We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bintang Wisata

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bajawa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bintang Wisata
Save Saved
You added Bintang Wisata to your Saves list
JL Palapa 04 Ngedukelu,, Bajawa, Flores 06414, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bajawa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

As with the majority of accommodation in the towns of Flores, Bintang Wisata is sub-standard and overpriced compared with other accommodation throughout Indonesia. We had a 'VIP' room for 320,000Rp which, in my opinion, was extremely expensive for the standard of room. The staff were friendly enough, but there were around 10 people (staff and their friends I assume) hanging around the reception desk day and night smoking and being quite noisy. Our room (which was on the first floor above reception) smelt strongly of cigarette smoke throughout our one night stay due to the staff downstairs. The place wasn't particularly dirty, nor was it very clean, but the mattress and bedding had certainly seen better days.
Breakfast the next day was very basic (a tiny banana pancake and weak coffee) but the service was friendly.
Overall I would say stay there if you can't get anywhere better (if such places exist in Bajawa) but don't expect the cost of the room to be reflected in the comfort of your stay.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    4
    16
    21
    5
See reviews for
6
21
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

There are few options in Bajawa and this one might be the best, but opt for a room on the 1st floor. These have hot water and some have TVs, but are cleaner and 'sealed' (i.e. no gaping holes above/below doors and slatted open windows). The standard rooms are drafty, cold at night, noisy and full of mosquitoes. They were also damp with stained walls and not clean.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
469 reviews 469 reviews
165 hotel reviews
Reviews in 161 cities Reviews in 161 cities
330 helpful votes 330 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

This is basic accommodation, close to the market and mini-mart. We asked for rooms on the second floor and were given 2A and 3A which share a long balcony with room 1A. I think it might have been quieter on the second floor as drivers park their cars near the rooms on the first floor. I had room 3A which had a double and a single bed, a dresser and two chairs.

Breakfast was coffee/tea and two pancakes. We were given bananas once, but never offered eggs, as mentioned in other reviews.

This might be one of the better hotels in town. At any rate, ask for a room on the second floor.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

t he hotel is one of the best in this place; backpacker tourism is the thing on Flores.
Simple hotel, hot water in the shower. Not easy to use, because I had to sit on my knees (shower very low); simple breakfast, room was clean, bathroom not so clean.
No window in the room (VIP room!)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
529 reviews 529 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
1,032 helpful votes 1,032 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

We are told that this is the best hotel in Bajawa. If this statement is true, I feel sorry for those poor souls who stayed at these hotels.
Service was non-existent, the place is dirty and the room was musty and full of damp.
The only good thing about the hotel was watching it disapear from my rear view window as I was leaving. DONT stay unless you really have to!!!

Room Tip: Get the best room? Try another hotel!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

The location is great as we were trecking Inerie but, the room we got was just 4 walls and stank of cigarettes. The hot water was a great touch, when it was on and running but all in all a tad claustrophobic and only good for one night stay. We stayed 2 nights and it was to many....
The staff are lovely and the place is kept well cleaned.
The only and best place to stay in town.

Room Tip: ask for a balcony room.....we should have!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarragon, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

We had rooms on the second floor at the end of the corridor. The corridor was grand, but that was where the elegance ended. Our rooms were musty, and rather smelly. Small windows overlooking rooftops. The bathroom was on the nose. The drain from the sink goes onto the floor and then into the shower. The shower is a bit of a dribbler. Our kids didn't like the fleece blankets and inadequate pillows.
There are some better rooms I think. We were on a pre-booked tour so could not haggle over which rooms we took.
It is well positioned to the shopping district and down a quiet street, but that is its major asset. They have a restaurant, but not an extensive menu.
Bajawa is a town you will have to stay in when touring Flores and there is not a lot to choose from presently.

Room Tip: Check your room before you say yes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bintang Wisata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bintang Wisata

Address: JL Palapa 04 Ngedukelu,, Bajawa, Flores 06414, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > East Nusa Tenggara > Flores > Bajawa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bajawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
Bintang Wisata Bajawa, Flores, Indonesia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bintang Wisata, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.