We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Hotel Medan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Hotel Medan to your Saves list
JW Marriott Hotel Medan
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Putri Hijau No. 10, Medan 20111, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sweet Suites
Ranked #1 of 56 Hotels in Medan
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Excellent value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed on an executive floor (floor 28) and had a very spacious, well equipped 5 star room.Bed and pillows extremely comfortable. The service we experienced from the 2 young men working in the executive lounge was exceptional. Staff on the main reception desk were also very friendly and helpful especially Rommel who went out of his way to make our stay even more enjoyable. We would recommend the hotel to others wanting a 5 star experience and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Executive rooms well worth paying extra for
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management T, Management at JW Marriott Hotel Medan, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear "Alvonknome"
Thank you for sharing your kind word in regards to your recent stay experience at JW Marriott Medan. I believe you had a safe journey home following your departure. We hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to JW Marriott Medan. It feels wonderful to hear that you were enjoying your recent stay in most aspect. Please feel free to contact us should you wish to arrange your return visit to Medan and stay with us again, so we can show our true hospitality experience again in your upcoming visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    148
    37
    11
    2
See reviews for
59
63
30
172
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I stayed there during a business trip - great service, the room is nice (simple interior with standard 5star facilities), bathroom is amazing but still simple, no noise (at least not in the room I was in), good food, fast internet..

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management T, Management at JW Marriott Hotel Medan, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear "Prawita B"
Thank you for choosing to stay at JW Marriott Medan and your overall positive feedback about your stay. It feels wonderful to see that you had enjoyed very much your visit and your stay at JW Marriott Medan. Your kind words are a tool for us to motivate our associates to do more and more to our guests. By providing excellent service, we have made our guest life style feel differently. We certainly hope that we have the pleasure to welcome you back to Medan and stay again at JW Marriott Medan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This was our first time staying at the hotel while in Medan. We travelled with our large extended family. In terms of facilities, the hotel has everything, just like a good 5-star hotel should. However, we were very disappointed with the level of service rendered. We have stayed in many Marriotts wordwide and this was by far, the worst Marriott service we have ever experienced. Many of the staff we encountered seemed clueless or overwhelmed by the job that they had to do. We had this feeling that whatever it was that we asked for, it was a stretch for the staff to provide it. One example was a particular front desk staff who did nothing to aid a more junior staff when we had to extend our stay and added additional rooms, even though she was standing a few steps away from the junior staff. As a result, more frustration and time wasted on our part from having to explain everything again. The staff at the executive lounge was no better. When we asked her for extra bottles of water, she looked hassled and told us to dial "0" and ask room service. We experienced more unpleasant encounters that are just too many to mention. It was these little annoyances that made an otherwise beautiful hotel less pleasant. We have stayed in a 4-star hotel in Medan on our prior visits and were very happy with the service. We paid a whole lot more for our Marriott rooms but yet received lesser service. Very very disappointed.

Room Tip: Higher level rooms have unparalled views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management T, Management at JW Marriott Hotel Medan, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear "Trisun",
Thank you for sharing your feedback in regards to your recent stay experience at JW Marriott Medan. I believe you had a safe journey home following your departure. We hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to JW Marriott Medan so you can see an area of improvement in these issues. Please feel free to contact us should you have any wish pertaining your upcoming visit so we can serve you better in the area that you have been highlighted to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

The hotel provides all the amenities of Marriott anywhere in the world at an amazingly low rates. It is the best place to stay in Medan. The rooms are big. The room service was excellent and so was the food. Nothing to complain about!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management T, Management at JW Marriott Hotel Medan, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking your time posting your review in and for providing with such wonderful feedback on your recent stay at JW Marriott Medan. Our team will be certainly being recognized in addition, your positive feedback shared accordingly. It feels great to hear that you had an outstanding and pleasant stay, and we will hopefully have the honor to welcome you back very soon. Once again, thank you very much for sharing your positive feedback, and the very best wishes from JW Marriott Medan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takaka, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Medan is that unique city with the cheapest 5-star hotels in Asia, maybe in the world. This is the place where you can get a 5 star experience for less than 100 US$ per night - for 2 people including breakfast buffet!

In this broad range of 5star hotels, J.W.Marriott Medan is maybe the best, but also the most expensive.

I will not talk about room size or service, because everything is flawless (and I am a regular here).

Room prices are still reasonable (and still you can get discounts!), but expect restaurant, bar, spa, and café to be the most expensive in Medan.

This said, Marriott Medan is the place to stay when you want to have the real 5+ star experience in Sumatra.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management T, Management at JW Marriott Hotel Medan, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Guest,
It feels great to hear that you had splendid staying experience at JW Marriott Medan on your recent visit. It is great choice of you to choose JW Marriott Medan where you can explore our hotel facilities and seeing Medan skyline. We are all very happy to see that whenever you plan your trip to Medan, we are all keen to extend a very warm welcome for you. Please feel free to contact us should you have any wish pertaining your future bookings, we will be pleased to attend your request and deliver it to you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I stayed in highest floor of this hotel, that is 29th floor, room number 2901, very spacious, and have very wide view as this type of executive room has 2 sides full view glass windows. Very good room. From bathroom we can see the city also, either from bath-ub and from shower room, of course they have curtain if we want to close it. Very satisfied with the room.

BUT no wifi in room, difficult if we use ipad or other tablets, they have internet connection but has to be with cable, even with Executive room level. So need additional device after i requested so that Wifi can be active and used.

I tried their Prime Steak restaurant, hmm the service and taste were outstanding. Steak was very good, also the scallop and goose liver. Service was very good, BUT i experienced in their Lobby Lounge Cafe, a very bad service level by the staff there, lazy to take orders eventhough the cafe still at operating hours (looks like she was rush for shift) saying kitchen got problem, and so hundred reasons saying will take 1 hour to serve a portion of simple food nasi goreng for my friend, and so telling a lie saying duty manager was in break 11.45 pm can not be contacted, these all something of which then the management has conveyed to me an apology letter, which i valued as something very professional. All good things were gone with such bad service, but quite promising, as they realised it.

Room Tip: Choose higher level/floor rooms, Medan does not have many tower, so it would be good to enjoy the vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management T, Management at JW Marriott Hotel Medan, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking your time posting your review in and for providing with such wonderful feedback on your recent stay at JW Marriott Medan. Our team will be certainly being recognized in addition, your positive feedback shared accordingly. It feels great to hear that you had an outstanding and pleasant stay, and we will hopefully have the honor to welcome you back very soon. Once again, thank you very much for sharing your positive feedback, and the very best wishes from JW Marriott Medan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

This towering structure is rather a mismatch in Medan's landscape. Medan is more of a laid back town and right in the heart you come across this huge tower overlooking the tsunami ridden ocean. In spite of being a up-market address the room tariff and the room comfort is real value for money. Huge rooms, fantastic view , beautiful gym & good service will entice you to re-visit the place.
However the taxi service is not up to the mark, i do not remember if hotel has a taxi service of its own, but the local taxi service is a big question mark.

Room Tip: Move skywards and get a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management T, Management at JW Marriott Hotel Medan, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking your time posting your review in and for providing with such wonderful feedback on your recent stay at JW Marriott Medan. Our team will be certainly being recognized in addition, your positive feedback shared accordingly. It feels great to hear that you had an outstanding and pleasant stay, and we will hopefully have the honor to welcome you back very soon. Once again, thank you very much for sharing your positive feedback, and the very best wishes from JW Marriott Medan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Medan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Medan

Address: Jalan Putri Hijau No. 10, Medan 20111, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sumatra > North Sumatra > Medan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 56 Hotels in Medan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Medan 5*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new JW Marriott Medan is the first 5 star Marriott and International hotel in Medan, Indonesia. Each of our 287 new guest rooms boast breathtaking views, contemporary furnishings, luxurious bedding, 37" to 42" flat-panel TV and connectivity to plug and play iPods and other personal devices. Relax with a dip in the outdoor swimming pool. Stay fit with a great workout on our new state of the art fitness equipments in our health club, open daily 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Marriott, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Medan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Hotel Medan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.