We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“steak and ice cream ...classic...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tip Top Restaurant

Tip Top Restaurant
Jl. Ahmad Yani, Medan 20111, Indonesia
+62 61 4532042
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 243 Restaurants in Medan
Cuisines: Dutch
Dining options: Coffee & Tea, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Coffee & Tea, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
“steak and ice cream ...classic...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

must visit this place everytime come to medan, enjoy the classic old style of the resaturant building and also food and meal taste.
beef steak and ice cream are recommended...old, tasty, classy..

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    124
    64
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Petersburg, Illinois
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Not a fan”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Other reviews led us to this place expecting pretty good food. Not so much. Crab and asparagus soup was a thick goop with some asparagus in it but no identifiable crab. The American steak was a thin, overlooked piece of a cross between a hamburger and a round steak, with a piece of baloney-like sausage and a fried egg on top. Not that tasty. Good cold beer, though!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Memorable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

I can't remember what year exactly the first time i step inside this restaurant.I only remember i was at kindergarten.That was the first time i ate a portion of steak adn a cup off ice cream.
I went to that restaurant for several times.but not much because it's quite expensive for a student.
Recently i went to Tip Top again with my friend the decoration hasn't change a bit i think, the staff adn the waitress uniforms..all still the same.I was hope that the taste still ahven't change. And yes, this restaurant still got..what..hmmm "Still got the blues" (ha,ha..)kInda see a Star Wars movie and have a nostalgia.
I ordered American Steak, a chocolate vanilla and an orange juice.Its a quite nice place to go..the food is good, the juice and the ice cream are their home made ones.Go..with your boy/girlfirned,husband/wife,fiance,family,parents.It's not too expencive.with a good taste.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Very Unique”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Nice restaurant, more of a posh coffee shop for Indonesia, love the fact that it has been open for decades and not much has changed, good for tourists to sample some Indonesian good food and hospitality

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandung, Jawa Barat, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Tasty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

The place is so vintage.. The food is good, especially "steak lidah"... I don't know how to say it in English. The ice cream is so tasty.. But the must have try is the mocca tart.. It's a cake that make from mocca and it's sooooo...tasty....

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tip Top Restaurant also viewed

Medan, North Sumatra
Medan, North Sumatra
 
Medan, North Sumatra
Medan, North Sumatra
 

Been to Tip Top Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tip Top Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.