We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Acceptable, but barely” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Flores Sare Hotel

Save Saved
You added Flores Sare Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Flores Sare Hotel
Moni | Moni - Kelimutu, Flores, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 20 hotels in Flores
Zagreb, Croatia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Acceptable, but barely”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed at the standard room (no hot water) during peak season in Aug for a night for 250rp and found it to be basic and so-so on the cleanliness side. Certainly overpriced compared to other accommodation in Indonesia, but not necessarily so compared to Moni.

Perhaps a lot of the bad press it gets is due to the fact its often the first stop in Flores (arrival in Maumere and straight to Moni), but Flores in general is quite overpriced and underquality in terms of accommodation. Compared to other places in Flores, its not that bad value, but don't expect more then a decent nights sleep and feeling happy to move onward.

On the plus side, the staff was very friendly and helpful.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    1
    7
    4
    13
See reviews for
5
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

I have travelled a lot in SE Asia and rarely feel compelled to write a review of a hotel. However, this place has to be one of, if not 'the', worst place I've ever stayed. We were a bit desperate as we arrived in Moni quite late and (as it was high season) all the better places were fully booked. What I found so terrible about this place was the rates it charged for the rooms. Our room was 250Rp and it was the most expensive *hole I've ever stayed in. The state of the building is just hideous - we had damp and dripping water off the ceiling and everything felt wet. The windows didn't shut. But it was the bathroom which was what was so disgusting. I avoided using the toilet as I didn't want to enter the place. It really was in its own league of filth. We only had water for the first 10 minutes after we arrived and it came on again as we were leaving so couldn't even wash our faces.
If you have to stay here (and I stress 'have to' as please don't choose to stay a this place) then I would advise negotiating on the price before you commit. I dread to think what you'd have got for the 500Rp (!) they are asking for the 'VIP' room. I mean, 'VIP', what a complete joke! We didn't pay full price due to the water situation, but even what we did pay what was well above what it was worth.
Having got through the night (and as our departure was imminent) I actually found the state of the dining room quite amusing, if not extremely depressing.
This place is basically a slum and should not be charging anywhere near the rates it does. Please plan ahead and book one of the much better options in Moni.

Stayed August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ende
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Flores Sare is a comfortable place to rest and make me feel like home. The service is good, it feels cozy, and the hotel is located on the roadside. Flores Sare is a great place to relieve stress due to the pile of work. With a reasonable fee I got the best service in this place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tartu, Estonia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

We ended up there because the booking was made to Eco Lodge by somebody else for us and their prices were unaccepted, and driver took us to Sare. Sare was more than twice cheaper - 350 000 per night in VIP rooms - but still overpriced. A bit filthy, smelly, no aircon or such.

Restaurant wasn't good at all. First time we were just too hungry, everything was OK, but in general, we didn't experience good taste. The restaurant looks and is a bit worn and dirty.

Manager Gabriel is very friendly, though, and helpful.

Funny enough, the hotel looks bit like a villa inside, but like a big farm building from distance:)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011 via mobile

Having not read any reviews on this hotel and our first choice was already fully booked we went with our guide and driver. The standard rooms looked terrible and dirty and the ground floor smelled strongly of damp. We were upgraded to a huge room with balcony upstairs and after haggling on price we started to check in. I questioned the manager about hot water and he turned on the water heater in the bathroom.
On smelling a strange odour I went to investigate. Seeing nothing obvious, I went to turn on the tap...I RECEIVED THE BIGGEST ELECTRIC SHOCK OF MY LIFE! I was physically shaking and we wondered if I required medical attention - the manager was very apologetic but that simply is not good enough.
Understandably, we checked in at Kelimutu Ecolodge and had a great two night stay!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa–Gatineau
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

room 101 nice rooms. spacious, clean and comfortable. with the water heater. very helpful because it's cold here and the water 24 hours.
everything is just the price of Rp 350,000. given coffee or tea and fried bananas for free for the welcome.
morning banana pancake breakfast including coffee or tea and fried eggs.
owners willy are very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Flores Sara is on the tourist/backpack trail Labuhan - Maumere. Thats why the accomodation is (very) overpriced ; 30 euro for a huge rundown room without hot water.
The restaurant is under average but hou have no choice. Ther is no good alternative in Moni while its is only a settlement (low) budget accomodations for Kelimutu visitors
The hoteltout is friendly and a little bit sneaky but can offers transport to Maumere or Ende-Labuan (Maumere private Kyang for two only (three hours ) =RP 800,000 = 70 euro.
When the transport can be shared the price is of course much lower pro person.
There is a typical travellers athmosphere in the hotel and we like it!
In high season book ahead by phone at least one day in advance!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Flores Sare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flores Sare Hotel

Address: Moni | Moni - Kelimutu, Flores, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > East Nusa Tenggara > Flores
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 hotels in Flores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rooms are now equipped with water heaters are also provided towels, soap, toilet paper & electricity 24 hours (if there is a temporary blackout of the state electricity company, we have set up generators), water for 24 hours (while it is still only for the VIP room only, but we are working on to another room so that water can continue to exist for 24 hours)guests will get a free coffee / tea & fried bananas or anything like that at the time of check in.breakfast will get coffee / tea, delicious banana pancakes & fried eggOur room prices:VIP : Rp 500,000Standard with water heaters : Rp 350,000Standard without water heaters : Rp 250,000But if you make a reservation for getting this information from tripadvisor we will give a big discount.just in case, if any of our employees that if not provide correct information to you, you can call me.RESTAURANTWe Also Provide buffet: Rp 35,000 or Rp 50,000example menu:Asparagus (soup)fried noodlesfried chicken sweet and sourcapcay (vegetables)crackersfruitsFrench fries>>> English fried fish sauce (complete Rp 50,000) We Also Have Car Rental Services:Below is the calculation based on the best car we have (Ford Everest, Toyota Innova, etc.)Rp 600,000 per day (minimum 5 days)under 5 days, your journey will be calculated based on distanceEnde - Maumere : Rp 600kEnde - Moni : Rp 450kMaumere - Moni : Rp 500kMoni - Riung : Rp 900kMoni - Bajawa : Rp 900kBajawa - Riung : Rp 600kEnde - Bajawa : Rp 600kEnde - Ruteng : Rp 1,2mEnde - Labuan Bajo: Rp 1.8mPrices have included fuel & driverfor more information, you can contact me. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Flores Sare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flores Sare Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.