordable location away from all the hustle and bustle of Bali.

The hotel is in a beautiful location about an hour from the airport in Lombok. We stayed in the bungalow over the water which is something Ive never experienced before. The room was comfortable and modest, what you would expect for $40 a night.

The snorkel tour and fishing was amazing, some of the best we've seen in our 5 or so visits to Indonesia. My partner caught two wahoo and a mackreal on a half day charter, which they later cooked up for us that night.

All in all we enjoyed our stay

Room Tip: Bungalow over the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhayader, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

As very experienced backpackers in our seventies we found the Secret Island Resort just what we were needing and looking for after 5 weeks in Bali and Lombok. Feeling somewhat ragged and exhausted by the constant noise of motor cycles we washed up on the shore of Gili Gede. The SIR was certainly above our normal budget, however, we decided to take advantage of the 'Backpacker' deal which meant staying at least 3 nights to get the nightly fee down to 150 per night. Well, that was our intention, to stay 3 nights. We eventually stayed 6 nights which speaks for itself ! OK, so the food was a bit expensive by ours standards but it was good ! So were the activities, superb snorkelling,canoeing,walking, exploring the island and meeting all those friendly people who live in those fascinating villages.......What else? Our sheets and towels were changed every day ,we found the electricity supply quite adequate enough to make our own hot drinks in the evenings. The breakfasts were good but as we only bought the evening we supplemented our diet with snacks form the nearby mini-shops and fruit and treats from the easily accessible and interesting market on Lombok. Finally we found the company of Peter, the host, and his lovely wife really good fun and helpful. So were the rest of the staff. Hey, and look out for those really interesting garden furniture..... more like sculptures really. Fred and Jackie Lee

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

well lets say the photos are misleading -- there's no beach at high tide at all, and at low tide the beach is not accessible except in the very front. If you stay in the shed over the water there is a reef directly under it which is supposed to be the only case in indonesia.

Secret island resort is right across the bay from the last gas station so you hear every mo-ped, and every imam calling everyone to prayer which goes on till two in the morning during eidul fitri. The village or kampung behind it is so poor they have to blast the news from the crummiest speakers in the world so village folk can hear the news.

I originally chose this place because they had little ding sail-boat for use, but that was in total disrepair.

The grilled fish was good but the rest of the menu was extremely limited, and while the stand in manager was nice, he was pretty useless beyond just being a fasting stupor. The only served bread and omlet, water and coffee for breakfast as the milk had gone off and wasn't fixable even with their surger in the sour milk trick. The didn't think to pick up some bananas or milk when they went to the mainland to get their daughter a strawberry milk, despite us asking for bananas. The fried chicken was pretty good but degraded as the days went past.

Much of this kampung stay (not a resort) is in a state of disrepair or shoddy construction from the rotting boardwalk to the shack on the water to the trash storage openly visible under the restaurant, to the disgusting looking kitchen and dishes being washed on the floor behind the restaurant. My wife nearly fell through the board walk where the central supporting beam had rotted through. We were glad she didn't cut an artery open. There were broken panes of glass sitting outside the shack. The shack appears to be lashed down so it doesn't float away or something. Many of the window fixtures are just about rusted through. The toilet always works. The "Fresh" water is pretty brackish.

What was neat: we were able to snorkle right off the pier at our shack on the dock, or look down at the reef from the shack. We paddle through the nearby mangroves, and the local dive company came and picked us up at our shack/dock when the tide was high, and we zoomed off to the gorgeous gili ringit for excellent diving. The Diving is much better than up at Gili Trawangan and Air in the NW of lombok. There were several other divers staying at much nicer looking cottages sitting directly on white sand instead of gray sand beaches that were there even at high tide. That was pretty near gili ringit. Coco-something on the way to the gas station also looked like a real up-and commer luxury resort.

So for most of you out there look elsewhere unless you want the Kampung experience.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

As backpackers, this was our splurge for the holiday. The website looks promising, but unfortunately the general atmosphere of the hotel did not live up to our expectations. We do want to mention though, that the staff (with exception of the owner) are extremely helpful, super nice and always available for questions and a friendly chat.

The biggest problem with this place is that it's about 1.5 hours away from an ATM (the owner only accepts cash), restaurants, etc. So you are literally stuck on the island and completely reliant on the hotel. Normally, this is not a problem. However, the owner exploits this to the extreme, charging ridiculous prices for meals (that aren't that good at all), offers no entertainment for guests other than snorkelling (which is expensive, but recommended if the owner doesn't provide the tour himself) and that nothing is included with the room price. The owner even forces you to buy water at 2.5 times the normal price (10,000 Rp for a bottle, when you can get it for 4,000 Rp at a mini store). On top of that, the rooms are good for backpackers, but not for the price they charge. Rundown, old furniture, questionable bedsheets.

Not to mention that the owner charges 10% service fee on your rooms (we didn't have this anywhere in Indonesia) and 15% service fee on your meals. And also tried to make us pay more than agreed for the snorkelling.

The general consensus of guests at the Secret Island Resort was that this place is good for a day or two, but definitely no more. We were extremely disappointed with the place. Other resorts nearby offered way better value for money.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Secret Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Island Resort

Address: Gili Gede, Lombok, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 285 B&Bs / Inns in Lombok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secret Island Resort is a Eco friendly small resort with a very good small beach in front. We are slowly rising up to a 3 star quality hotel in a 5 star location. There are now 7 units with solar hot water and now there are 2 'Bungalows over the reef' available. These are stable units attached to a dock within easy walking distance to the Restaurant and lounge. These two bungalows over the water are the only ones in either Lombok or Bali. The snorkeling is great nearby and the fishing is still good to. SIR operates a 9 meter sport fishing boat called 'Scorpio' that is very good for touring the 12 South west gilis and snorkeling to. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secret Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.