We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect place to stay and dive at the bunaken” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lumbalumba Diving

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manado
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lumbalumba Diving
PO Box 1721 | Sulawesi, Manado 95017, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 33 hotels in Manado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“perfect place to stay and dive at the bunaken”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

very beautiful garden with pool and view over the ocean.
awesome food and very nice, helpful staff!
individual dive trips with an own boat just next to the hotel.
very recommendable and very fair prices

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
32
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bogota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Dutch owner-managers Roel and Juud deserve their number 1 ranking on this site. The hotel is clean and modern while retaining an Indonesian "feel". The impressive, sloping tropical gardens are beautifully maintained with a lovely view out to the islands of Bunaken and the volcano Manado Tua. Roel and Juud have a well-trained, friendly staff who are very helpful. The diving is world-class. The only drawback (compared with staying on the island) is the 75 minutes travel time to the dive sites (each way),but that is more than compensated for on return by some of the best food we've tasted in Indonesia. And for the price...what incredible value!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We returned to Lumba Lumba in May and had an amazing time. The beautiful gardens and lovely pool are the perfect place to relax. Roel, Juud and the rest of the team are extremely friendly and attentive hosts. The food remains delicious with a great selection of fresh ingredients prepared with care. The diving was fantastic with a welcoming crew who work really well together and so much to see from nudibranch to enormous turtles, sharks, eagle rays and dolphins. Unfortunately we missed the dugong but there is always next time. Many thanks

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We were at Lumbalumba not so much for diving but as a basis to explore the culture of North Sulawesi. It is a great place to relax, to start your tours and also for snorkelling. The cottages are super as is the pool and the food.
Prices are very fair.
A great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We are going back this year, and that is saying something for us, as it is a rare thing. A beautiful setting, nice accommodations, well organised diving, interesting and plentiful food, personal service all true; but the essence of this place are the staff and owners who consistently hit the right notes in their care of the guests and each other. We particularly enjoyed a dip in the infinity pool accompanied by freshly blended margaritas and hot chips after the days dive trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We visited Lumba Lumba in July for a different diving experience. The resort has amazing gardens and a lovely pool. There were exotic plants throughout the resort which were not only well-maintained but grew beautifully. The food at the resort was delicious and the staff were extremely attentive. The size of the resort and number of guests accommodated was just right and allowed for us to have our own individual experience. Roel and Juud were caring and sensitive hosts and they ensured that we had a lovely time. The diving crew worked well as a team and we had many excellent dives. Highly recommended and we will definitely visit again. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This resort is set in lush gardens with spectacular views of the sea across to Manado Tua and Bunaken Islands. It is an intimate resort with capacity for 14 guests only which is part of its attraction. From the minute that we were met at the airport by Roel, Kres and Maxi, we knew we were in good hands. Everyone here is committed to making your stay a memorable one and they succeed admirably. The accommodation, food and dive offer are all top notch. And while we had a great time diving, on our "off" day we did a half day tour of the highland with Maxi, a most enjoyable experience which is not to be missed. Finally, as a cat lover I was delighted to be entertained by a mum cat and her new kittens while we were there. How lucky they were to fetch up here.

Room Tip: The single/double chalets are your number one pick for the best views, but the family chalet looked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lumbalumba Diving? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lumbalumba Diving

Address: PO Box 1721 | Sulawesi, Manado 95017, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Manado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 33 hotels in Manado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Lumbalumba Diving" is an informal, small and comfortable dive resort in Manado, North Sulawesi, Indonesia. With no more than five luxurious chalets, we offer a familiar and flexible atmosphere with the personalized attention you are looking for. "Lumbalumba Diving" is a complete dive resort with own accommodation, excellent cuisine, bar, tropical pool, limited spa facilities, dive center, Private jetty and spacious dive catamaran. Located on a 3.5 hectare, mountain slope, in a lush botanical garden and overlooking the famous Bunaken Marine Park, we also have one of the most spectacular views you can find in Manado. "For us, you are not just another tourist. For you we are not just another dive resort" ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lumbalumba Diving, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Lumbalumba Diving to your Saves list