We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Kelimutu Crater Lakes Eco Lodge, Moni, Flores

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kelimutu Crater Lakes Eco Lodge, Moni, Flores to your Saves list
Kelimutu Crater Lakes Eco Lodge, Moni, Flores
Main Rd, Moni | Kelimutu-Moni-Ende, Flores, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Flores
Tangerang, Indonesia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Expensive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Travelers should not expect much when travelling in Flores. There are only 2 decent hotels i.e. Kelimutu Crater Lakes Eco Lodge and Flores Sare.
We arrive at around 8 pm but there were not many staff who could help us (17 persons) to carry our luggage to our rooms which were on the second floor.
This hotel room rate was quite expensive compared to the service and food they provide for breakfast which were only pancake and toast plus eggs and fruits.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecolodgesindonesia, Owner at Kelimutu Crater Lakes Eco Lodge, Moni, Flores, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
We refer to your report. We certainly should have had persons to help you arrive at night and this will be reviewed with our managers. We understand that your group arrive in the dark and left the next morning having risen in the dark to get to the lakes at dawn. You came back to the lodge for breakfast and then left for Ende. You thus had only one meal at our lodge and had very little time to really experiene the beauty of your surroundings. We regret that the cost is for an quiet, exclusive, peaceful location which offer comfortable, good food and is solar powered and where we have invested many thousands of US$. We believe the price is very fair.

Alan Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    48
    26
    6
    3
See reviews for
19
54
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Our bungalow was very clean and the whole setting of the lodge is very nice. Breakfast was okay, but compared to what you get for dinner, a bit dissapointing.

Highly recommended is Rita's (chef of Eco Lodge Restaurant) version of Moni-Cake. Also all the other dishes we tried were very nice.

Eco Lodge is worth a stay if you like local food and a lot of nature.

Room Tip: We stayed at one of the bungalows, would highly recommend to choose one of those if you don't mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecolodgesindonesia, Owner at Kelimutu Crater Lakes Eco Lodge, Moni, Flores, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thank you for your comments about our lodge especially about our restaurant. This is especially appreciated as all our staff are local and proud of their cuisine.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Most visitors to this Ecolodge would be people wishing to visit Kelimutu. The rooms are clean and no complaints whatsoever, however, there is no free wifi and no wifi for that matter. If you need to be connected, I would suggest you get yourself a local SIM card and only Telkomsel provider will work there. I was on another provider and I had no internet, no phone for 2 days- and I had no way of knowing what was happening at home, or in the news... Definitely not something I would recommend if you need to be connected... So get a local SIM or subscribe with Telkomsel if you are on roaming.

And don't forget to tip 15% to all those who serve you. I was advised by a local friend that it's courtesy since things are generally cheap and people are poorly paid.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecolodgesindonesia, Owner at Kelimutu Crater Lakes Eco Lodge, Moni, Flores, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Ref your report, many of our guests come to Kelimutu because there is no internet. They relish the peace without it. Our manager is on line and guests are informed that messages can be sent in or out through his email at marianusbe@yahoo,com

Shortly, we will have a telephone line into the village of Moni and things will change.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchelton, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

The lodge is surrounded by beautiful and well kept gardens, lots of flowering shurbs that attract many birds. The restaurant opens out onto these gardens which makes for very pleasnt dining. I stayed in a room in the lodge above the restaurant which overlooked the gardens, the creek and rice paddies. The lodge rooms are relatively small for two people but are really quite sufficient for holiday short stay purposes; they were well appointed with ensuite hot shower and toilet; mosquito nets were provided although when I was there not needed;the small balcony was narrow but certainly wide enough to comfortably sit and enjoy the gardens...or for drying clothes on the airer provided. The room was clean and very welcoming with clean towels and frangipani flower arrangement; drinking water was provided; there was a fan but no air conditioning which was really not needed....this is really in keeping with lodge's philosophy of being an ecolodge. There is also villa accommodation provided. The Eco Lodge is a short walk to the village of Moni surrounded by rice paddies, a little further beyond the village a small waterfall and hot pool....suitable for sitting on the edge and paddling feet not bathing.
Ben, the manager, was very welcoming, very helpful and there was nothing that was too much trouble for him. He guided us to the Kelimutu Crater Lakes at a very early hour so that we could see the sunrise over the lakes. He is very knowledgeable about the area and takes great pride in showing off this beautiful part of Flores and again nothing was too much trouble. When we decided that we wanted to walk through the rice paddies he was happy to take us...and help us negotiate the narrow, slippery tracks.
Riitha, the restaurant manager, was friendly and helpful. The menu although limited in choice was sufficient for our needs. Ben and Riitha had also arranged for our group to go to the performance of the local dance group at night and to visit the local school during one morning.
In all our stay was very pleasant and one that stands out in our tour through Flores.
The management need to be applauded for offering an environmentally friendly atmosphere at the lodge.

Room Tip: Excellent for easy access to Kelimutu Crater Lakes...a highlight of Flores
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecolodgesindonesia, Owner at Kelimutu Crater Lakes Eco Lodge, Moni, Flores, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Many thanks for your appreciative and supportive review of all aspects of our lodge. We are putting five more chalets shortly with larger rooms as we agree with your comments re the size of our rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

The setting is beautiful and in theory this is a great place to stay a night or two, BUT:
There seems to be a serious problem with the sewerage system. The stink in the rooms (at least in the main building where we stayed is totally unacceptable. Who would like to spend his vacation on a waste water treatment plant? Opening the window to let fresh air in is unfortunately no sensible option because of the many mosquitoes. Management seems to be poor as the staff refused to give us a proper receipt for food and drinks. We got three little had written papers – one for our meals (with service charge and tax added), one for the beers and one for the meals for our guide and driver (both without service charge and taxes). To us this was an indication that the staff at the restaurant is making some good extra money by pocketing the payment for the (simple but costly) food for the guides and maybe even some of the beers. And that no official receipt was issued on our request is also not the right thing.
The food was delicious although not cheap at all. IDR 80,000++ for a main course plus 40,000++ for a small cup of vegetables as a side dish is clearly closer to Bali prices than to any other place on Flores. Asking the waitress why this micro portion of veggies was so expensive we got the (funny) answer that the vegetables are local!
All in all, a very mixed experience.

Room Tip: Not in the main building because of the sewerage smell in the rooms - maybe the other rooms are bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecolodgesindonesia, Owner at Kelimutu Crater Lakes Eco Lodge, Moni, Flores, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Ref your report, we will follow up your complaints re our sewage system when a senior member of our Board visits on Monday next. Also there should be no problem obtaining a receipt. Both these aspects are important to our management as we face full houses for the next 6 months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Like it's sister the Rimba Lodge Kalimantan, the prime reason to stay here is it's proximity to a major attraction in this case the wonderful Kelimutu crater area. The hotel setting is excellent with beautiful countryside surrounding the individual lodges that contain decent comfort including an under the stars roofless bathroom.

Unlike the Rimba, the food here is very acceptable and we even were able to wash it down with s decent local wine. A good place to stay if Kelimutu is your target.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecolodgesindonesia, Manager at Kelimutu Crater Lakes Eco Lodge, Moni, Flores, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for your comments re our Kelimutu Crater Lakes Eco Lodge. We obviously must improve our food at our Rimba Orangutan Eco Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We stayed here last week as part of a tour of Flores and Komodo. The rooms were clean, comfortable and In a beautiful garden setting. The bathrooms are great.The staff were very helpful and friendly and the food was wonderful. This is a fantastic place to stay- not too far to walk into Moni and far enough away so that you can see the brilliant night stars. Thank you Ben for your professional courtesy and friendliness..

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecolodgesindonesia, Owner at Kelimutu Crater Lakes Eco Lodge, Moni, Flores, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
We thank you for your report. We believe that The kelimutu Crater Lakes Eco Lodge is a special place also. We have purchased more land in the valley and are adding rooms also. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kelimutu Crater Lakes Eco Lodge, Moni, Flores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelimutu Crater Lakes Eco Lodge, Moni, Flores

Address: Main Rd, Moni | Kelimutu-Moni-Ende, Flores, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > East Nusa Tenggara > Flores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Flores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kelimutu Crater Lakes Eco Lodge was designed and built by the now internationally acclaimed eco designer Meryl Wilson. This is the fifth lodge of the company and follows our strict eco guidelines follwing our six pillars for local employment, growing our own food, use of renewables, sewage recycling, protect of the local environment and training program for key stakeholders. The lodge is a great stepping stone to see the mystical crater lakes, hike in the mountains, for birding, artists (see our Art Tour)and the start of our Trans Flores safari to see the Komodo Dragons based at our Bajo Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Kelimutu Crater Lakes Eco Lodge, Moni, Flores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kelimutu Crater Lakes Eco Lodge, Moni, Flores, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.