We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful quiet getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tugu Lombok

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Tugu Lombok to your Saves list
Hotel Tugu Lombok
5.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Sigar Pejalin, Tanjung, Sire Beach, Lombok 83352, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 105 Hotels in Lombok
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful quiet getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I guess there's no word can described how well and excellent we were treated when me and my wife were there on vacation , beautifully quiet hotel with beautiful garden, and the beach look gorgeous with it's clean and surrounding white sands, the room is very spacious and well lay out and clean, excellent service from all of the staff and management, food is excellently good and most of all I'd like to say is, it is worth every single minutes spending our holidays in hotel tugu Lombok .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roshan F, Manager at Hotel Tugu Lombok, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Latiff,
Thank you very much for posting your review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to read your positive feedback and are grateful that you share your impressions! It’s a pleasure to know that you truly enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you again for your nice comments. We are all very much looking forward to having you back as our guests anytime!
With warmest and fondest thoughts of you
Roshan Fernando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    533
    66
    16
    8
    5
See reviews for
112
413
17
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eastham, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The Tugu Lombok is unique. The property is spectacular with a private sandy beach set amid coconut palms. The service is outstanding - very attentive, friendly and genuine. The absolutely unique aspect of the Tugu are the buildings and the grounds. There are masterpieces of Indonesian sculpture and architecture around the entire property and in each room. The property exudes an appreciation for the culture of the entire area that simply cannot be found in other hotels.

A tip that makes the Tugu experience special and is clearly not obvious because it is so unique - meals can be served at any place on the property - at the dining room overlooking an infinity pool, at the beach, or in any of the other buildings on the property where private dining can be enjoyed with attentive service amid priceless artifacts.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roshan F, Manager at Hotel Tugu Lombok, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Dennis,
We were pleased to learn that you had a wonderful experience at the resort also a big thanks and appreciation of your compliments on the facilities of the resort . We were happy to realize that it was a "perfect getaway" for you.
Dennis, we do hope that with all the experiences you had with us will bring you back to our resort in the near future on your next visit to Lombok.
We will be delighted to welcome you back & please do not hesitate to contact us for any assistance you may require at anytime.
With warmest and fondest thoughts of you,
Roshan Fernando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We knew the Tugu in Malang from our vacation last year and had high expectations, but what we experienced in Tugu Lombok took our breath away.
Arriving by boat from the Gilis at the long sandy private beach of Tugu hotel, we were received in a pavillon next to a lotus pond by Fernando, the manager, and his friendly and attentive staff who made us feel comfortable & at home. The architecture and decor of the place is very artistic, and apparently in every detail designed by the owner, who is a collector of indonesian art. The mix of true antiques and theme-park style 'Indiana Jones' temple architecture is not for the purist, but gives the place an esthetic and personality normally not found in hotels.
Rooms are huge, beautiful and made to satisfy every need guests may have. Each room is accessed by a private garden behind a wall - privacy is guaranteed. The rooms are so quiet, we never heard any other guests.
We dined on the candle-lit beach, we used the hotels' bicycles to explore the small Campung nearby, and two of the staff took us on their motorbike to the market town and invited us for a breakfast at their home. People were all so friendly, gentle and fun, I can't see the point of some comments here about the difference of "muslim Lombok" as opposed to "hindu Bali". When we left the manager and staff gathered to wish us farewell - we felt like leaving family...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roshan F, Manager at Hotel Tugu Lombok, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Lukas,
Thank you very much for your time to post your review on your recent stay at the Hotel Tugu Lombok on TripAdvisor.
The team and I were delighted to have you stay with us and experience the true “Tugu touch”. It’s the little details and your personal preferences that the employees know off and as such “surprise” you with throughout your stay.
Thank you for your compliments on antiques & the decor. This is what the Tugu hotels and restaurants stand for. It is our mission to convey the arts, history and romance of cultural Indonesian heritage to our guests.
We are pleased to learn that you had a wonderful experience with us & recognizing our efforts.
We look forward to welcome you again at anytime.
Best wishes,
Roshan Fernando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

When we booked this holiday in January, with the snow falling outside, we were looking somewhere warm, a new cultural experience and away from the madding crowds. Tugu looked a great option and the trip advisor comments were so positive, we booked a week for mid February.

Despite the very long journey, a mix up with the luggage at Lombok airport, my husband having flu on day 2, and a few days of rain, this was a truly wonderful holiday. The hotel is beautiful with its unique architecture and antiques, the grounds are immaculate and the staff couldn't have been more friendly and accommodating.

We split our stay between room 205 one of the Aloon Aloon villas which has the most enormous bed and the Bhagavat villa with its own pool and beach views. Both great in their own right. We enjoyed the Indonesia food especially the "chicken porridge" at breakfast.

As my husband was ill, we didn't get the chance to try many activities such as a trip to nearby Gilli islands for diving. Maybe giving us an excuse to go back.....?

As this is a Muslim country, the call to prayer is inescapable but the complimentary earplugs were excellent and enabled us to sleep through the 5am prayers and indeed we used them to great affect on the flight home.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roshan F, Manager at Hotel Tugu Lombok, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Janie and Karl,
Thank you so much for your great review which shows how happy you were at Hotel Tugu Lombok. We are delighted the way you have expressed all our facilities & services. This is what the little Tugu team can be proud of. We always strive hard to deliver the best possible services to our dear friends like you. I still remember how Karl enjoyed our young Coconut drink every morning!!
Janie & Karl , we are happy that you have been a part of Tugu family & giving us a chance to serve you. We want you make this place as your own home for the future.
Please do not hesitate to contact us if you ever plan another visit to our hotel. We will be delighted to have you back & help you anytime.
Thank you again for your nice comments .
We are looking forward to welcome you back soon.
Best wishes,
Roshan Fernando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed this place for 4 nights in Kampong villa and Bavagit Suit from Jan 29th to Feb 2nd for honeymoon.

In short, everything I expected came true, and in fact, the quality of service far exceeded my expectation.

Airport pick-up was very convenient and prompt. I appreciated the welcome cooler that had ice cold wet towel, water as well as assorted tropical fruits.

First night, we decided to stay in Kampong villa, which is less expensive, because we arrived in Lombok airport very late at night. As we arrived at the hotel, Henry, the manager of the hotel greeted us with a glass of cold lemongrass iced tea. He gave us warm greeting and explained how the resort works in detail. We were then guided to the guest room, short walk from the main lobby.

The first impression of the Kampong villa was "WOW" and we were very impresses by the details and beauty of the room, not to mention the room decoration and personalized greeting letter along with fruit basket. The room was more than spacious for two of us, bath tub and sink are made of pure copper, which looks very classy and unique. Over the bath tub rain shower was absolutely gorgeous. Daily service fills up the shampoo, conditioner, body soap and lotions. There also was a small backyard which we ended up not using at all, but one can sit there and relax sipping tea. There is a generous size of closet next to the bed along with a safe.

The second day we moved to a ocean front villa with about 10 feet by 20 ish feet private pool and a hut with matress and pillows. The interior was stunning with huge, I mean huge standing mirror and high sealing. The bathroom was half outdoor which I thought was great. The bath tub was in a complete open space surrounded by high walls that kept us private. Also there was a rainshower under the roof. The bathroom was connected to a pretty big backyard that has small pond with a lot of goldfish and water plants via a sliding door made of bamboo.
The bed is located right kn front of the door facing the ocean, which allows us enjoy the view right from the bed. Here were two ACs in the room because of its size and height of the sealing.

Food is awesome in the main restaurant next to the main pool area. We tried different item each and every time, and were never disappointed. Nasi Goreng was great, seafood was cooked to perfection, thanks to the chef who greeted me and my wife while i was having beach front candle lit dinner. By the way, there is no extra charge setting up a beautiful dinner on the beach, which I thought was great! 4 pm afternoon tea was provided every day, on the house! A choice of tea/coffee, assorted dessert and fruit based cold/warm soup were served and I loved all of them! Seriously! We have not tried the bar, but it looked beautiful and very exotic.

Private boat trip was fantastic, fish feeding was out of this world. Dont forget to bring some morning rolls if you decide to do it. It took about 40 minute to Senggigi and hotel car is very handy and reaonably priced.

Although almost every thing and every part of my honeymoon was perfect, there were a few things that I want point out to help improve further. The only thing was that I could not use any internet for the whole time. I planned to use internet access to find places to visit, but i could not because of that, although I ended up enjoying being disconnected at the end... Henry told me that the building was struk by a lightning, so I guess it was mother nature to blame.

Once in my life, my honeymoon was completed with beauty of Tugu, friendly service and smiles, and last but not least, the absolute tranquility in the paradise. I would definitely like to visit later, hopefully soon.

Room Tip: Ocean facing villa with pool is awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roshan F, Manager at Hotel Tugu Lombok, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Tugu friend,
Thank you so much for posting a lengthy review at the TripAdviser .
We feel you have taken so much of your time to explain every detail from arrival to the departure. I have already conveyed some of your comments to our staff, they were so happy & delighted the way you have expressed the little Tugu in your own words. Specially the words like “Heavenly Honeymoon” during your stay; we are truly honored to have served you with that special “Tugu touch”. We are more than happy to offer our services for all our guests with true feelings.
Thank you for mentioning all other facilities & services of the hotel. All of us we are proud of been a part of the Tugu family for those good reasons.
Our service mission is simple, to be elegant, different from others and serve from the heart.
We may thank you once again for sharing your personal experience; we will be anxiously waiting for your next trip to Hotel Tugu Lombok.
Please do not hesitate contact us for any assistance you may need, from this end.
Warm regards from entire Tugu family.
Roshan Fernando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Where do I start? Hotel Tugu, Lombok is: beautiful, peaceful, sophisticated, unique, casual, remote, refined. The location on Sire beach is perfect. The hotel property stretches from one end of the cove to the other so it feels like the entire beach is all yours. The beach is pristine. The hotel grounds are simple and sophisticated - well manicured but not overly landscaped (like you'd expect from a chain). The lobby and other structures are made of various reclaimed Indonesian architectural elements and antique buildings that were disassembled and rebuilt on the property. All public areas like the lobby, restaurant, grounds, etc. feature more Indonesian cultural artifacts in unique and well designed arrangements. It's all so beautiful and unique.
We stayed in one of the Bhagavat Gita suites which face the ocean and feature private plunge pools and an outdoor bathroom larger than my first apartment. I've posted photos to this review. My words can't aptly describe the ambiance of the suite - you just have to go and see it for yourself.
Above all else, the service is impeccable. Upon our arrival, we were greeted by not only the concierge, but also the hotel manager. We were escorted to our room by the concierge who, upon learning we were celebrating a wedding anniversary, offered to set up a candlelight dinner for two on the beach. We happily accepted his offer thinking we'd get just that. We didn't expect them to set up a very sweet little arrangement immediately past our room on the sand; we didn't expect them to light the pathway from our suite to the table with candles; we didn't expect the heart shaped curve of candles around the table. We didn't expect the personalized note on our table from the staff congratulating our milestone; we didn't expect the special dessert they created with our names on it written in chocolate; we certainly didn't expect the special turn down service happening in our room while we were eating. All of this was a very special surprise to us. We'll never forget it.
The hotel serves an impressive selection of dishes that integrate Indonesian/Asian flavors with international culinary trends. Beside the food, everything from the coffee selection (order the Toraja for breakfast) to the choice of liquor in the bar is top notch and of international quality.
As we waited for our taxi to the airport, the hotel manager met us in the lobby to personally thank us for our stay. The concierge appeared after that with a special little goodbye gift for us - a sweet little Sasak pottery candle holder. It was a sweet thoughtful gesture, I almost teared up.
This place is one of a kind. Hope you get to experience it one day.

Room Tip: We took a look at the standard rooms (aloon-aloon rooms) and they are just as amazing. Don't fee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roshan F, Manager at Hotel Tugu Lombok, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Tugu friends,
Thank you so much for posting a lengthy review at the TripAdviser . We feel you have taken so much of your time to explain every little detail from arrival to departure. I have already conveyed some of your comments to our staff & they were so happy & delighted the way you have expressed the little Tugu in details. Your own words “this place is one of a kind” made us to understand how wonderfully we have delighted you; we are really honored to have served you with that special Tugu touch. This is what our staff likes, to give you that belonging feelings to our Tugu family. We want you make this place as your own home.
Thank you for mentioning all other facilities & services of the hotel in details. All of us we are proud of been a part of the Tugu family for the good reasons. Our mission is simple, to be elegant, different from others and serve from the heart.
We may thank you once again for sharing your personal experience; we will be anxiously waiting for your next trip to our hotel. Please do not hesitate contact us for any assistance you may need, from this end anytime.
Warm regards from entire Tugu family,
Roshan Fernando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Hotel Tugu Lombok is more than just a beautiful resort with spa treatments, amazing food, fantastic pools, and a great beach all with plenty of things to do if you want to. I found it truthful. The staff at the hotel were to put it simple happy for us to be there, they were not fake and polished trying to schmooze us. It was so refreshing going to a nice hotel and finding people that worked there friendly and happy. I will be going back to the hotel with my partner again and will tell everyone I know they should stay there of traveling to Indonesia. Thank you Hotel Tugu you made my holiday the best one I have ever had.


Mr Dave. :)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roshan F, Manager at Hotel Tugu Lombok, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Chef Dave,
Thank you for taking time off to write a great review. We were delighted & inspired by your wonderful comments & sentiments expressed in your review. All of us at Tugu Lombok will say “big thank you" from the bottom of our hearts.
You have mentioned & described about Spa treatments, food , beach, pools , the “Tugu touch “experience , most importantly of our staff, we will be grateful & truly delighted to have such wonderful comments.
I am sure they will be inspired, will be so happy to serve you again any day.
We are always committed to create only positive memorable experience for all our guests.
We do hope that with all the experience you had with us will bring you back to your favorite place in the near future on your next visit to Lombok.
With warmest and fondest thoughts of you,
Roshan Fernando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tugu Lombok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tugu Lombok

Address: Sigar Pejalin, Tanjung, Sire Beach, Lombok 83352, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lombok
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lombok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Tugu Lombok 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the northwest coast of the island, the luxury art hotel sits on a private white-sand beach, within six hectares of mature coconut plantations facing the ocean and Mount Rinjani. It features beautiful artifacts and antiques inspired by ancient tales of Mahabharata, aimed to bring back the ancient romance of Lombok. In a blend between magical landscapes and unique artworks, legends and modern luxuries, Tugu Lombok captures the soul and romance that nobody had seen before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Splendia, Despegar.com, getaroom.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Tugu Lombok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boutique Hotel Tugu Lombok

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tugu Lombok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.