We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil atmosphere for a romantic hideaway..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paradiso Village

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Padang
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Paradiso Village
Pulau Cubadak, Padang, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 26 hotels in Padang
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Tranquil atmosphere for a romantic hideaway..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Indeed, all reviews about this resort are positive. Let me just add one from the perspective of a person who lived for a year in Padang.
I could name few good places in this stunning panoramic view of Sumatra mainland, which are known for its natural beauty. Cubadak Paradiso always comes the first to mention when my colleagues ask where to spend their holiday in Sumatra. As the place is named, this paradise is located in a lagoon with pristine coastline surrounded by small islands, a perfect place for a retreat or holiday hideaway. In local language, Cubadak means jack-fruit, though I could not find any jack-fruit tree in the area :)
I have stayed at this paradise resort two times already. They offer 2 package options: day tip or overnight. This time we only came for a day visit. To reach this little island, the drive takes 2 hours from Padang International airport. Driving through Bungus beach with blue water of Bayur bay, light sky and spectacular view along the coast made our trip truly enjoyable. Once we arrived at Carocok bay, a small jetty has waited to take us to the idyllic resort. After 10 minutes ride, we are approaching the island viewing traditional cottages line up by the side of white sands.
Nanni & Federica, italian couple who run this place warmly greeted us on jetty pier and escorted to the reception for a welcome drink.
After a casual short brief about the service and activities available in the resort, the crew took us to our cottage, which looks more as a fisherman hut. Only 12 cottages available plus 1 suite located just above the water. It is Nanni’s policy to keep this resort private by limiting the guests up to maximum 35 persons. I heard from my good friend, Nanni has permit to run this place for 30 years. The resort itself offers various activities from diving, trekking, snorkeling and canoeing.

Federica escort us to a 2 storey of wooden cottage decorated very simple with few ample windows and mosquito net over the bed. vintage! The furniture is also traditional minimalist: beds, writing table and a fridge. Each cottage has own shower & toilet facility. There is no air-con, but a ceiling fan. Who need air-con when we have fresh air from the island? Don't expect some luxuries like in other resorts. The resort is developed and maintained with the green concept blend in the surrounding environment to preserve the mother earth.

I could not resist to immediately strolling on the white sands beach, enjoying the sound of the wave from crystal blue sea water next to the cottage. The uniqueness of this place lies on the service that the owner rendered, where every guess is greeted in person by the owner. The ring of bell chime from the staff calling the guests for lunch also sounds cool! Meal is served in the big table at a communal area set in bamboo-style restaurant. Meal time is also the chance to meet and greet other guest and share the stories or just chit chat about stuffs. The meal served in various dishes of Italian and Indonesian. This time we got prawns –very fresh by the way, chicken satay and stir-fry egg-plants, tomatoes and onion. The deserts come in fruit platters. So delicious!

After meal, they took us on short ride along the beach. Then we snorkel near the pier. Yes, they provide snorkeling equipment for free. Thereafter we relax on the lounge chair at veranda in front of the cottage enjoying the view around and waited for the jetty to take us back to Carocok. Though it was a short stay, this paradise was never lessen our expectation of an exclusive nature escapade.

Room Tip: cottage not too close from the communal area to reserve peaceful and absolute tranquility. Ask Nann...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    113
    17
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
33
72
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I've been to quite a lot of places in this part of the world, but there is no one like Paradiso Village. Nestled on a beautiful island, facing the mountains of Minangkabau, a peaceful bay with great corals and fish. Simple but comfortable bungalows with the sea at your doorstep, quiet with nothing than pristine nature around you. Dominique and Nanni are the best hosts, you feel at home and in family. Dine with friends, and you'll have many: in this unique atmosphere you'll meet all the guests and become friends. And forget about reading menues and asking about unknown dish: you get what Dominique and Nanni compose for you for lunch and dinner, and you'll never want to leave, as the food is what I imagine nectar and ambrosia must be - just heavenly. If you love good food, nature, the sea, diving and snorkeling, having a good drink and a chat with new friends or just hang out in a paradise-like environment, this is the place!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My boyfriend and I were lucky enough to stumble across this paradise island whilst desperately searching the internet for places to go and relax before a friend's wedding in Singapore in December. We'd left it until the last minute to book anywhere as we'd been so busy at work and figured it wouldn't be too hard to find somewhere decent but after reading quite a few less than positive reviews for a number of places near Singapore we began to panic that the little beach dream that had been getting the both of us through a tough time at work was slowly drifting further and further away. How very wrong we were in the end.

After coming across Paridiso Village on Tripadvisor and reading the great reviews we booked ourselves in and hoped for the best and we were not dissapointed, in fact we were delighted! We couldn't really have asked for a more beautiful and peaceful location and the superb service we received as well as the fantastic food (seriously, it's amazing - fresh fish, delicious meats and local treats with an Italian twist) really made the 4 days we spent there very much like our own little slice of paradise.

We were treated very much like part of the Paridiso family and Nanni, Marco and Dominique as well as the fantastic team of staff they have working there made us feel very much at home and well looked after. We were taken on snorkelling trips to some fantastic coral reefs which we wouldn't necessarily have found on our own and had a lovely beach picnic on a nearby island all included within the price.

I honestly can't fault the Paridiso Village, we're already planning a trip back there this year. The only thing I would say, and this is just a little piece of advice really, there are a few places you can go walking on the island including a lookout point across the island but flip flops to walk in will not suffice, shoes are a must and a good strong mosquito spray.

Hope this review proves useful to anyone who's debating whether to take the plunge in to paradise, I promise you won't regret it.

Izzy & Rico

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK Midlands
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I can only echo your other reviewers - great spot, absolutely stunning food, and the Franco/Italian influence is unbeatable. The only slight gripe that I have is that the owners and staff appear to be in training for the Indonesian Smoking Olympics! The public rooms reek of tobacco 24/7. On one occasion, only two out of about 25 guests were smokers, but as there was no wind, the wonderful food was spoiled by the constant smell of tobacco. I appreciate that this will not worry everyone, and it certainly wouldn't stop us going back, but it would make an enormous difference to a lot of people's pleasure if, say, smoking were to be discouraged for the duration of the meal service. Do go there, it is an oasis of civilisation in an otherwise pretty wild country.

Room Tip: Any of the beachfront bungalows are excellent - probably those furthest from the jetty are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

My wife and I celebrated our 10 year Anniversary. We searched all over the internet for a remote, inclusive, beautiful budget location. We live in Singapore and wanted the travel time to be short but also nice. Only an hour away from Singapore by plane and a two hour car ride from Padang, gets you to Paradiso Village!

We just fell in love with this place. GREAT food! Great service and staff! Great water activities!

Next time we might even bring the kids!

Room Tip: Loved the room over water! Definitely worth the extra cost, you get your own dock which has great s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Me and my wife (fiance at the time) are ocean freaks and we found Cubadak Paradiso Village (CPV) to be a gem that we would like to hide from everyone else (even though we can't help ourselves raving about it non stop).

The island is beautiful with current-free, wave friendly turquoise blue water surrounding it. This essentially became our swimming pool and we spent most of our time in the sundeck - swimming, drinking, and relaxing.

The villa was "elegantly eco". Built with the finest material and passion for fine things in life - imagine wildlife meets four season resort. The bathroom was stylishly nature friendly. AC is not needed due to the cool breeze at night.

CPV's cuisine was also a joy to behold. We were amazed how a remote island such as this was able to serve amazing dish after dish. Being Franco-Italian ran, they served some of the best desserts we have had to date (we are seasoned travelers and food enthusiasts) - my wife swore by their chocolate cake.

If you are looking for Hawaii-style resort with spas, pools, and night life, stay away from CPV.

If you are enlightened enough to enjoy a Robinson Crusoe style of getaway, this is your best bet! Relatively easy to reach despite it's picture perfect-secluded location, and friendly on your wallet.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Along with 8 Australian friends travelled for 18 days through Nth & West Sumatra. Finished our wonderful trip with 4 nights in perfect relaxation at this beautiful island eco resort. Dominuque, Marco and staff were perfect hosts. Plenty of things to do if you wanted, food and cocktails amazing. Bungalows very clean and comfortable. Transfers to and from airport fantastic help along with being able to pay final account with credit card. Look forward to returning again - perfect place to get over a hectic trip to Europe. Great value for money.

Room Tip: Suite overwater is beautiful, if you can well worth additional cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Paradiso Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradiso Village

Address: Pulau Cubadak, Padang, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sumatra > West Sumatra > Padang
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 hotels in Padang
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Cubadak Paradiso Village, a cosy resort ambushed between jungle and lagoon clear waters. Our philosophy : quietness and relaxation above all with a special attention brought to the quality of our cuisine, and to the personal services extended to our guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Paradiso Village Padang
Paradiso Village Hotel Padang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradiso Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Paradiso Village to your Saves list