We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for sleep in the city centre of Medan” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Swiss-Belinn Medan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Swiss-Belinn Medan to your Saves list
Swiss-Belinn Medan
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Surabaya no.88, Medan 20212, Indonesia (Formerly My Dream Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 59 Hotels in Medan
Jakarta
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good hotel for sleep in the city centre of Medan”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The hotel location is superb... It had access to Jalan Selatpanjang, one of the culinary heaven in Medan and less than 100 metres from Jalan Semarang, the night culinary centre in Medan. This is the main advantage of the hotel. In ground level, you can find 24 hour Alfamart, next to it is Indomaret, and across the street there is BCA. However, since no windows, the air circulation is very minimal, and you are unlucky if you got smoking room. Maintanance is standard, and there is substantial decrease of clean and neat compared to 3 years ago.

Room Tip: Ask the Deluxe Room, at least you get room with windows, though its view is lobby....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swiss-Belinn, General Manager at Swiss-Belinn Medan, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Warmest Greetings from Swiss-Belinn Medan!

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback on this website. This is greatly valued and much appreciated.

It is always a pleasure to read such a kind comments and I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent visit. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed many details of the excellent hotel location.
We are gradually doing improvement to our room and consistently controlling it expecially for the cleanliness.
We endeavor to ensure that all our guests’ experiences are as comfortable and memorable as possible, and we are very pleased that you experienced this from our team.

Thank you very much for choosing once again Swiss-Belinn Medan, we do look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Best regards,
General Manager of Swiss-Belinn Medan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    114
    113
    12
    8
See reviews for
48
61
26
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for 2nights on a transit to my Lake Toba trip. Hotel is right in the centre of a busy street in the middle of the city.Everywhwere outside was choatic but inside was calm and quiet owing to the soundproof. The decor and setting of hotel are all in orange made it dark.The walls of the bathroom are dark n looks dinghy. There was an unpleasant smell that comes from the toilet. Overall a nice n pleasant hotel to stay for a night or two. Lobby staff provide good service.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swiss-Belinn, General Manager at Swiss-Belinn Medan, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest Greetings From Swiss-Belinn Medan.

We would like to thanks for staying with us. Your feedback is greatly valued and appreciated.
Regarding about our hotel design, we realized that our hotel has unique design. It is designed with domination of dark color. And we are gradually doing improvement for it. We are pleased that you happy with our staff service and you enjoyed your recent stay.

It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and we all looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards,
General Manager of Swiss-Belinn Medan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for 1 night. First time I arrived in this hotel, I impressed with their concept which is open air with glass ceiling at the top of building and wayang at the receptionists background.
But during check in and any activity at the lobby, it starts to feel hot because there is no air conditioner. Also at the lift and hallway, it feels kinda hot. Need to consider to use fan / any exhaust fan to take the heat out.
I stay in superior deluxe. The room itself is big and good. The pillow is very comfortable. I like it.
The breakfast is standard. It's edible. The variety also not so much. Too bad there's no local food in the breakfast menu at that time.
The surroundings at the hotel is ok. You can easily find minimarket, local street vendor, and atm.
Comparing with the price, this hotel is reasonable to stay.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We were looking for a hotel to cover us for a few hours before our flight and arrived to enquire about a room.

The sales staff initially claimed there wasnt a room available and offered us a room 3 grades up which we were not willing to pay for until we wanted to leave.then he claimed he just found one one grade above the cheapest and we took that.

Except for this sour note and the bathroom's visible water stains, the room was great!

There were reviews saying the black bathrooms were creepy but it was totally ok for me with good lighting.

Had a good night's rest so im happy.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

The hotel is little over 1 hour from KNO airport by car.The breakfast is very good with continental and Indonesian food. The room is good. The bathroom with black gives a dull and prison like feelings.The staff is good and friendly.
The hotel is centrally located. The Chinese food street is open from rear exit of the Hotel.

Room Tip: Take uppar floor to saty away from street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuusula, Finland
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Medan was our last stop after traveling in Sumatra. We were tired after weeks of traveling and only wanted nice and comfortable room to stay one day. Clean out the dust of jungle and have a rest. That is exactly what we got. Nice and clean room, with good beds to sleep. I was very pleased. Staff was very friendly and helpful. I didn't really like the location of the hotel, as I didn't feel safe when we got out in the evening for having dinner. Should have stay in and enjoy dinner in hotel restaurant as the prices were pretty much the same than on the street. Breakfast was plentiful. And I really liked those big puppets on the wall behind the front desk.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We arrive late at the hotel after a tired travelling from parapat/lake toba. The registration was smooth n easy. Room is clean and look new. We order food from our room and it was a good dinner with a reasonable price. The bad site is just the toilet. No bath tab and the floor was slippery. Anyway we have a good and comfortable sleep.

Room Tip: Choose non smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Swiss-Belinn Medan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss-Belinn Medan

Address: Jalan Surabaya no.88, Medan 20212, Indonesia (Formerly My Dream Hotel)
Location: Indonesia > Sumatra > North Sumatra > Medan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 59 Hotels in Medan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Swiss-Belinn Medan 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swiss-Belinn Medan is the newest, modern 3-star hotel in Medan, North Sumatra. Strategically located on Jalan Surabaya in the heart of the city, the hotel offers convenient access to various entertainment and dining options. The hotel is surrounded by the Central Business District and is within walking distance of many shopping areas, making it the ideal option for both business and leisure traveller who are looking for affordable yet convenient accommodation in Medan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Swiss-Belinn Medan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swiss-Belinn Medan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.