We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in bukit tinggi so far” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Rocky Hotel Bukittinggi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Rocky Hotel Bukittinggi to your Saves list
Grand Rocky Hotel Bukittinggi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Yos Sudarso no. 29, Bukittinggi, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Bukittinggi
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best hotel in bukit tinggi so far”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

When i first arrived at grand rocky, there was some tiny problem with my room booking. They are so nice to upgrade my room because of the problem.

The grand deluxe room is clean and big. But somehow it feels empty, maybe you should put sofa in to the room so it doesnt feel too big and empty.

The breakfast is ok. Not great but ok.

The staff is very friendly. Especially the front desk and swimming pool staff.

Will definitely go back to this hotel whenever i go to bukit tinggi.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    36
    19
    5
    1
See reviews for
20
5
3
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Roomy, modern with balcony and beautiful scenery. Comfortably stayed in Grand Deluxe room with kids. The breakfast offers quite a number of varieties. About 600 meters / 5-6 min walks to Pasar Atas (embroideries heaven) and Jam Gadang (the center of attraction). It's quiet and offers quality sleep. The swimming pool is awesome but too cold to jump in ! Going back there? Maybe...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Bukittinggi has 3 four stars hotels.. 2 of them are quite old and lack of maintenance.. The 3rd one is Grand Rocky Hotel.. It is a new built hotel nicely located at a higher ground so it has beautiful view from its rooms.. Close to Bukittinggi attractions like Sianok Canyon, Jam Gadang and Pasar Atas.. One side is facing the Sianok Canyon which is Bukittinggi famous tourist attraction, and the other side is facing the city and historical Jam Gadang.. The rooms are quite nice, big and also clean.. I stay there with my big family, we stay at 6 rooms which we already booked in advance.. The service and hospitality was excellent! After having a bad experience or may i call a nightmare at one big chain hotel in Padang, i was quite happy with the service and hospitality of Grand Rocky staffs.. They always greet me by calling me by my name, even though the hotel occupancy was quite full.. And always with the smile on their face... Nothing was too much for them.. They were able to deliver everything we requested.. We were travelling with couple of kids, toddlers and infant so there were requests made out of the ordinary, But there were no problems at all.. 2 thumbs up for them!
Breakfast was quite nice with eggs stall and many varieties of local foods..
Swimming pool was quite clean and half of it was indoor / under a roof so no problem swimming while raining..
It also has a couple of karaoke rooms next to the swimming pool..
The only downside was the loud noise from the music lounge and karaoke rooms at night.. Maybe it was because we stay at 2nd floor just above the karaoke rooms and music lounge.. So it would be better to stay at higher floor.. More quiet and got better views..

All in all it was a great experience staying at Grand Rocky.. I definetely will return to stay there next time i visit Bukittingi !

Room Tip: Grand Deluxe room at 2-4 th floor.. It has a private balcony facing the Sianok Canyon
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Glad that we have made the right choice after reading comments from TA members and other sources. (it would be much noiser if we had chosen The Hills due to the passing traffics/vehicles). Check-in on 22nd March for a 2 nights stay.
This is the first time we visited Bukittinggi and we had chosen the Grand Deluxe Room (the difference is that this room category has its own terrace/balcony) which offers spectacular views of Canyon & part of the city. Room size is average & clean. Unfortunately, no in-room safe deposit box is available.
Buffet breakfast is average, but more can be done to improve/add-value to its varieties.
Swimming pools is clean & its water crystal clear, & has great views overlooking the Canyon, But the only minus point is the water is a little cold to swim, given the weather condition. We hope the Management can do something to warm up the pool in order to attract more hotel guests to join in the fun.
The hotel itself is within walking distance to Jam Gadang (about 5min walk) and food can be found along Jalan Ahmad Yani.
You may want to check out the Departmental Store & Supermarket called Ramayana (next to Jam Gadang) for your daily necessities. For a better option of clothing, you may also visit this shop “DeDi Busana” which is located near the entrance of Pasar Atas area.
If you are on DIY option, kindly request the driver to stop at Lembah Anai Waterfall at Padang Panjang for refreshment & photo-taking, while enroute to Bukittinggi (entrance fee is IDR2,000). You may also want to try out local sweet cakes called “Bika Talago” or “Bika Si Mariana” or “Bika Bambu” (made of flour & brown sugar) located along main road of KM10,Bukitinggi, KotaBaru, towards Bukitinggi.

Room Tip: choose Grand Deluxe Room for a better view of the Canyon & scenery
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tangerang, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed on 2nd floor in 7-8 Feb 2013. Double bed, room located quite close to the restaurant area. Room is okay, feels quite spacious and modern, bed is comfortable. LIghting is OK, room is equipped with flat screen TV & cable TV, a mini-fridge, and an electric kettle. Bathroom is equipped with shower head & raindrop showerhead (love it), but no bathtub. Too bad looks like the bathroom right on top of our room is leaking, so I can clearly see the waterstain on the bathroom ceiling.

Breakfast quality is okay (I think it costs like IDR 90.000/pax, if you don't have the breakfast voucher). Usual selection & combination of western. We have toast, omelette, cereals, bubur ayam/chicken porridge, fried rice and some other dishes.

Swimming pool is ok (water is cold), there are pool for kids and adults. The view from the pool is overlooking the city.

We get discounted price from Agoda, but make sure you call the hotel in case there's a special promo offered.

Overall the hotel is recommended.

Room Tip: Pick a room that's located farther from the restaurant (otherwise you can hear the live music in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Actually this hotel is not very special, but since in Bukittinggi is not many hotel there, then i put "very good" for this hotel. The room is wide and comfort. The breakfast was good also. Its location is near with Jam Gadang and Hatta Palace. But the price is little bit higher than others. For your information, Bukittinggi is a city with very beatiful scenery. If you would like to feel the nature, you must visit this city and also go to Maninjau lake. It's awesome lake surronded by hills. I think it's near to heaven :). It was one of prettiest place that i ever went.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Having previously stayed at a homestay where there was only one towel between the two of us and another that did not provide toilet paper the Grand Rock was like an oasis in the desert. It is a fairly new hotel, although I was told it was started some time ago and then abandoned only to be recommenced relatively recently. In fact I think there are building works still going on. Positives are that it is not too far from the centre of town (200 -300m), the room is a good size, the bed was comfortable, we had a good view over part of the canyon and the pool area is very nice. There is also a bar that had some good singers the two nights we were there. We ate one night in the restaurant and the food was fine. The buffet breakfast was also good and my poached eggs were done to perfection.

On the negative side there was possibly only one person at reception who had a good command of English (not that I am criticising them for that, but if you want to attract foreign guests you must be able to communicate with them). Also although I could not describe our room as dirty it did look like it needed a good vacuum as there were little bits and pieces on the carpet our whole stay. My main concern with writing a review for Grand Rocky is that I suspect the current standard will not be maintained. When we arrived our mini bar fridge was locked. The next day someone came to unlock it for us, but he found that he could not then close the door because the lock was faulty. He went and got someone else who poked around without success and finally went and got someone else. By this stage we had to go to meet our friends so we left them to it. When we arrived home in the late afternoon we found it had just been left open all day and the motor was running red hot in an attempt to cool the fridge down. Again we called someone who managed to force it to close, but locked - so much for cooling down the water we had brought. Given that this is a new hotel I wondered how long it will take before lack of maintenance and attention will lead to its deterioration. I also noticed that behind my bedside table the wiring was just pushed through the wall and connected to a terminal block. A small child poking behind there could easily be electrocuted. Finally the air conditioning control seemed to have no effect and although I would have liked it cooler the temperature was tolerable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Rocky Hotel Bukittinggi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Rocky Hotel Bukittinggi

Address: Jl. Yos Sudarso no. 29, Bukittinggi, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sumatra > West Sumatra > Bukittinggi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Bukittinggi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Rocky Hotel Bukittinggi 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Rocky Hotel Bukittinggi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Rocky Hotel Bukittinggi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.