We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not a 5 star” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan to your Saves list
Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan S. Parman 217, Medan 20152, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Non-Refundable Promo
Ranked #5 of 56 Hotels in Medan
Darwin, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“not a 5 star”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Also one of the worst hotels i have stayed in.
The shower looked like it has not had a clean in months.
The staff forgot to bring our baggage to our room,
The staff are taking 2 weeks to return deposit money,
The carpet, windows and curtains were dirty and stained.

Unhappy we did not choose the grand aston or JW marriott.
Definitely not worthy of it's 5 star rating, Hopefully they improve their service before they go bankrupt.

However the breakfast was good even though it was not an international standard.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSBM, General Manager at Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest Greetings from Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan!

Thank you for choosing Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan as your preferred accommodation during your visit to Medan and taking the time to convey your comments and unfortunately your complaint about your room facilities.

We appreciate your concern, interest and the time taken to bring these matters to our attention. We have noted your attentions on the room cleanliness and hotel accommodation.
Kindly rest assured that appropriate action has been conducted to avoid such incident in the future.

We hope this experience will not alter your confidence in Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan and that you will give us the opportunity of welcoming you again.

We thank you for your continued support and hope we will have the pleasure of serving you and your family again soon.

Best Regards,
Management of Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    149
    37
    20
    8
See reviews for
64
38
28
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

This was one of the worst hotels I have stayed at in South East Asia. The carpet in my room was so filthy I didn't take my shoes off, the walls were so thin that I could hear the room next door going to the toilet and could hear them speaking. To top it all off there was a mouse running around at breakfast- yuck!! I will be going back to the JW Mariott next time for sure!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSBM, General Manager at Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest Greetings from Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan!

It has been our great pleasure to welcome you at Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan and thank you for sharing your feelings about your stay with us.

Regarding the room and area cleanliness, we have instructed our Executive Housekeeper and Pest Control team to rectify the problem immediately. Rest assured that we will emphasize on cleanliness issue for the comfort of our future guests.

We understand your disappointment and we apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay, but we believe you will understand that this does not reflect the usual level of comfort of Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan.

We truly hope you will give us a chance to show you our quality of service and regain your confidence.

Best Regards,
Management of Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed here for one night recently and have nothing to complain about. Both the check in and check out were straightforward. Our deluxe non smoking room was of a good size, the bathroom was modern with a bath and separate shower unit, the bed was very very comfortable and it was quiet (we did not hear anything from the neighbouring rooms). The TV had a good selection of channels. Everything was clean and tidy, as to be expected from this class of hotel.

The buffet breakfast was also pleasant. There was a good selection of food (hot and cold, nice bread and Danish pastries, fresh fruit, juices etc.) and great coffee straight from the machine (you have to ask for it).

The restaurant at to top of the hotel looked very good, with excellent views, but we did not eat there. Maybe another time.

We needed to print out our boarding passes for our flights and the hotel's business centre was very accommodating in this regard. Overall we found the staff friendly and helpful.

The hotel is above a shopping mall which has plenty of places to eat and a good sized supermarket in the basement.

Polonia airport was a short 10 to 15 minute taxi ride away and cost about 30,000 (3 USD). There is a Bluebird taxi rank over the road from the hotel main entrance and the doormen will call one over for you. (Tip: do not get to the airport earlier than you need to if you can help it as it is a grim place with nothing much to do. The duty free shop was shuttered up when we were there and the remaining shops sold mostly overpriced tourist tat. We had to pay a departure tax of 75,000 IDR each, so make sure you have some cash on you!)

Room Tip: We requested a non smoking room to be on the safe side, as smoking is commonplace in Indonesia. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSBM, General Manager at Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest Greetings from Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan!

We would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit to Medan and for sharing your appreciation with us.

We are very pleased to read that you appreciated the room and facilities that we offered and enjoyed your visit in our hotel. Your comments on our service and staff are most gratifying and will be shared with the whole team. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for everyday.

We cannot thank you enough for your kind support and hope we will have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Best Regards,
Management of Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

i informed the staff at the hotel about the warmer temperaturen of the fridge and the response i received was that the fridge was meant to be like that. oh well. i have nothing moremto say about that. the towels were smelly. on the bright side, it is conveniently located next to a smaller mall which has many places to eat.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSBM, General Manager at Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Warmest Greetings from Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan.

It has been our great pleasure to welcome you at Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan. We appreciate your concern, interest and the time taken to bring these matters to our attention.
Your remark has been carefully noted. About your towels, please rest assured that appropriate action has been taken to ensure this mistakes does not happen again.

We hope you will give us the opportunity of welcoming you again at Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan. In the meantime, we remain at your disposal should you require any further assistance.

Thank you.

Best regards,
Management of Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Really a great hotel in every senses and couldn't wish much more. Value for money is great and the room is one of the biggest I've ever seen. Excellent service, breakfast and location, so it didn't leave much to complain about. One of the best hotels I have stayed and if I ever go to Medan again it will be my choice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSBM, General Manager at Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest Greetings from Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan!

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to give your comment on Trip Advisor during your recent stay at Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan.
We are very pleased to read that you appreciated the room and facilities that we offered and enjoyed your visit in our hotel.
It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and we all look forward to welcoming you again at Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan during your next visit to Medan.

Best Regards,
Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berastagi, Indonesia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

My family and I often go to stay in this hotel because it is located at the heart of Medan. Moreover the hotel provides so many facilities to enjoy such as spa and sauna which we really love. The room it self is very cozy and nice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSBM, General Manager at Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest Greetings from Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan!
It has been our great pleasure to welcome you at Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan and thank you for sharing your feelings about your stay with us.

We are very pleased to read that you had an excellent stay with us. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and particularly value facilities and our Spa at 7th Floor. It is encouraging as our guest's satisfaction is our primary concern.

We cannot thank you enough for your kind support and hope we will have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Best Regards,
Management of Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

One of the Swiss Belhotel I ever stayed in every cities, this Swiss Belhotel is the lux-est. When I went there about 2011, It was very new hotel. The concept of the room are rarely artistic.

The best ever hotel I ever stayed !!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSBM, General Manager at Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Valued guest,

Warmest Greetings from Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan!

We would like to thank you for choosing Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan as your accommodation choice during your stay in Medan and for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.

Thank you for your kind appreciation to us.
It has been a great pleasure for us to be at your service during your stay with us.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you again during your next visit to Medan.

Best Regards,
Management of Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan

Address: Jalan S. Parman 217, Medan 20152, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Sumatra > North Sumatra > Medan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Medan
#3 Business Hotel in Medan
#3 Luxury Hotel in Medan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan is the first multi-facility complex of our kind to grace Medan, the capital city of North Sumatra. As the first 5 star international business hotel here, we are conveniently located right next to the Cambridge Condominiums and Shopping Mall.We offer 242 rooms and suites that feature a sleek and modern design, and are outfitted with a marvelous range of amenities to make sure that your stay with us in Medan is the most comfortable it can possibly be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan Hotel Medan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Swiss-Belhotel Medan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.