We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First choice in Manado” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Manado Golf Resort & Convention Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Manado Golf Resort & Convention Centre to your Saves list
Novotel Manado Golf Resort & Convention Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Grand Kawanua International City | Jl. AA. Maramis - Kayuwatu / Kairagi II, Manado 95254, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Manado
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“First choice in Manado”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

This hotel offers a view of Klabat - the tallest mountain in north sulawesi. Located near to the airport and about 20 minutes to city centre. It's near to outer ring road, a shortcut to go to higher towns of Tomohon or Tondano. The room was clean, the pool was great, staff were nice. I've stayed twice and wouldn't hesitate to come back as this is my first choice in manado.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_NovotelManado, General Manager at Novotel Manado Golf Resort & Convention Centre, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Many thanks for your valuable feedback. It is always encouraging to get positive feedback from seasoned travellers.
I will share your comment with the team and I am sure this will motivate them to keep up the good work.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Novotel Manado in the future
Kind regards
Stephane Fagez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    115
    55
    26
    5
See reviews for
49
57
28
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palu, Indonesia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

when i went to this hotel, i came with personal car. i want to used valet service, but no body in valet desk. the parking field so far from the lobby. when i go the receiption, there is only 1 receiptionist, and looks like very tired, she arrange my check in process very slow and without any smile. I like this hotel because the room very large and nice garden view. but its different in service if i compare with others novotel in surabaya or semarang, other novotel i ever stayed.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_NovotelManado, General Manager at Novotel Manado Golf Resort & Convention Centre, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Many thanks for your feedback. Please accept our most sincere apologies for the shortfalls in customer service that you experienced during your stay.
I can assure you of the team commitment to improving our service standards and we hope to welcoming you back to Novotel Manado in the near future so that you can check on our progress.
Kind regards
Stephane Fagez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We spent two nights while on our way to Sorong. I think it was an excellent choice for a short stopover as it was close to the airport. The room was clean and the food we had in the restaurant was very good and well priced. We took a taxi into town for about $5 US each way. Staff were friendly and helpful. Nice to be on the golf course and away from the busy city. Manado itself is not very charming. My only complaint with the stay was the price of the laundry. We were one week into a month long trip and I thought it was a good opportunity to get our clothes washed. When I went to pay the bill on checkout I discovered that it cost $50! After a bit of discussion they offered to reduce it by 50%. Still a lot of money for a few t-shirts and shorts. But overall I found our stay their pleasant and would recommend this as a good place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_NovotelManado, General Manager at Novotel Manado Golf Resort & Convention Centre, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Many thanks for your kind feedback & sharing your experience following your stay at Novotel Manado.
We appreciate your suggestion for improvement
We look forward to welcoming your back to Novotel Manado.
Kind regards
Stephane Fagez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Excellent and friendly service in a nice location near the airport.

I spent one night in Novotel. Room was big, clean, fresh bedsheets, good furniture, perfect bathroom with hot rain shower. I had lunch and a buffet breakfast : high quality food, well prepared.

I was very happy to rest in this hotel, away from the noise and dust of the city.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_NovotelManado, General Manager at Novotel Manado Golf Resort & Convention Centre, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Many thanks for your assessment of our product and service. It makes us very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at Novotel Manado.
I am particularly pleased to read that our new executive chef that recently joined has already had an impact.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Novotel Manado
Kind regards
Stephane Fagez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

During our stayed in this hotel there were few unpleasant things happened.
I'd like to write a separate review for room 1143. Staff were friendly only few staff were helpful. the worse was housekeeping they never answered the phone maybe only limited staff was working, Towel has to be asked almost everyday, shower caps too thanks





  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_NovotelManado, General Manager at Novotel Manado Golf Resort & Convention Centre, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Many thanks for your feedback following your stay at Novotel Manado, and please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused.
I can assure you that ensuring all staff can provide adequate assistance at all time beyond being just friendly is Novotel priority at all time.
Please feel free to contact me directly in regards to room 1143
Kind regards
Stephane Fagez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indonesia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

This Hotel is generally very good in the following areas: trying to please the customers, the food in the restaurant for lunch and dinner, the cleanliness, facilities such as pool and gym (didn't get to try the spa), state of the room (we were in a suite). However, there were a few things that the hotel needed to work on: The food for breakfast was really below average in terms of the availability of fruits, hot dishes such as baked beans were cold, and the poor condition of the over fried hash browns (although the chicken sausages were good). The Bento dishes, salmon and steak were really outstanding although dinner seemed to be better than the lunch for some reason. The suite room was great for the money but the fridge didn't work - and it seemed it was a problem with the choice of model in all the rooms. This was overcome with a lot of request for ice, which they provided happily. The free internet was pretty slow but adequate for checking email. Nice to walk around the golf course and swim in the pool, but you'll need to catch a taxi to get into town. They did a very good new year's eve party that was also well worth the price. I'd stay again, particularly if wanted a game of golf!

Room Tip: suite rooms don't have a balcony but are large and perfect if with kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_NovotelManado, General Manager at Novotel Manado Golf Resort & Convention Centre, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Morenos,
Many thanks for your comments and suggestions for improvement following your stay at Novotel Manado.
Our new chef that recently joined Novotel Manado will definitely work on improving the food quality and consistancy between lunch and dinner as well as improving breakfast overall.
We look forward to welcoming your back to Novotel Manado.
Kind regards
Stephane Fagez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in this Novotel near the airport on our way from Sorong to Singapore.
We’ve asked for a room with a balcony but when we went to our room we saw that we didn’t have a balcony! We went back to the reception and asked for a balcony room. At first there wasn’t any available but suddenly there was…
Our room was spacious and looked nice at first sight, but in fact the room needed some repairs and cleaning could be better as well (sofa wasn’t clean, we’ve had to put a towel on it before we could sit on it). Balcony wasn’t cleaned at all and the chairs were dirty as well.
Food in the restaurant was ok, nothing special. There was a nice bakery were we had some pastries.
Pool area was nice but the chairs weren't comfortable.
We’ve reserved a shuttle from the airport to the hotel in advance and that worked out well. Someone was waiting for us on arrival at the airport although our flight was 5 hours delayed!
Overall we can recommend this hotel for a short stopover but don’t expect too much.

Room Tip: Balcony room on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_NovotelManado, General Manager at Novotel Manado Golf Resort & Convention Centre, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear BelgianTraveller,
Many thanks for your review, I am glad you enjoyed your stopover and I thank you for your suggestions for improvements.
We hope to get an opportunity to welcoming you back to Novotel Manado.
Kind regards
Stephane Fagez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Manado Golf Resort & Convention Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Manado Golf Resort & Convention Centre

Address: Grand Kawanua International City | Jl. AA. Maramis - Kayuwatu / Kairagi II, Manado 95254, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Manado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Manado
#3 Luxury Hotel in Manado
#4 Spa Hotel in Manado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Manado Golf Resort & Convention Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Manado Golf Resort & Convention Center is 15 minutes from Sam Ratulangi International Airport and 20 minutes from city center. Nestled in 180 hectares of land. The hotel stylishly appointed rooms & suites embrace the splendid view of golf course and manicured garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Novotel Manado Golf Resort & Convention Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Manado Hotel Manado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Manado Golf Resort & Convention Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.