We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than a hotel-a stay with friends” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Hotel Medan

Save Saved
You added JW Marriott Hotel Medan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Medan
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Putri Hijau No. 10, Medan 20111, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #1 of 55 hotels in Medan
Frankfurt, Hessen, Germany
1 review
“More than a hotel-a stay with friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

This was an ordinary good experience. The hotel crew provide excellent service and hospitality. Putra and his crew in the restaurant, and all the others make the stay very speciall. You know: hotel ist hotel in a certain way-to make something speciciall you need a friendly spirit. Here you will find it!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management T, JW Marriott Medan at JW Marriott Hotel Medan, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are delighted to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us.

Thank you for having chosen to stay at JW Marriott Medan.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.

Best regards,
The Management of JW Marriott Medan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    177
    122
    31
    9
    1
See reviews for
46
51
29
131
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

start chack in on 9th November until 12th November ,I and my family stay at executive rooms ,breakfast only for one .Lounge only can intaittle for one rooms not clean still have hair at the floor no butller service.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management T, JW Marriott Medan at JW Marriott Hotel Medan, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are glad to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us.

Thank you for having chosen to stay at JW Marriott Medan.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.

Best regards,

The Management of JW Marriott Medan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Location is great. Service is excellent. Comfortable bedroom n very clean.
This was the 2nd x i stayed in this hotel for work purpose and i enjoyed them as much as the first one. Especially love the soft bed with many pillows and white clean linen. However the breakfast is not as amazing as i hope

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Raja Kamar

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management T, JW Marriott Medan at JW Marriott Hotel Medan, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are delighted to learn that you had enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for having chosen to stay again at JW Marriott Medan.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.

Thank you
Best regards,

The Management of JW Marriott Medan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta,Indonesia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Lovely room, super comfy pillows and mattress. The business club floor a bit of a letdown. Quite basic and didn't even look like it belonged to the same hotel. Huge selection for breakfast. I ordered a steak from room service and it was delicious. Would definitely recommend this hotel. Not much wrong with it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management T, JW Marriott Medan at JW Marriott Hotel Medan, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are delighted to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us and enjoyed our new Marriott Revive bedding.

In addition to that we would like to appreciate your constructive feedback regarding the business club floor, we have taken a note for improvement.

Thank you for having chosen to stay at JW Marriott Medan.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel sometimes in the future.

Best regards,
The Management of JW Marriott Medan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

This is my 3rd time visiting Medan for business trip and this has also been one of the most excellent business trips. Thanks to JW Marriott who've made this happen!
Location: Perfect. It is in the city centre and has easy access everywhere. Except to the new Kuala Namu airport (of course!). The infrastructure to and from this airport is still a challenge for the government.
Meeting Facility: No complaint at all. All meeting equipments were working very well, including sound system (which is manytimes a problem in other hotels). Lunch and coffee breaks were also great. Support from the hotel staffs was also satisfactory.
Rooms: Wow, it is big. Very well design. Very comfortable! I slept well.
Restaurants: I tried the restaurant for breakfast and dinner. This can be improved. With the price of the dinner (IDR 288.000 per pax), the variety of the food could be better. With almost the same price, I could have a better dinner if it is in Jakarta. However taste is reasonably good.
Check In/Check Out: Very well managed. Quick process. I check out at 3.30 in the morning, and no degradation on services compared to chek in process in afternoon.
Service: One of the best! I had to catch a flight to Pekanbaru city very early morning and had to leave the hotel at 4am and they provided me with a cup coffee for free while waiting for taxi! Well, you can not expect a better service than this! :)
Conclusion: Will surely return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management T, JW Marriott Medan at JW Marriott Hotel Medan, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are delighted to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us.

Thank you for having chosen to stay at JW Marriott Medan.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel sometimes in the future.

Best regards,
The Management of JW Marriott Medan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I am very glad to experience a wonderful stay in JW Marriot Hotel in Medan and the staff are great and so friendly.
Room is clean and well layout
However, wifi connection is not up to standard.
Otherwise, good job.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management T, JW Marriott Medan at JW Marriott Hotel Medan, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are delighted to learn that you had a wonderful stay with us.

We apologize for any convenience you had on the wifi connection.

Thank you for having chosen to stay at JW Marriott Medan.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel sometimes in the future.

Best regards,
The Management of JW Marriott Medan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indonesia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

According the room and service, well JW marriot hotel is really have a great standard. So I can't complain anything about that.

But I gave 2 thumbs up, according laundry service - I gave 3 pieces my clothes and I get return the neat and clean clothes plus Rp 260.000,- Base of the staff explanation - they found the money in my pocket's short. Even I did not remember I put some money to my shorts.

The breakfast is okay, various option and delicious too.

But my concern is about WIFI - they should give Free WIFI in the room, instead only free in public. Especially nowadays free WIFI is a must for "bad" signal in our room.. I did not get a good signal for my 3 providers telcom.. thats terrible, I need to go to lobby for sending mails.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management T, JW Marriott Medan at JW Marriott Hotel Medan, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We had delighted to learn that you had enjoyed your stay with us.

We would like to address your concern regarding our WiFi connection that is actually available for free for all of our Marriott Rewards members, of which registration is also free. You can go to our Marriott Rewards site to register or contact our Front Desk Agent during check-in (term & condition apply). Free access to WiFi connection is also available in our Public Areas including our restaurants and lobby lounge.

Thank you for having chosen to stay at JW Marriott Medan.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel sometimes in the future.


Best regards,

The Management of JW Marriott Medan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Medan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Medan

Address: Jalan Putri Hijau No. 10, Medan 20111, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Sumatra > North Sumatra > Medan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 55 hotels in Medan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Medan 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new JW Marriott Medan is the first 5 star Marriott and International hotel in Medan, Indonesia. Each of our 287 new guest rooms boast breathtaking views, contemporary furnishings, luxurious bedding, 37" to 42" flat-panel TV and connectivity to plug and play iPods and other personal devices. Relax with a dip in the outdoor swimming pool. Stay fit with a great workout on our new state of the art fitness equipments in our health club, open daily 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Medan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Hotel Medan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.