We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of happiness” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sintesa Peninsula Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sintesa Peninsula Hotel to your Saves list
Sintesa Peninsula Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Jend. Sudirman Gunung Wenang | Gunung, Wenang, Manado 95123, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Manado
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“A little bit of happiness”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The Sintesa Peninsula hotel is the largest in the quaint town of Manado, the capital of the North Sulawesi province of Indonesia. It is the closest to the Philippines and is a part of the Islands of Celebes. It is famous for spices and natural and human beauty. Its growing importance is due to its tourism and conference centres.
The hotel is the middle of the small town, about 30 minutes from the airport named after Sam Rutulangi, a national hero. The airport is the mainstay of connectivity for the city though roads are now aplenty to link to nearby tourist spots and port.
The hotel is large and well laid out. It has a spacious lobby and large ball room.3 elevators take you to the higher floor. Most rooms have a view of the sea. Some have a fantastic view of an adjoining volcano and may be preferred as the sea view is not unimpeded.
The restaurants serve adequate food manly local Indonesian and Asian with standard western fare too. The pool is large but crowded on Sundays when a weekend brunch takes place.
There are now several business hotels in Manado but the Sintesa remains the best.

Room Tip: Sea view is good but look for a volcano facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    63
    21
    8
    4
See reviews for
20
15
10
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

For the standard of this hotel the price paid was very reasonable.I stayed for 3nights...and enjoyed it.Checkin was a tad slow but the staffs were polite.Room had an excellant view of the town and sea.It was spacious and big with lots of room to place your luggage.Bathroom also was very big but minimal amenities.Overall it was a comfortable room with a nice big comfy bed.
Service wise we had room service and no complaints.Quite efficient as they delivered the food within half an hour.But the quality was average and portions not that generous.The breakfast buffet was good with a wide range but no variety from day 1 to day 3.
Since the hotel was ontop of a hill..luckily we had a car at our disposal so we didnt have to climb up as it was rather steep.
I would return to this hotel but rumour has it that it was formerly a hospital so not a very nice thought if i were to go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I am not sure what criteria are applied in Indonesia when Hotels get star ratings. Is it only hardware, or does it include software as well?

Upon check-in, the Receptionists (4) were more interested in talking amongst themselves instead of attending to the would-be guest (me) who was waiting to check-in.

Although wi-fi was advertised, access was intermittent and in the bedroom signals were really weak.

Having asked for a wake-up call at 6.15 am the night before, I was awakened at 5.15 am, with a computer-enabled follow up 15 minutes later at 5.30 am.


At around 6.30 am I proceeded to the Cafe for breakfast and found all the ingredients and apparatus at the egg station but no chef! I fried the omelette (and have a photograph from my business associate) as proof! So did another guest!

The hardware is up to snuff and all you can ask for, but the software?

Room Tip: The Hotel is located atop a hillock and is relatively isolated from the hustle and bustle of the &qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Very mixed experience staying at the Sintesa Peninsula Hotel. Staff were disinterested and slow - I received consistently poor service, especially from front desk staff. Facilities potentially very good - for example, the fitness centre has brand new equipment, but no air conditioning so unpleasant to work out in high humidity. Room service and food very good, but small portions and slow service. Large rooms and great views of city, but the location is not very convenient - set apart in large grounds up a long driveway - and the staff were again slow and unhelpful in organising taxis. In short, would not stay here again: not deserving of star rating and certainly not off room cost.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Compare with the price of the hotels around manado, the price are reasonable. After one night @Prince Boulevard, We're chose to move and stay here because located in the downtown, room are large and good view. The kids also love the swiming pool although it just very simple. We don't like the breakfast, not as good as another 5 star.. Need to improvement.

Room Tip: Choose Studio Room Type than standard room, rate a big different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

OVERALL STATEMENT: This is probably the best choice for your stay in Manado. The city can be loud, noisy and smoggy - a quiet and cultivated retreat is what you need then as a hotel.

GOOD:
-Excellent rooms.
-Very obliging staff (when we asked for a restaurant hint they immediately offered us to bring us there with the hotel buggy for free - and the restaurant turned out to be very good)
-We stayed two times there (1 night - 2 nights) and both times we got a free room upgrade due to the lack of standard rooms.
- The breakfast buffet is very nice.
- Located on a green hill in the green, outside the city smog (and offering spectacular views) .

BAD:
- The internet could be faster (this could also be a Manado-wide problem).
- Take care with the rolls in the morning: We are vegetarians and it turned out that the roll with chocolate on top in fact had a sausage in it.

Room Tip: "Corner Suite" was a very god choice. We were upgraded by the management.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Being a frequent traveller, and having stayed at a few establishments in Manado – it is unfortunate to say that Sintesa has let me down.

Had we not benefited from a special promotion and paid full price, I would have been even more disappointed. Nonetheless, this hotel rates 5 stars so I was expecting more than what was behind our door on level 9. The website shows wooden flooring but our room had airport style blue carpet which had seen better days. My advice is to not expect what you see on the Internet – although, most travellers already know this.

Pros

Very friendly staff and always willing to help, even with their limited English.
The restaurant and pool areas are well presented.
Hotel room and bathroom is spacious.
The view is lovely, if you can request one with ocean views.
The bed is large and comfortable with a down doona & pillows.
Excellent free Wifi and a good size flat screen TV with plenty of channels.
The breakfast buffet is acceptable but the sausages were stone cold.


Cons
The presentation of our ‘Superior’ room was 3 to 4 stars.
There were marks all over the walls and paint peeling on the skirting boards.
The bathroom tiles were stained in various places (see picture).
Our mini bar was more like a micro bar with 2 energy drinks only (see picture).
There was no bathrobes – per website.
Electrical outlet in bathroom coming out of wall (see picture).
Shower was mould ridden and the tapware? (see pictures).
Glass on desk was dirty with previous occupants handprints.
Some people were on their balcony, but the handles were missing from our door.


Don’t get me wrong, I am not at all a fussy traveller but I believe if you are going to rate your hotel 5 star, then there shouldn’t be so many issues per above.

I believe this hotel has the potential to be a 5 star hotel and I hope this review will assist them with their achievements to provide guests with one of the best hotels that Manado has to offer.

Room Tip: Request ocean view and specify Smoking or Non-Smoking preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sintesa Peninsula Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sintesa Peninsula Hotel

Address: Jl. Jend. Sudirman Gunung Wenang | Gunung, Wenang, Manado 95123, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Manado
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Manado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sintesa Peninsula Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sintesa Peninsula features 150 beautifully appointed, bright and airy guest rooms and suites designed with your complete comfort in mind. Each room boosts over-sized bathrooms with double vanity units and separate shower cubicles, large flat screen TV and free internet access for your comfort. Also, for the discerning business traveler the exclusive Sintesa Club Floor rooms and Executive Club Lounge are ideal for your demanding business needs with many additional benefits such as free laundry and complimentary drinks and snacks in the evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Sintesa Peninsula Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sintesa Peninsula Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.