We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious and Clean Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of R.M. Nelayan

R.M. Nelayan
Jl. Ali Malaka 25, Makassar, Indonesia
+62 411 3610523
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 195 Restaurants in Makassar
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Delicious and Clean Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

The seafood is very fresh with affordable price. The restaurant is clean, no firefly flying around. Manggo pickles is good, and the "rica-rica" is hot but refreshing. This is our family seafood restaurant choise in makassar.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    38
    9
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Open mind”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

I had high expectations due to the reviews, although one of my dishes didn't live up to expectations, I was overall happy. One of the fish dishes was over cooked and greasy :-(. Squid in batter excellent, grilled fish perfect. The staff are helpful and do their best to communicate ( if not to shy). The decor is, basic. They do nice mixed fruit juice drinks. Not the biggest of places.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“The food is something different.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

A should try for food lover. The food is good but the staff is not friendly.
Should try the otak-otak and the grill fish. for drink dont miss the avocat.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makassar
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best seafood in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

When it comes to quality, nelayan is the best. This small and clean restaurant always serve fresh sea food. If you love spicy food, please try grilled fish or fried fish with rica-rica. Fried calamary is my children's favourite food at nelayan, they served it with tomato ketchup. If you want soup, they have woku ikan, which is a very refreshing fish soup, a little bit sour n spicy. Like any other seafood restaurant at makassar, it takes about 15 minutes untill half hour to wait for your food to be served. This restaurant is always so crowded, I suggest you to come at 11 a.m for lunch or 7 p.m for dinner, usually it is less crowded at those time. Definetely the most recomended restaurant to go to when you are at makassar.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bali
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“For Seafood Lovers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

My husband and I were recently in Makassar. We found this restaurant through a recommendation by hotel staff (we stayed at the Mecure). The crab in saos nelayan (fisherman's sauce) is incredible. We were only in Makassar for three days but had dinner in this restaurant twice. We ate plenty of other delicious items on the menu as well. I have eaten crab all over the world and would say the crab in this restaurant is right up there with the best. The restaurant itself is spotless, the staff very helpful, efficient and courteous. The food is all prepared and cooked where you can see the process AND the food was incredibly cheap! It is situated very close to the Mecure Hotel in Jalan. Ali Malaka No. 25, phone 3610523. If you are in Makassardto not miss this restaurant!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed R.M. Nelayan also viewed

Makassar, South Sulawesi
 
Makassar, South Sulawesi
Makassar, South Sulawesi
 

Been to R.M. Nelayan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage R.M. Nelayan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.