We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dutch colonial style.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tip Top Restaurant

Tip Top Restaurant
Jl. Ahmad Yani, Medan 20111, Indonesia
+62 61 4532042
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 232 Restaurants in Medan
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Medan
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
274 helpful votes 274 helpful votes
“Dutch colonial style.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

This is the oldest restaurant in Medan with Dutch colonial feeling. The staffs are dressing in white uniform and they are not very client oriented. Most of the staffs just standing and chatting. The food is good and the chocolate cakes are fabulous. You will like the Indonesia dishes but a bit salty and oily. The famous fried rice is a must. The price is standard but the taste is outstanding. Not easy to find a seat especially at weekend. A lot of mosquitos if you are sitting outside and prepare for the dust from the road. Recommend the AC room instead.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    103
    54
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Medan, Indonesia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Old but still Medan's favourite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Still one of medan's most favourite restourant after so many years. They made so little changes since so long, the place still look alike it's 80's. A good place to eat steak and fine dessert. Be careful with your belonging in the street outside, many motorcyclist robber are active in the neighborhood

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Poor service, so-so food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Not very impressed by the food nor the menu, as we found a lot of them are nicer and cheaper elsewhere in Medan. The bunch of waiters and waitress offered poor service, I have ordered a sambal terong (egg plant) which he mistakenly thought is sambal telur (egg), and he didn't inform that the nasi sayur I ordered was already finished until I asked for it, to add on to my pain, he didn't take down my ice cream order AT ALL. I have to ask for the captain, which salvaged the whole situation, he was attentive, helpful and friendly, and at last we got our order right. The restaurant allows in door smoking hence I don't think it's appropriate for family with children to dine in.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medan, Indonesia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“food and ice cream”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

lately, i just visited tip top restaurant, i could recomend for visitors who comes to medan, do not forget to stop by at this restaurant, the food mostly are delicious, also the ice cream, hhhmmm...so yummy, should try!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Historic eating place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Interesting historic pictures on the restaurant. Food average, price reasonable. Tried the ice cream, not bad but nothing special. Would have love to try the cake but was too full, but the cakes looks really tempting with so many variety of choice.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tip Top Restaurant also viewed

Medan, North Sumatra
Medan, North Sumatra
 
Medan, North Sumatra
Medan, North Sumatra
 

Been to Tip Top Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tip Top Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.