We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel at affordable price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gran Puri Manado

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Gran Puri Manado to your Saves list
Hotel Gran Puri Manado
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Sam Ratulangi No. 458, Manado 95116, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 34 Hotels in Manado
Jakarta
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel at affordable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Excellent service. When I called to ask for a room, they still have my record, though I have not stayed at this hotel for a couple of years, and they provided me with a very nice room at a very good price.
Tips for choosing a room: when we choose the Sea View, it is a very nice view, but we will get the sunlight in the afternoon which makes the room very hot. When we choose the pool view, we can see the city of Manado from our window, and we get the morning sunlight.
I like the Manado porridge with the salty fish for breakfast.
There is also a Supermarket and KFC restaurant connected to the hotel.
The Airport is only one hour drive away. We can use the old road, or we also can use the new road through Citra Land.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    16
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
6
3
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

I ended a weeks diving on some of Manados more remote islands with a few days at Hotel Gran Puri for a bit of spoiling. The single most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept in, great rates, 24 hour room service, really good value for money. The spa on the 5th floor is superb, just what you need after taking a tour to Tangkoko to trek for tarsiers which the hotel staff desk can organise for you. Direct access to Cocos department store and down another elevator to a supermarket and KFC. Hotel has a business centre and cigar room, buffet style restaurant. Very good menu available 24hours with western and asian food cooked to a great standard. Will definitely stay here again. Little bit out of town but approx 40 mins from Airport but can take longer in peak hour Manado traffic. Remember to have a spa!

Room Tip: Views from 5th floor and above over Mt Klabat in one direction, Manado Tua in the other. Deluxe room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Stayed here as many of the other hotels in Manado were full. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom was clean and the staff were friendly. We ordered room service and it was OK and breakfast was great if you like Indonesian Breakfast but limited on Western choices but had fruit and eggs to order. I would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

My office booked me into this hotel and I was pleasantly surprise, the staff at this hotel were friendly and helpful. I was very fortunate that the hotel was full and they upgraded my room to a executive suite which I thought would be very nice.

The suite was well laid out and clean. However, having taken a seat on the coach, I could feel that the furntiure were tired and worn out. The toilet was large but the WC was not working properly even though I had called and advise the front office of the problem 3 times but the repair was not done properly There is no wifi internet service in the room, its via cable and was very slow and it was faster in the lobby area. I was surprised that there were no mini safes in the room and was only available at the reception.

Breakfast quality was average mainly Indonesian Chinese styled breakfast and western styled had limited selection. The drinks at the lobby bar was reasonably priced as compared to Novotel Manado which was very expensive.

Hence, I think staying in the main part of town would have been better.

By traditional by Indonesian culture, the staff in the hotel were very helpful and friendly.

The hotel location was not very good as it was at the fringe of the city and the taxi ride to the main shopping area took 10 minutes. Located behind the hotel was a supermarket.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

We just staid one night in Manado as a stop-over and booked the Gran Puri in advance via internet. I can only recommend the hotel. Although it does not look so great from the outside the inside is really nice and the rooms are high quality. Comfortable beds, nice furnishing, big bathroom and clean. It has a pool that serves its purpose. Breakfast was good and staff always very friendly.

I can highly recommend it as a stop-over hotel. If one wants to stay longer a hotel closer to the sea or with some green area would be more recommendable.

Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, UK
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
116 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

Stayed here one night, prior to going out to Bunaken. It's a reasonably comfortable place; rooms were a decent size, quiet, clean, well cooled. Ours had a water leak under its bay window, but this was rainy season, after all. Lunch in the restaurant was good, if rather expensive. Breakfast was OK, but not memorable.

Location is not ideal. The town centre, and several decent restaurants, are a taxi journey away, and we found getting a return taxi in the rain was a bit tricky.

At a room rate of Rp512,000 b&b this hotel did not represent great value for money.

I'd try somewhere different if I were ever to be in Manado again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2008

4 star hotel in central Manado,about 30min from airport. Rooms are basic but comfortable. Nice pool but no gym. The downstairs restaurant was pretty basic with small choice of western and local food which was of reasonable quality.
Nice bar in basement with live music.

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — no gym
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Gran Puri Manado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gran Puri Manado

Address: Jl. Sam Ratulangi No. 458, Manado 95116, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Manado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 34 Hotels in Manado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Gran Puri Manado 3.5*
Number of rooms: 167
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Venere, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Gran Puri Manado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gran Puri Manado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.