We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This restaurant is a "Must Try" in Medan.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ondo, Medan

Ondo, Medan
Pabrik Tenun, Medan, North Sumatra, Medan, Indonesia
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 216 Restaurants in Medan
Cuisines: Indonesian
Restaurant details
Medan, Indonesia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“This restaurant is a "Must Try" in Medan.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

This restaurant offer you one of the best Traditional Batak Cuisine in Medan. The restaurant has a very nice setting. The owner is a couple, the wife is indonesian and the husband is a Korean.

The "Saksang" is the signature of the dishes in this restaurant. The barbeque Pork and the fried pork meat is one of the best in town.

One complaint was the portion is wayyy to small. Because it is so delicious. price is in the middle range. But overall it is a must try!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    8
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Batam, Indonesia
1 review
“Great cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Their ribs steak is extraordinary! Juicy yet tender. Really indulge my tounge. Until this day I can still imagine that delicious ribs steak and kept wanting to go back there. And they give us fruit platers for free and also a gum to refresh our breath. The place is also cozy, i adore their garden and nice ambience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Crispy and tasty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Love the pork! Crispy and tasty. The price is not the cheapest though. Desserts are served free of charge. All in all, recommended.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“best batak food without upsetting your stomach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

it is very rare to find batak food that is hygienic in Medan, let alone with a great atmosphere. i had heard that it is very famous among the locals in medan.i visited the restaurant with my family, and though some sauces is too spicy for my taste, the fried pork is really good. i recommend this restaurant for those who would like to taste authentic batak food without upsetting your stomach or your appetite. don't skip the ginger tea served for dessert.
ps: opt for outdoor seating

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ondo, Medan also viewed

Medan, North Sumatra
 
Medan, North Sumatra
Medan, North Sumatra
 

Been to Ondo, Medan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ondo, Medan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.