We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bihun Bebek Kumango

Bihun Bebek Kumango
Jl. Kumango no. 15, Medan, Indonesia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 224 Restaurants in Medan
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese
Restaurant details
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

I really like the duck noodles served at this place. The portions are large, and the food is delicious. Will definitely be back for more on my next trip to Medan.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    11
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Duck Bee Hoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

One-of-a-kind rice vermicelli dish, topped with pieces of duck meat. Add a dash of fried garlic. Washed down with local Medan coffee. What more could a man want?

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“The most delicious duck vermicelli in Medan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I was first introduced to this bihun bebek eatery by a client who was nice enough to pick up a group of us at 7.30am for breakfast in the morning. The shop name was not very apparent when we drove down the lane of Jl. Kumango. Instead the shop next to the eatery had a more prominent signboard (in chinese characters of some local chinese newspaper). The eatery is an old-school no-frills shop with the food being prepared at the store front and tables/seats inside the eatery.

On a recent visit back to Medan, I decided to skip the hotel breakfast and arranged a super early trip to this eatery again to enjoy the bihun bebek.

I love the food here as this is absolutely the best vermicelli I've ever had in my life. The serving size is very generous (considering it's the most overpriced local breakfast in town - IDR 50,000 per bowl). The al-dente vermicelli goes really well with the vegetable, duck slices and fried garlic.

I hope to return here for the bihun if I ever travel to Medan again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medan, Sumatera Utara, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“delicious duck glass noodle at Medan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

The glass noodle was very delicious.. They served it al dente which means not to soft and not too hard and they mixed it with a homemade sauce which was very yummy.. On the top of it, they add a bunches of vegetables, duck meat which was very tasty and a little fried garlic(you can request more, its free). They served it with a special homemade chili sauce, chili pickle and the duck meat soup which was very pure duck broth.. It was indescribable.. So delicious

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great local food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Was told by my friend/host that it's the most well known duck vermicelli place in Medan. The portion is a bit too big for me, but for the price that the place is charging (almost Rp. 50,000 for a bowl), it justifies the size of the meal. The place did get very crowded around 8:30 AM when all the locals came for breakfast. Highly recommend this place to anyone who is adventurous to try Medan local food.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bihun Bebek Kumango also viewed

Medan, North Sumatra
 
Medan, North Sumatra
Medan, North Sumatra
 

Been to Bihun Bebek Kumango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bihun Bebek Kumango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.