We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location and view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Air Manis Hill Residence

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Padang
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Air Manis Hill Residence
Save
You added Air Manis Hill Residence to your Saves list
151, Jalan Air Manis | Padang Selatan, Padang 25215, Indonesia (Formerly Puncak Air Manis Residence)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Padang
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic location and view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Stayed here on tour of Sumatra. Great spot very friends hosts who went out of their way to help us in all matters. Best views in Sumatra, very clean very nice place, would always stay here when in Padang,

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
9
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Villa Air Manis is a very special place to stay. For those looking for a place to retreat and forget about the day to day life, this is the right option to stay in Padang. The view from this hilltop villa is simply stunning. The pictures posted here do not do enough justice to the actual view. My room, the West Bedroom within the Villa compound, was gracefully decorated, with a very comfortable bed and ensuite bathroom. For those looking for interesting places from an architectural point of view - you are in the right place: the nautilus-shaped structure of the Villa will not disapoint you; it gives priority to open spaces and its minimalism is very elegant and welcoming at the same time. But the plus is given by the hospitality of the VAM team: Bp Jup, the manager - who picked me up from the airport with a smile, and Ibu Iis, the wonderful local cook, who prepared a wonderful breakfast featuring her spectacular home-made bread and marmelades. Do try her local food for dinner: her Beef Rendang and chicken curry were delicious and same her pan-fried fish on my last night. I wish I had stayed longer, but four nights were perfect. All of this good experience of mine was possible in the first place thanks to Rick's prompt reply to all my questions and his suggestions. If you stay, don't miss the island-hoping day trip Jup is very aware of. My neighbours at the East Bedroom managed to go to Bukittingi on the last day and had a blast there. I stayed at "home" in the Villa instead and was one of the most memorable Sundays in a long time, enjoying the rainwater pool and a stunning sunset. To sum up: can't wait to go back soon and use the rock chair with the great view again!

Room Tip: The West Bedroom is amazing, very comfortable and the view is beautiful, totally open sea. The only...
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights in March 2013. Jup picked us up at the airport and also took us on a sightseeing tour the next day, up and down a few hills to get the everchanging views of a seemingly endless array of small islands popping up everywhere. The owner Jane was there at the same time we were and we enjoyed talking to her about adventures in travelling and the local culture. Jane has quite the setup there with the beautiful house, the guesthouse down the path where we stayed and her jewelry and textile operations. The house was clean and tidy and the views were breathtaking. Jup arranged for us to go out to Pulau Pisang, 'Banana Island' which you can see from the hillside. We walked around the island and only encountered a few other people. I am certainly not a beach person because any nice beach is typically full of people. This was not the case here - you have the place to yourself and there are many small islands to choose from. At low tide you can walk almost all the way around the perimeter of this one, and we had fun doing so, looking for birds, snakes, fish, etc. along the way.

We dined at the house, with the full time chef Bu making the local specialty which seems to be like a kind of mild curry. It could have been quite a bit spicier for us, but most people probably wouldn't like it that way. The quality was consistantly good and full of flavor despite the lack of heat.

We took a morning walk with Jane down to the Chinese market and that was well worth it. All of the local fruits, veggies and meats were on display and we even got to see a local vendor skinning frogs at a very rapid pace. Another was opening turtles with a large knife. Don't get to see that at Safeway.

Villa Air Manis is quite popular with the local high-end set and apparently there have been a few very famous and infamous guests. Being the only place of its kind around there, I can see why. Spectacular.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airmanis, Owner at Air Manis Hill Residence, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
It was a great pleasure to meet you and share stories about Indonesia .... especially about building and managing a home in Bali compared to Sumatra. We have asked Bu Iis to tame her love of chilli to suit the majority of guests but she will be ready for your return with some blistering dishes... the way she cooks for her own family every day! Cheers Jane and the team at VAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This place is simply magical. A gorgeous, glass-walled, nautilus-shaped, six-level architectural masterpiece, perched in a stunning mountaintop location with the most beautiful view you can imagine. Far below are the sleepy green outskirts of Padang city; many bays, islands, and beaches; steep hills jutting up everywhere; and the broad sweep of the Indian Ocean. At dusk, the soft chanting wafts up from the mosque way down in the valley. At night, the sparkling lights of a thousand fishing boats fade dimmer and dimmer into the distance, until they disappear over the curve of the earth. Truly magical. Add all that to the amenities, hospitality, privacy, and comfort, and this extraordinary villa offers a priceless and unique experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Breathtaking views. Beautiful Villa. Delicious meals prepared by Ibu (Resident Chef). Privacy and serenity on a hilltop. Warm hospitality (Manager-Jup)). Very patient and accomodating hosts (Rick and Jane). Highly recommended for family or visitors who want to be away from the concrete jungle. I wished we stayed more than the 3 nights we were there!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airmanis, Owner at Air Manis Hill Residence, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thanks for the thumbs up for our team. VAM is very much a team effort and we could not make it happen without Bp Jup, his wife Mel and Bu Iis working hard to look after our guests. There is a lot to see in West Sumatra and we missed meeting you this time....Hope we are at home for your next visit..... and we have not forgotten to send the packets of Mandailing Estate coffee to you in Singapore!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I spent 2 weeks in the beautiful Villa Air Manis and I had the opportunity to live the jungle vibe of Sumatra with all the confort and privacy of a villa. I stayed in the bungalow where I woke up watching monkeys on the trees and I enjoyed the sundeck next to the swimming pool. The view is breaththaking.
Suggestion: you must try the "ibu" food, the chef is an amazing Minang woman and she will cook traditional Padang food with the best ingredients and not too spicy!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

An awesome spot to relax, swim, eat great food, and stare at the 180 degree view of the ocean. We stayed in the bungalow at the bottom of the garden, and it was perfect for a small group or family. It's not a 5 star hotel, but has more personal service and atmosphere. Our kids instantly loved the place, with the great pool and Ibu Is's awesome food.
The place is a bit out of town, so having your own transport helps or the owner can also arrange transport. Unbelievable islands with white sand and crystal clear water to be explored, about 30 minutes drive to the south. The home cooked dinners were excellent, and breakfast served on the edge of the cliff looking out over the ocean was worth the wait each morning. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airmanis, Owner at Air Manis Hill Residence, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
We missed you this time but hope to meet when you come to visit again. Since your visit we have made a few changes. The bathroom has better natural light and we have changed the bed arrangement to sleep one couple and three others so it works better for children now.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Air Manis Hill Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Air Manis Hill Residence

Address: 151, Jalan Air Manis | Padang Selatan, Padang 25215, Indonesia (Formerly Puncak Air Manis Residence)
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Sumatra > West Sumatra > Padang
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Padang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive retreat set in the garden on a mountain top overlooking the Indian Ocean. Awake to the sounds of monkeys and bird song. Walk in the immaculate gardens where exotic orchids and rare plants surround the private rainwater swimming pool. Visit our on-site silk textile studio and meet local artisans. The bungalow features a large living room, private bedroom with en-suite bathroom, private verandah, dining room with kitchenette and day beds for up to 5 persons. The main residence has two private bedrooms, each with en-suite bathrooms, a huge lounge and dining area and large kitchen. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Air Manis Hill Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.