We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy and Clean Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Garuda Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Garuda Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Garuda Plaza Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Sisingamangaraja 18, Medan 20213, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 60 Hotels in Medan
Malaysia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Comfy and Clean Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Stayed a comfortable night in this hotel after a long journey from Lake Toba. Room is clean and bed is comfortable. Strategic location where you can find 24 hours convenience shop and food stalls near by. Yuki plaza is in walkable distance, otherwise you can get motorcycle bechak to the central market and the supermarket with 15-20k rupiah for 3 person. Whenever you walk out of the hotel you will see lots of bechak drivers approaching you to offer rides, you need good negotiation skills and make sure they agree with the price they offered otherwise they will ask for more when you reach destination which is very annoying. I hope the hotel management or tourism board can do something about it.

Breakfast was great with lots of variety. Reception staffs are friendly.

Overall is a very good hotel except the bechak drivers outside the hotel.

Room Tip: Request for room that is not facing the road as it can be noisy due to the honks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    25
    39
    12
    12
See reviews for
15
13
12
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Bogor, Jawa Barat, Indonesia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

The rooms are a little small and in the newly-built wing there were no phone in the room but there is one in the hallway. The new wing was a little bit far from the escalator and the some rooms' view was the window of the next building, only a few meters apart which was at that time was still in progress. The rooms are spotlessly clean though, with good amenities. In the lobby there is a, what is looked like, photo booth of a traditional wedding ceremony. The location is superb, very close to Bolu Meranti (delicious famous cake originated from Medan), right in front of the hotel. It was only a few minutes away driving from Masjid Raya Medan. Breakfast are buffet and okay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Town, Malaysia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

Although the room is small, but its very clean and new. Bathroom have huge shower head. It also have LCD TV with a lot of English language channel showing movies from HBO and also CSI etc. The breakfast is great too. Me and my wife love the egg (called Mata Kerbau).

Room Tip: We got the room 337. But I think any room is the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipoh, Malaysia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Rooms clean and comfortable but toilet did not function well.Good spread of breakfast for indonesian clients and other asians.Reading room and internet users have to share the smokers as no there no other alternative. Close to shopping arcades.Participants attending courses at hotel were noisy till the wee hours of the night.Have to to tag your own luggage unless requested.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seremban, Malaysia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

This hotel was good quality, clean and comfortable room, working shower, etc, comfortable bed, good meals and good breakfast selection. It was a close walk to the mosque, and not so far further then to the Palace. A medium distance walk to Merdeka Walk and Tsong a Fie Mansion. Close to a shopping plaza also.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

Nice and comfy room for us, 2 single beds with an extra bed. 10 minutes becak ride to Pasar Ikan Lama. Hotel breakfast was delicious. Facing main road and noisy at night.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

I stayed one night in this hotel for a business trip. The hotel location can be reached around 30 mins from the Polonia airport and will cost you IDR 50K. The reception desk was very helpful and fast. When I asked them for a dinner place, they also offered me a free shuttle bus to a foodcourt near-by (Amaliun foodcourt) and also a pick-up service from the food court back to the hotel. When I came back from the food court, I realized how busy this hotel. There were many many people, mostly Indonesian, waiting for check-in at the reception desk.

My room was clean enough, looked quite new, with some exception for the air con controller (see my picture, it's really old) and for the small fridge (old Samsung). They provided two 600 ml bottled RO water as a compliment each day and also tea/coffee maker. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was also clean enough. The shower was nice. I found that the towel hanger was rusty and the towel looked not so clean (I used my own for safety). They also provided hair-dryer, shower cap, tooth-brush and small tooth-paste, a small soap bar, and a tube of shampoo.

The breakfast was okay. They served chicken porridge (Indonesian style), salad and fruit bar, bread+butter+jam, rice and rice cake with varieties of dishes (Medan style). They only served hot tea or coffee and water for drinks.

Check-out was fast and you can ask them to booked you a taxi. if you preffer a taxi with argometer, you can ask for a Blue Bird taxi.
So overall, the hotel was good, clean, at a very affordable price, and also very busy (you might want to book by phone or agoda before). I probably will return to this hotel when I come to Medan again..

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Medan hotels
0.2 mi away
Madani Hotel
Madani Hotel
#23 of 60 in Medan
3.5 of 5 stars 58 reviews
0.3 mi away
Swiss-Belinn Medan
Swiss-Belinn Medan
#11 of 60 in Medan
3.5 of 5 stars 314 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Antares
Hotel Grand Antares
#28 of 60 in Medan
3.0 of 5 stars 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Antares Hotel
Antares Hotel
#42 of 60 in Medan
3.5 of 5 stars 16 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hermes Palace Hotel Medan - Managed By BENCOOLEN
0.4 mi away
Soechi International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garuda Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garuda Plaza Hotel

Address: Jl. Sisingamangaraja 18, Medan 20213, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sumatra > North Sumatra > Medan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 60 Hotels in Medan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garuda Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garuda Plaza Hotel is located in the city of Medan this is one hotel that has a HALAL CERTIFICATE from MUI city of Medan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Garuda Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garuda Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.