We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tour of Indonesia” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bintang Flores Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Bintang Flores Hotel to your Saves list
Bintang Flores Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Pantai Pede Labuan Bajo, Flores, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Flores
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Tour of Indonesia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Nice hotel with a great swimming hotel. Small beach but staff very helpful. Rooms very clean as well. The only complaint is you a bit cut off from the nearest town Labuan Bajo. However great for visiting nearby Komodo Island and Rinca Island.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    101
    44
    5
    5
See reviews for
40
78
15
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We spent 2 nights at Bintang Flores Hotel. Clean, spacious rooms, wonderful staff. While there is no nice beach around Labuan Bajo, the hotel is the only one in town which has a nice swimmingpool in front of the sea (people from other hotel pay 50,000Rp to enjoy swimming pool during the day). Do not think about enjoying the beach: unfortunately many waste from boats arrive on the beach which is dirty due to it. Ok breakfast. Only drawback is that you need a car to go in town: during the day you can take a bemo (20,000Rp) and the hotel propose taxi for 50,000Rp.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Compared to 4-5 star hotels, this is about a 2 star, but I am not sure there is any place much better. My guide told us that up until a few years ago there were only rustic accommodations.
The service is lacking. At breakfast you pour your own coffee. Breakfast buffet choice is very limited. Breakfast food was mediocre, but the chicken curry for dinner was awesome.
There is no pool service despite several attendants standing around. We went into the pool which is a nice temperature, & nicely situated in front of the beach; when we got out of the pool no one offered us towels. We were the only guests at the pool. Dripping wet we happened to see towels in the distance as we trudged to our suite. We chose a suite instead of a room because the rooms looked clausterphobic from the pictures. And it would be, because the suite was 2 rooms. One was a regular room, and the other was a living area (couch, dinning table, TV, counter/bar, sm.frig). There were essentially no bath amenities, and only one roll of toilet paper. Pillows were hard. Visually, the room and hotel surroundings were pleasing.

Room Tip: Get a suite. There are only two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpasar, Indonesia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I was travelling to Labuan Bajo and Komodo in March 2012, during the rainy and windy season. Stayed in Bintang Flores for one night and my memories associated with the noise from the balcony which was caused by a wind as steel grid was hitting the glass window. My room was located facing the sea and strong wind was blowing towards my window. All the rest was good - service, food. Recommended for travel during May-September at its best season.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaka City, Cyprus
Level Contributor
85 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Good hotel with friendly staff, and free airport shuttles. however about 30 mins walk from the main part of Labuan Bajo with no transportation. The beach is sandy at first but theres a lot of litter and pollution - the deeper you go into the sea, the ground turns into a muddy sludge!
Rooms are lovely and modern and clean, and outside pool is a lovely freeform type, surrounded by lovely vegetation. However its not a private beach like the hotel claims, and many locals just sit and stare at you by the pool. sundays seem to be free for locals to come and use and eat by the pool of the hotel without paying anything. So peace and quite and getting a sunbed on sunday afternoons is impossible. The staff said sunday afternoons locals can use the pool for free! this is good for locals and appalling for full paying guests of the hotel . food is quite good but limited and expensive by local standards.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

After two days on a local boat visiting Komodo we spent four nights here for some rest and relaxation. We certainly got the rest, with the hotel being almost empty we often had the pool to ourselves.
There is a good sized pool, right beside the beach making for a beautiful setting. The beach and ocean is unfortunately dirty with rubbish (platic bags) being brought in on the tide. It was almost heart breaking to see the polution in such an otherwise beautiful location.
Meals at the Hotel were ok. Although the service was very good, quick, effecient and friendly. On our second day the Hotel decided not to put on a buffet breakfast, possibly because of the lack of quests, and we were asked to order from a set breakfast menu. One of the few other guests we saw had a small child with them and the staff were fantastic at keeping the child entertained.
We visited two other hotels during our stay, The Jayakarta and La Prima and both also appeared empty so I dont think It was just the Bintang that was struggling to attract guests. The closest to town is La Prima with the Bintang being next, about 1.5km from town. The hotel wanted to charge us 50000 rupiah to take us to town however you can catch a ride with a local taxi (motorbike) for 5000 rupiah per person by just going to the road and waiting for a little while. Most of the local taxi's had a helmet for you.
The hotel fitness centre consists of three peices of exersise machinary so it would not be recommended if you go on holiday and want to spend time in the gym. While the hotel did provide an in room massage my wife preferred to take a short trip into town and use The Flores Spa for her pampering. Very reasonable prices. The Jayakarta has a Spa in the hotel and my wife also found them good although a little more expensive.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
176 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 412 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

In the middle of our extended holiday in Indonesia, we headed for Flores to see dragons. What we found was so much more.
Hotel wise, we chose the Bintang Flores for a couple of reasons. Firstly, it had a pool and with 3 kids, it was essential. Two others we looked at were either too expensive or too tired looking. The staff here were happy to negotiate a very reasonable price.
The rooms are typical of a hotel much like a Novotel so no ambience. But very clean and beds were extremely comfortable. No balconies which would've been nice.
All meals were good and the kids would order hot dogs or milkshakes knowing they'd taste like home. (Yeh disappointing to us, but highlight for them).
The pool area was fabulous. Large, Lots of interesting aspects to it, massage room, scuba operator on site and so on. Pool was very clean and we often went for a late night swim. It's not worth swimming in the sea which laps up close to the pool/lounge area.
We all found it ironic that right next door were slums, with people sleeping under tarps and corrugated iron. That didn't sit well with us at all but hey, welcome to the World!
It's a fair way out of town and requires a taxi ride but we'd often start walking and hitch a lift with a local in their ute or even better, a bus. 4000RPH into town for all of us!
We were there at Christmas and the place was jumping with people, mostly from Java. We were certainly the only westerners and appeared to be a bit of a novelty to everyone. But the staff and other patrons were always polite, accommodating and eager to help.
Wifi was available in the foyer but at 22000RPH for I think 1/2 hour, a bit steep. When you consider the whole area though, remote, simple necessities, you tend to get a grip on reality.
The hotel also stored our luggage for 3 days while we went off to Komodo at no cost and upon return we renegotiated a price again to stay 1 more night.
Didn't use the gym or spa - so no comment about those.
We organised our own boat out to Komodo and will write this up separately.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flores hotels
0.0 mi away
Luwansa Beach Hotel
Luwansa Beach Hotel
#3 of 12 in Labuan Bajo
4.0 of 5 stars 145 reviews
0.4 mi away
Laprima Hotel
Laprima Hotel
#4 of 12 in Labuan Bajo
3.5 of 5 stars 241 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Waecicu Eden Beach
Hotel Waecicu Eden Beach
#7 of 12 in Labuan Bajo
3.5 of 5 stars 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant
1.2 mi away
The Jayakarta Suites Komodo-Flores
167.6 mi away
Budi Sun Flores Diving Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bintang Flores Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bintang Flores Hotel

Address: Jl. Pantai Pede Labuan Bajo, Flores, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > East Nusa Tenggara > Flores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Flores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bintang Flores Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Bintang Flores Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bintang Hotel Flores

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bintang Flores Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.