We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful diving holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lumbalumba Diving

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manado
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lumbalumba Diving
Save Saved
You added Lumbalumba Diving to your Saves list
PO Box 1721 | Sulawesi, Manado 95017, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Manado
UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful diving holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We visited Lumba Lumba in July for a different diving experience. The resort has amazing gardens and a lovely pool. There were exotic plants throughout the resort which were not only well-maintained but grew beautifully. The food at the resort was delicious and the staff were extremely attentive. The size of the resort and number of guests accommodated was just right and allowed for us to have our own individual experience. Roel and Juud were caring and sensitive hosts and they ensured that we had a lovely time. The diving crew worked well as a team and we had many excellent dives. Highly recommended and we will definitely visit again. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
33
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This resort is set in lush gardens with spectacular views of the sea across to Manado Tua and Bunaken Islands. It is an intimate resort with capacity for 14 guests only which is part of its attraction. From the minute that we were met at the airport by Roel, Kres and Maxi, we knew we were in good hands. Everyone here is committed to making your stay a memorable one and they succeed admirably. The accommodation, food and dive offer are all top notch. And while we had a great time diving, on our "off" day we did a half day tour of the highland with Maxi, a most enjoyable experience which is not to be missed. Finally, as a cat lover I was delighted to be entertained by a mum cat and her new kittens while we were there. How lucky they were to fetch up here.

Room Tip: The single/double chalets are your number one pick for the best views, but the family chalet looked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Open air restuarant, view to islands, Celebes Sea, infinity pool and lovely steeped gardens.Exotic plants, lovely landscaped land and diver centre across road. Meals all round were excellent and price for accommodation, diving, meals were most competitive.
If you wish to stay and dive Manado, then LumbaLumba is certainly a first choice location.
Linda and John from Australia

Room Tip: steep walk from access road, but great view and infinity pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valkenswaard, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This year we were here for the second time. And again we had a wonderful time, with marvelous diving, splendid trips and a very relaxed atmosphere. The garden is a little paradise and from the swimmingpool it looks as if you are swimming in the ocean.
The dive-guides show you all the stuff you want to see. Sharks, eagle-rays but also the little things like pygmee-seahorses.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

There is not much to say about Lumbalumba except: Excellent!
Roel and Juud have built a very special place with so much to speak for it:
• A stunning garden: This is Juud's "baby" and you can spend hours marveling at the park. It is beautifully landscaped and contains various orchids and interesting plants such as cinnamon trees.
• Wonderful huts: You will find a solid build house with a wonderful view, AC, hot water.
• Great food and an overall homely atmosphere: Everybody sits together in the evening for a nice cocktail and buffet dinner and enjoys the absolutely great cooking. Look forward to local dishes with the freshest fish and prawns you probably ate in a long time, or some European options such as soup and salad.
• Diving/snorkeling: They have a nice boat and a great crew! We only did the snorkeling, but every day was so much worth it. The drops and variety in corals and fish are absolutely stunning in Manado!
It is hard to explain in few words, but overall Lumbalumba exceeded our expectations in any field possible, so I can only recommend it to everybody considering going to Manado!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faversham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We are both experienced, dicserning divers and have just returned from the best dive trip ever at Lumbalumba. It exceeded expectations and ticked more boxes than we had hoped for. We echo previous writers about the superb quality of the resort, dive sites, staff and hospitality however... the implementation of a philosophy that embraces the environment in terms of local employment, eco-friendliness, commitment to wild-life protection (and sustainability of such) is obvious for all to see. Roel and Juud work alongside their 'family' of staff, their value is reflected by happy faces, positive attitudes, taking on family members, students and rotating responsibilities - many have worked up from the garden and become multi-skilled working as dive or land tour guides, engineers, boat captains or in the restaurant. We recommend you take a couple of 'off gas' days to explore the buzzing asian towns, jungle/highland tours, markets rich in local fruits, spices and fish (avoid the meat section if you aren't in favour of the local delicacies of dog and bat). The choice is yours - you may prefer to remain in the safety and comfort of the resort and dive boat for your whole trip, either way you'd still leave happy. In summary - great diving, wonderful company & ethically sound - small is beautiful! Sarah & Stephen Clerk, Canterbury, Kent UK

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely - you can't go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warngau
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

I am a "return visitor" ... like most of the people that you will meet at LumbaLumba !
That itself should tell you what to expect.
It is a place on the other side of the world, that you easily could call "home".
In a beautiful setting you`ll always get the extra attention that you need to feel "just great".
Every wish is taken care of - "once told - ALWAYS remembered".
Staff is excellent - always friendly and "one step ahead".

The diving in Indonesa for sure is always great - but without a passionate and excellent diveguide - you would miss 80% of the things to see.
Not so at LumbaLumba. Small Groups: 1-3 max (!) will all get their individual guide.
Just awesome - easy to get addicted to...especially if you are into underwater photo or video.
And if "YOU" are nice too...you might get lucky to get the special treat of a barbecue on the diveboat, organised by the boatcrew. yummy..:!!! Thanks again Maxi :-))
To make a long story short: "i´ll be back !"
Markus

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lumbalumba Diving? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lumbalumba Diving

Address: PO Box 1721 | Sulawesi, Manado 95017, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Manado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Manado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Lumbalumba Diving" is an informal, small and comfortable dive resort in Manado, North Sulawesi, Indonesia. With no more than five luxurious chalets, we offer a familiar and flexible atmosphere with the personalized attention you are looking for. "Lumbalumba Diving" is a complete dive resort with own accommodation, excellent cuisine, bar, tropical pool, limited spa facilities, dive center, Private jetty and spacious dive catamaran. Located on a 3.5 hectare, mountain slope, in a lush botanical garden and overlooking the famous Bunaken Marine Park, we also have one of the most spectacular views you can find in Manado. "For us, you are not just another tourist. For you we are not just another dive resort" ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lumbalumba Diving, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.