We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing resort, highly recommended!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tugu Lombok

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Tugu Lombok to your Saves list
Hotel Tugu Lombok
5.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Sigar Pejalin, Tanjung, Sire Beach, Lombok 83352, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 105 Hotels in Lombok
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing resort, highly recommended!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights at the start of June on the special romantic package. The staff were always friendly and attentive, the room was amazing - very spacious and well kept. The resort was very clean and just beautiful with it's own unique style.

The pool and the beach were perfect, with the beach being kept clean and no hawkers trying to sell you things. As well as the service right to your lounger, the resort also has equipment available to use free of charge.

We also did a number of excursions on our trip that we would highly recommend. First was a trip to the nearby waterfalls - you get to see local life on the way and then climbing up and swimming in the waterfalls is amazing. We also had a day boat trip on the unique Tugu dragon boat to the Gilli islands where we snorkelled and explored the islands. We made use of the Spa which overlooks the ocean with two massages - both were perfect and very relaxing as we listened to the sound of the ocean whilst being massaged. Finally we got to dine on the beach - the staff made every effort to make the night special with lots of little touches which are far beyond the service you would expect.

Overall this is a great place to stay, a gem of a resort that is perfect for a getaway as a couple. With only 19 rooms, the place never feels crowded, amazing staff and excellent food. The perfect balance of relaxation and adventure. Even though Tugu is a little pricier than the alternatives on the island, we would recommend this hotel over the rest - it really is worth the premium! We hope to return one day to our second home :-)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roshan F, Manager at Hotel Tugu Lombok, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Lewis Claudia,
Thank you so much for your great review which shows how happy you were at the resort. We are delighted the way you have explained all our facilities & the excursions.Specially in your own words "The perfect balance of relaxation & adventure" .This is what the Tugu can offer & always strive to deliver the best for our dear friends like you. We are happy that you have been a part of our family & giving us a chance to serve you. This is why our little Tugu is famous for, we want you make this place as your own home.
Please do not hesitate to contact us if you ever plan another visit to our hotel. We will be delighted to have you back & help you anytime. Thank you again for your nice sentiments written in your review & we are looking forward to welcome you back soon.
Best wishes
Roshan Fernando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    532
    66
    16
    8
    5
See reviews for
111
413
17
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We were truly fortunate to be part of the Tugu family for 5 short days as part of a holiday to Singapore and Lombok to celebrate our silver wedding anniversary. From the warmest of welcomes to the rousing and touching send-off we were treated like royalty.

We stayed in a Kampong Bungalow room and although this is most modest of the accommodations available it was lacking nothing. The room itself was huge and beautifully furnished and the bathroom the biggest we have ever experienced and very classy with copper bath and washbasin.

The main buildings and grounds have to be seen to be believed. Many have been reconstructed from elsewhere in Indonesia, while there are statues and antiques everywhere. We ate well from a varied menu with fresh fish a particular feature. We also took advantage of the “eat wherever you wish” policy and had dinner on the beach and in the Chinese Temple. Both were wonderful experiences.

Of course none of this would have counted for anything if it hadn’t been for the staff at Tugu. Everyone was cheerful, obliging and took a real interest in making sure we had a wonderfully relaxing time. It was good to get to know some of the waiters in particular and how proud they are to be working at Tugu. The hotel manager and his wife must take a lot of credit for building such a great team and taking a real interest in their education and development. That dedication certainly seems to work both ways!

In short, if you want an away-from-it-all break in wonderful surroundings with great service, Tugu Lombok must be on your list.

Room Tip: Don't discount the cheaper bungalow rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roshan F, Manager at Hotel Tugu Lombok, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Tugu friend,
Thank you so much for posting a lengthy review at the TripAdviser . We feel you have taken so much of your time to explain every detail from the arrival & until departure. I have already conveyed some of your comments to our staff & they were so happy & delighted the way you have expressed the little Tugu in details. Your header as "Tremendous Tugu"has inspired all of us. We are really honored to have served you with that special Tugu touch. This is what our staff likes, to give you that belonging feelings to our Tugu family. We want you make this place as your own home.
Thank you for mentioning all other facilities & services of the hotel. All of us we are proud of been a part of the Tugu family for the good reasons.
We may thank you once again for sharing your personal experience, we will be anxiously waiting for your next trip to Hotel Tugu Lombok. Please do not hesitate contact us for any assistance you may need, from this end.
Warm regards from entire Tugu family,
Roshan Fernando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

We have just come back from 5 nights at Hotel Tugu. We can't praise too highly the level of service we received. We stayed in one of the cheapest rooms but were very happy with our accommodation. The bathroom which was partly outdoors was fantastic. The food, albeit not cheap, was of a very high quality. It does take a while to get to the hotel ( abt 1.5 hrs ) but it's not expensive to get to. We arranged a pick up through the hotel and it cost about £28 each way. We liked the fact that we were not in a resort.
We did 2 trips - one a boat trip to the Gilli islands and the other a trip to a couple of waterfallls. Both were great.
Would thoroughly recommend the massages provided in a fabulous temple like building.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roshan F, Manager at Hotel Tugu Lombok, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Caroline,
What a pleasure to learn that you have enjoyed such a pleasant stay with us! We thank you for sharing your great feedback with the TripAdvisor. It’s a pleasure to know that you truly enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you rating our location & the beauty of our hotel high.
We are very much looking forward to having you back anytime as our dear guests anytime.
With all our good wishes,
Roshan Fernando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We spent 3 nights of our honeymoon at Tugu and we couldn't have asked for a better start!

We had an Aloon-Aloon Villa which was enormous and beautiful decorated with all the amenities you could ask for (large TV descretely hidden away, DVD player, dual air-conditioning and then little things like an umbrella, torch etc). The bed was large and very comfortable and although we didn't need it, there was mosquito repellent in various different forms provided. The bathroom was extraordinary! It was elegantly decorated and had an amazing brass bathtub (it really is worth waiting for it to fill up!).

The food was excellent with a good range of choice. The quality was superb with everything freshly made. We particularly loved our candle-lite dinner on the beach (but make sure you book in advance and put mosquito repellant on). While it is worth the price, the food is not cheap.

The service we received was world-class. Every single member of staff had a smile on their face, knew our names and couldn't do enough to help us from the General Manager Fernando who personally greeted us, to Hanny who was around every day to help arrange tours, dinners on the beach and anything we could have wanted to all of the waiters, groundsmen, security etc.

We had a slight hiccup with our airport pick-up so it's worth confirming your booking (but I think that may have been as much our fault as their's and all issues were very quickly rectified). We also took the Old City Tour which we felt was a little expensive for what it was but was still worth doing. We visited a number of temples, a touristy market for 'authentic' Lombok souvenirs and the main market in Mataram. Our visit to the Mataram market was one of the highlights not only of our time in Lombok but in Indonesia in general and we would thoroughly recommend everyone sees a bit of 'real' Lombok.

We didn't use the spa but the pool, beach and grounds were gorgeous. The pool was like a warm bath with beautiful views over the beach. The beach was pristine with a regular drinks service. They also have snorkeling gear and a kayak for guests to use free of charge. The grounds were extensive and well worth a walk around - we found some particularly friendly cows!

We particularly appreciated the little honeymoon touches we were treated to (but I won't give the surprises away) but I imagine the service you would get whether you were there on your honeymoon or for any other trip would be equally as special - they really do treat you like family.

Thank you to Fernando and your entire staff, we really do hope to one day come back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roshan F, Manager at Hotel Tugu Lombok, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Tugu friend,
Thank you for taking your time off to post such an inspiring comment about our resort & how you have expressed your impression of our little Tugu with such finer details of service and the “Tugu touch “. I was delighted to personally convey your appreciation to all our staff members, they have read your review and I would like to inform you that you have brought huge smiles on their faces.
We are always committed to serve you with that extra smile from the heart.We are so happy that you have rated our resort as " Perfect honeymoon location".
We want you to consider Tugu as your own home. We are proud of being a part of the Tugu family because of happy guests such as you. Our mission is simple, to provide you with that extra special care, beautiful experience while visiting in Indonesia.
May we thank you once again for sharing your personal experience, we will be anxiously waiting for your next trip to Hotel Tugu Lombok. Please do not hesitate contact us for any assistance you may need from this end.
We are all very much looking forward to having you back as our dear friends anytime!
Our best wishes,
Roshan Fernando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLV
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Tugu Lombok is a hidden pearl located on the white sand beach of Sire, on the northwest coast of Lombok. We traveled for our honeymoon, staying at the unique Villa Puri Dadap Merah; which is basically a private Temple.
We have never experienced such an hotel concept; private pool facing the beach, private roof top offering a breathtaking view on the mountains and sea. The decoration is sumptuous respecting the Indonesian style.
It was very hard to leave our villa; But The Spa next-door is also amazing including the bigger Jacuzzi ever seen and we highly recommend to go diving to Gili Island.

Regarding the food and beverage, every meal we took were fabulous, I think it was the tastiest breakfast I have ever had. We really appreciate the tea time, every day around the pool.

Finally, the staff was very friendly, professional and detail oriented. A very good team, from the butler to the front office passing by the waiters and the drivers.

Until the check-out, we have been surprised when the entire staff was standing there, saying us a warm goodbye with flowers and smiles!

Thank you Tugu Lombok, we look forward to visiting you again!

Room Tip: ask for the Temple
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roshan F, Manager at Hotel Tugu Lombok, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Mica,
Thank you for taking time off to write a lengthy review. I & my team were delighted & inspired by your wonderful comments & sentiments expressed in your review. All of us at Hotel Tugu Lombok will say “big thank you" from the bottom of our hearts.
You have mentioned & described about the rooms, food & the “Tugu touch “experience , most importantly of our staff, we will be grateful & truly delighted to have such wonderful comments.
I shall personally covey your appreciation to all our staff members in general.
We are always committed to create only positive memorable experience for all our guests.
We do hope that with all the experience you had with us will bring you back to your favorite place in the near future on your next visit to Lombok.
Mica, thank you once again for well written & the experience expressed in your recent visit to our resort.
With warmest and fondest thoughts of you,
Roshan Fernando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

This place is unique....almost too good to be true!!!! The attention to detail in creating this resort is stunning and the puri dadap pool villa is probably the best and most dramatic hotel room (3 storey temple) i have ever stayed in!!!! The secluded location makes you feel like you are all alone on your own little beach paradise. All the staff made us feel at home and we had breakfast/lunch/dinner all over the resort and no request was turned away. The food, spa and in house cooking class were all amazing. My wife and I are vegetarians so the head chef would create a menu for us everyday which made our stay even more special. The most romantic and relaxing way to finish our honeymoon in Bali & Lombok. I can't wait to go back!!!!

Mr & Mrs Joshi

Room Tip: It is definitely worth paying the extra to stay in the puri dadap villa as there is nothing else lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roshan F, Manager at Hotel Tugu Lombok, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear Bhavin,
Thank you so much for your great review which shows how happy you were at our resort. We are delighted the way you have explained all our facilities & services. This is what the Tugu staff can offer & always strive to deliver the best for our dear friends. We are happy that you have been a part of Tugu family & giving us a chance to serve you. This is why our little Tugu is famous for, we want you make this place as your own home.
Please do not hesitate to contact us if you ever plan another visit to our resort. We will be delighted to have you back & help you anytime.
Our best wishes,
Roshan Fernando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

The hotel is beautifully appointed. You feel immersed in the romance of Indonesian culture. The bungalows are lovely with indoor/outdoor bathrooms. You are surrounded by stunning gardens and peace and tranquility. The staff are friendly and helpful. And it was delightful to receive a hand-made flower arrangement every morning on our way to breakfast. The food is delicious. You can enjoy the temple, spa, luxurious pool or the beach. Highlights were breakfast at sunrise on the beach and snorkelling just off the island of Gili Meno. We came away refreshed and rejuvenated. What a memorable holiday.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roshan F, Manager at Hotel Tugu Lombok, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Hyacinthe,
Thank you very much for posting a great review on TripAdvisor under " Memorable Holiday" heading.
We all appreciate the lovely words you have mentioned about little Tugu, particularly about our impressive location, ambiance, Tugu touch experience, spa treatments, the garden areas.
We are so happy to have such great comments from our dear guests, which give us tremendous motivation & happiness in our hearts.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back again for your next visit in Lombok.
With warmest and fondest thoughts of you,
Roshan Fernando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tugu Lombok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tugu Lombok

Address: Sigar Pejalin, Tanjung, Sire Beach, Lombok 83352, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lombok
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lombok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Tugu Lombok 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the northwest coast of the island, the luxury art hotel sits on a private white-sand beach, within six hectares of mature coconut plantations facing the ocean and Mount Rinjani. It features beautiful artifacts and antiques inspired by ancient tales of Mahabharata, aimed to bring back the ancient romance of Lombok. In a blend between magical landscapes and unique artworks, legends and modern luxuries, Tugu Lombok captures the soul and romance that nobody had seen before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Splendia, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Tugu Lombok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boutique Hotel Tugu Lombok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tugu Lombok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.