We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb as usual” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan to your Saves list
Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan S. Parman 217, Medan 20152, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Non-Refundable Promo
Ranked #5 of 56 Hotels in Medan
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Superb as usual”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Love this place. We stayed from the 10th to 16th of April. Walking into luxuriously appointed foyer from the hot, crowded and dusty streets of Medan you are met with the friendly faces of the hotel staff plus very welcome airconditioning. We stayed in a superior deluxe room with an extra bed overlooking the great pool. All the amenities you would expect from a 5 star at this place. Breakfast was good with a wide variety of local and western dishes. Would recommend to travellers to have a meal at the top of the hotel(level 27) in the Edge restaurant with superb views across the Medan metropolis. There is a mall attached to the hotel which is a real bonus with a couple of really good food options either side of the A&W chicken place(avoid!!!!). Also a well stocked supermarket on the lowest floor with cheap beer!!!!!. For parents with young kids there is a fun centre on the top floor of the mall where the kids can play on slides, blowup castles etc. You can sit and watch them play enjoying a cup of coffee at the cafe attached to it. As with last time the people that really made our stay enjoyable were the staff who unfailingly were friendly and helpful. A special mention must go to the delightful Juntina who entertained our daughter in the lobby bar. Great place and if you need to go to Medan do yourself a favour and book in here

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor with city views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSBM, General Manager at Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest Greetings from Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan!

We would like to thank you for choosing Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan as your accommodation choice during your recent stay in Medan and for taking the time to post your comment on TripAdvisor.

We are very pleased to read that you have had enjoyable stay with us. It is gratifying to read that you particularly value our hotel, room, facilities, foods, services and found the location to be convenient for your needs. It is encouraging to hear your feedback as our guest's satisfaction is our top concern.

Your kind words have been passed on to our team and particularly Ms. Juntina who made your stay a memorable one. This will certainly motivate her and the rest of the team to keep up the good work.

It is always our priority to ensure our guests an unforgettable experience. Looking forward to welcoming you in the near future in our hotel!

Best Regards,
The Management of Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    149
    37
    20
    8
See reviews for
64
38
28
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We booked 2 rooms online & had payment settled by credit card. Arrived late evening, but long Q for checked in. Waited for almost an hour for checked in.
Every room only provided bath set for 1 pax . Room overall comfortable & clean

We went 27th floor for a chilling at night time. We had outdoor for 6 pax. When we settled our seats & ready for order, the manager told us it's compulsory to order food in order to chill at there. Shouldn't they tell us earlier before we enter & ready for ordering? We complained to manager Willis & she still need to reconfirm with restautant & said it is new rules of the hotel. Her attitude & Service is unfriendly.

Room sound isolating is really bad as side neighbour was making noise late midnight 130AM, we able to heard clearly. I called & complained but they cannot solved the problem wisely. As I called twice & request the manger to call back after solve. The manager told me, if they still make noise, she will change a room for us. What is the purpose changing our to other room in the late midnight while neighbours is the one making noise.
Breakfast buffet was so so only.

Overall, 5 * hotel , get 3 * hotel service.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSBM, General Manager at Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest Greetings from Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan!

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback.

We apologize sincerely for failing to meet your expectations during your recent stay with us; we recognize that we came short to fulfill your needs and that we have disappointed you on that occasion.

On the subject of your waiting for too long to check in, indeed it took a longer time that it is our usual procedure because between 6.00 pm and 8.00 pm is our peak check in time; however that is not an excuse for you to wait for so long and we profusely apologize for this.

On the incident on the 27th floor, it is indeed our hotel practice to give priority for guests to sit on the outside section of our restaurant when they wish to dine and enjoy the best views in Medan; again clearly we have failed to communicate this properly to you and for this we would like to offer our sincerest apologies to you.

On the feedback about the neighbour guest being noisy late at night we did our best to reduce the noise but it took a while for this to happen so again on this instance we failed to meet your expectations.

Overall we regret very much the fact that you and your friends were inconvenienced during your stay and we assure you that this is not a reflection on our usual high standards; in our hotel we strive daily to exceed guest expectations as it is part of our service culture and customer care philosophy.

We sincerely hope that you will give us one more chance during your next visit to Medan as we would be privileged to have you as our guest again in our hotel!

Yours faithfully,
The Management of Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jakarta
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Nice,big and luxurious room hotel with nice staff and good location. The room are very nice. Big bathroom with bathtub. Good and strategic location. Nice breakfast option. Nice view from the high floor room

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSBM, General Manager at Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Ms. Enjelita,

Warmest Greetings from Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan!

We would like to thank you for choosing Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan as your accommodation choice during your recent stay in Medan and for taking the time to post your comment on TripAdvisor.

We are very pleased to read that you have had enjoyable stay with us. It is gratifying to read that you particularly value our hotel, room, facilities, foods, services and found the location to be convenient for your needs. It is encouraging to hear your feedback as our guest's satisfaction is our top concern.

We thank you very much for your patronage and look forward to having you back with us at our hotel!

Best regards,

The Management of Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Arrived late at this city center hotel. The location was good but basically didn't have time to take advantage of it as was living very early the next day to go to Lake Toba. The room was large and the beds comfortable but everything in it was quite shabby and dirty. The room directory was old and all rinkled and the bathroom was also not very appealing. But for just sleeping it was fine.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSBM, General Manager at Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Ms. Nathalie R,

Warmest Greetings from Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan!
We were very sorry to learn about the problems you encountered during your stay with us. Please accept our sincerest apologies about our shortcomings and our failure to meet your expectations.

Rest assured, that here at Grand Swiss-bel Hotel Medan we strive every day to meet and indeed exceed all guest’s expectations as this is a big part of our culture.
We would also like to let you know, that we have already initiated a comprehensive daily preventive maintenance program that encompasses all aspects of bedrooms and hotel public areas.

Thank you again for providing us with your feedback and we will be glad to welcome you at our hotel!

Yours Faithfully
The Management of Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

This hotel is really the worst 5* i stayed in Indonesia. Very unfriendly and rude staff at reception.
The rooms are ok, but you can flooding in the bathroom while having a shower. This hotel definetly does not deserve a 5 *

Room Tip: Just avoid this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSBM, General Manager at Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Mr. Jeffyzh,

Warmest Greetings from Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan!

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback.

We apologize profusely for failing to meet your expectations during your recent stay with us; we recognize that we came short to fulfill your needs and that we have disappointed you on that occasion.

On the subject of our front desk staff being uncharacteristically not friendly we again apologize sincerely assuring you that we have conducted a thorough customer care service training to improve our hospitality standards; we also like to inform you that there was a drainage issue in your shower thus creating the over flowing of water which has been since fixed.

Having set all that we would like to commit you that upon your next stay in Medan and hopefully to our hotel, our services and products will exceed your expectations.
As a gesture of goodwill we would like to offer you a complimentary 2 (two) nights stay in our hotel during your next visit to Medan.

Yours Faithfully
The Management of Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medan, Indonesia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We had a great time at the Grand Swiss Belhotel. The rooms were very clean, the beds were super comfortable, and the service was friendly and helpful. The mall attached is a great advantage to other hotels. The pool was our favorite. It was a great temperature and felt truly peaceful. The breakfast had so much food! If you are an American like us, they had our favorites, if you are Asian, they had lots to choose from. We didn't have any complaints! Great for kids too! We had four with us.

Room Tip: Our kids had a room overlooking the city. Our room overlooked the pool. Both were great depending on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSBM, General Manager at Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest Greetings from Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan!

We would like to thank you for choosing Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan as your accommodation choice during your recent stay in Medan and for taking the time to post your comment on TripAdvisor.

We are very pleased to read that you have an enjoyable stay with us. It is gratifying to read that you particularly value our hotel, room, facilities, foods, services and found the location to be convenient for your needs. It is encouraging to hear your feedback as our guest's satisfaction is our primary concern.

We thank you very much for your patronage and look forward to having you back with us at our hotel!

Best regards,

The Management of Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I stayed at the non-smoking deluxe room. I was surprised that the room was spacious and immaculately clean. Interesting L-shaped layout with a short corridor. The bathroom had a separate bath and shower area. Stayed at the 17th floor. Great view of Medan during the day and night with their floor to ceiling windows.The free LAN and wifi in the room was working at a decent speed. The cable channels were more than sufficient to keep you occupied should you choose to stay in the room. The beds were extremely comfortable. I was impressed with the room cleaning staff who folded my tees neatly. Good spread of international and local dishes at breakfast. Just remember not to smoke in a non-smoking room. If you do, that will attract a hefty penalty. One setback is that the walls are thin. You can hear your neighbours if they are loud. Just keep it low. The hotel is co-located with Cambridge Mall where abundant food options exist. A 5-10 minutes walk will bring you to Sun Plaza which is larger and has plenty of dining and shopping options including SOGO. There is also a Cineplex there. Have stayed at the Swiss-Bel chain of hotels before. They never disappoint.

Room Tip: High floor gives you picture perfect views. Deluxe shall do just fine with a good comfy king sized b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSBM, General Manager at Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest Greetings from Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan!

We would like to thank you for choosing Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan as your accommodation choice during your recent stay in Medan and for taking the time to post your comment on TripAdvisor.

We are very pleased to read that you had an excellent stay with us and that you particularly value our hotel. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our service as it is what we strive for everyday.

We appreciate your concern on the noise from other guest room, As the hotel is built on a limited amount of land, sounds can be louder during certain times.
However, kindly rest assured that it is our commitment to keep on improving the standard and quality of service and facilities for our valued guests thus we are drawing plants to improve the current system regarding the noise.

Thank you very much for your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you and your family again at our hotel!

Best Regards,
The Management of Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan

Address: Jalan S. Parman 217, Medan 20152, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Sumatra > North Sumatra > Medan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Medan
#3 Luxury Hotel in Medan
#3 Business Hotel in Medan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan is the first multi-facility complex of our kind to grace Medan, the capital city of North Sumatra. As the first 5 star international business hotel here, we are conveniently located right next to the Cambridge Condominiums and Shopping Mall.We offer 242 rooms and suites that feature a sleek and modern design, and are outfitted with a marvelous range of amenities to make sure that your stay with us in Medan is the most comfortable it can possibly be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan Hotel Medan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.